Cheaper alternative to Optoma 3DXL for HD66 and other DLP projectors - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 152 Old 01-12-2012, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis3845 View Post

You need 120hz for 3d not 60hz.

the only way to get 3D at 60Hz is with the VIP products and either IR or RF glasses using the sync out of the vip
mkoss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 152 Old 01-12-2012, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoss View Post

the only way to get 3D at 60Hz is with the VIP products and either IR or RF glasses using the sync out of the vip

I don't have no experience with the vip products, but does the vip also put out 120hz 3d because I don't think I would like 60hz 3d too much..
lewis3845 is offline  
post #123 of 152 Old 01-12-2012, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis3845 View Post

I don't have no experience with the vip products, but does the vip also put out 120hz 3d because I don't think I would like 60hz 3d too much..

The VIP 3D Theatre can output frame sequential 60hz and 120hz. You can watch 3D on a regular 2D TV but at 30 frames per eye. It works but there is flicker especially in bright scenes. After seeing 120hz I can't go back to that option though.

There is a dip switch that changes it between 60 or 120hz. Its a nice converter...I have Direct and the theatre unit will auto change between sbs or top/bottom or frame packed. Works great with the Acer H5360.
Ronomy is offline  
post #124 of 152 Old 01-13-2012, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Rodney538's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoss View Post

the 3D creator will output dlp Link 120 Hz under 2 conditions. Viewing sbs half 3D and 2D to 3D. I use it this way with my acer H5360. It DOES NOT output 60HZ in dlp mode.

I am a little confused. So if I play a 3D MKV file from my laptop in 120hz, the 3D creator will output it in 120hz so that I can play it on my HD66? My HD66 will not allow be to turn on the 3D DLP Link unless it receives a 120hz signal. I thought Lewis had tried that and it didn't work for him or was he trying to convert 2D to 3D? I am not really interested in converting 2D to 3D.

What setting on the 3D Creator will do this.. is it the 3D-DLP in the 3D section on the remote?

If I output 60hz from my laptop will the 3D creator output 120hz or does the laptop have to be set to 120 hz? Does the 3D Creator convert 60hz to 120hz or just pass the 120hz through?

Thanks
Rodney538 is offline  
post #125 of 152 Old 01-13-2012, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
perfectdark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodney538 View Post


I am a little confused. So if I play a 3D MKV file from my laptop in 120hz, the 3D creator will output it in 120hz so that I can play it on my HD66? My HD66 will not allow be to turn on the 3D DLP Link unless it receives a 120hz signal. I thought Lewis had tried that and it didn't work for him or was he trying to convert 2D to 3D? I am not really interested in converting 2D to 3D.

What setting on the 3D Creator will do this.. is it the 3D-DLP in the 3D section on the remote?

If I output 60hz from my laptop will the 3D creator output 120hz or does the laptop have to be set to 120 hz? Does the 3D Creator convert 60hz to 120hz or just pass the 120hz through?

Thanks

If you don't care about 2d to 3d then just use your laptop with output at 120hz and that's it ( I did that for a while)
perfectdark is offline  
post #126 of 152 Old 01-13-2012, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Rodney538's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by perfectdark View Post

If you don't care about 2d to 3d then just use your laptop with output at 120hz and that's it ( I did that for a while)

Thanks perfect dark for all of your help. My laptop can only output 120hz in 1280 x 720...is that resolution good enough for a 100" diagonal screen. Also, with this setup, I guess I am required have the 3D creator? I tried attaching the laptop directly to the HD66 using the VGA cable but I couldn't see any 3D effect on the screen using my 3D DLP Link glasses (3D was active in the HD66 menu). I was playing the SBS file in the Stereoscopic Player software (I tried different Output Viewing Methods in the settings such as 3D Ready DLP and Row Interlaced), but it just woudn't work and I am not sure why. Maybe the laptop can't truly output Frame Sequential which is what I think the hd66 needs? Thanks again for your help.
Rodney538 is offline  
post #127 of 152 Old 01-13-2012, 09:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
These days your player software is supposed to take care of the sequential 3D when played at 120hz 720p. I think you had a check box wrong in SP perhaps?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #128 of 152 Old 03-20-2012, 02:39 PM
Member
 
kiko2tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis3845 View Post

Yes the monoprice should work fine on your acer h5360 the only thing you can't do is send the monoprice 3d creator frame packed so you can't play a bluray 3d movie ...

On the contrary... I watched an animated 3D Blu-ray frame packed movie (MegaMind) on PS3 using the monoprice 3D creator and the 3D effect worked. Just do a passthrough (PASS on the remote) and you're good to go... I am using the ugly Optoma ZD101 3D glasses (which I am thinking to return and exchange it with a better looking glasses.
NOTE: I initially tried playing the 3D movie on the PS3 without connecting the 3D creator box but I can't enable 3D on the ACER H5360 projector. Then I connected the monoprice box without any conversion (no green light lit - passthrough) and I was able to turn 3D DLP link on the menu and watched the movie in wondrous 3D.
kiko2tj:-)
kiko2tj is offline  
post #129 of 152 Old 03-23-2012, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko2tj View Post

On the contrary... I watched an animated 3D Blu-ray frame packed movie (MegaMind) on PS3 using the monoprice 3D creator and the 3D effect worked. Just do a passthrough (PASS on the remote) and you're good to go... I am using the ugly Optoma ZD101 3D glasses (which I am thinking to return and exchange it with a better looking glasses.
NOTE: I initially tried playing the 3D movie on the PS3 without connecting the 3D creator box but I can't enable 3D on the ACER H5360 projector. Then I connected the monoprice box without any conversion (no green light lit - passthrough) and I was able to turn 3D DLP link on the menu and watched the movie in wondrous 3D.
kiko2tj:-)

Are you sure on this?.It's pretty much known by everyone and myself that the monoprice 3d creator cannot pass through frame packed. I still have my unit and it cannot pass it.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #130 of 152 Old 03-24-2012, 07:11 PM
Member
 
kiko2tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I worked on my setup. I got an Acer H5360 and the Monoprice 3D creator using an Optoma ZD101 glasses. Pass through on the 3D creator (no green LED light on) and watch Mega Mind Blu-ray Disc.
kiko2tj :-)
kiko2tj is offline  
post #131 of 152 Old 03-25-2012, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko2tj View Post

I worked on my setup. I got an Acer H5360 and the Monoprice 3D creator using an Optoma ZD101 glasses. Pass through on the 3D creator (no green LED light on) and watch Mega Mind Blu-ray Disc.
kiko2tj :-)

I can't explain it then.. I have an Optoma HD66 ,Monoprice 3d creator(I've actually had 2 3d creators units before) and an Optoma 3D-XL and although it doesn't matter I also use the Optoma ZD101 glasses. If your 3d creator is on pass through what is processing your 3d then? The hd5360 cannot take hdmi1.4 signal.. only the hd5360bd can.. so what is processing your 3d hdmi 1.4 and converting it to 1.3 signal acceptable to your projector.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #132 of 152 Old 03-25-2012, 07:40 AM
Member
 
kiko2tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We got a slightly different setup. I got an ACER H5360. Have you tried the pass through then? If it doesn't work maybe it's the projector. What happen if you choose pass through. I checked the 3D creator user's manual and says pass through will show original 2D or 3D content. I am using HDMI 1.4 cables.
kiko2tj:-)
kiko2tj is offline  
post #133 of 152 Old 03-25-2012, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko2tj View Post

We got a slightly different setup. I got an ACER H5360. Have you tried the pass through then? If it doesn't work maybe it's the projector. What happen if you choose pass through. I checked the 3D creator user's manual and says pass through will show original 2D or 3D content. I am using HDMI 1.4 cables.
kiko2tj:-)

yes I have tried pass through many times and just tried it again it will not pass the 3d bluray format frame packed. Projector brand doesn't matter as they both will only accept 1.3. Many people use the hd5360 for 3d because of it's price check out the 3d creator thread on here ,alot of people talk about it not being able to accept or pass through frame packed and that's why they buy hdmi splitters so they can keep the 3d creator in line.

Also the 3d creator uses the 3d format sbs (side by side) could you just have the regular bluray 2d movie being converted to sbs by the 3d creator unit? The 2d to 3d dlp light would be green and are you using the 2d or 3d version of the disc?
lewis3845 is offline  
post #134 of 152 Old 03-26-2012, 07:44 AM
Member
 
canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maple Leaf Land
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am interested in kiko2tj's findings as I have the monoprice unit hooked up to an HD66 with OPTOMA ZD01 glasses.
I was under the impression that the only 3D bluray players compatable with the monoprice are the panasonics mentioned in the OP as they can output SBS. Since I have little interest in owning physical media, I was not really looking to go this route. I am however intrigued by the use of a PS3 with the monoprice and the HD66.
@kiko2tj, I ordered my monoprice unit recently to Toronto. How long ago did you get yours? Is there a way of checking firware revisions on these units? Are you sure you were playing a 3d bluray on the ps3 set to output it as such? Has there been a recent ps3 firmware upgrade affecting 3d output?
canuck is offline  
post #135 of 152 Old 03-28-2012, 11:26 AM
Member
 
kiko2tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought my 3D creator 3 months ago. There is no way to check the firmware revision on the unit. I was playing an original 3D movie (Mega Mind - promo disc I borrowed from a friend) using a DLP Link Optoma ZD101 glasses. I returned the glasses a week ago, coz it's ugly, expensive and you can't fold it. Looking for new version of True Depth DLP link 3D glasses.
kiko2tj is offline  
post #136 of 152 Old 03-28-2012, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
xrubiras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the Monoprice 2D to 3D Converter works by hdmi with the Optoma ML500, the Viewsonic PLED-W500 or K330 Acer?
xrubiras is offline  
post #137 of 152 Old 03-28-2012, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
perfectdark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiko2tj View Post

I bought my 3D creator 3 months ago. There is no way to check the firmware revision on the unit. I was playing an original 3D movie (Mega Mind - promo disc I borrowed from a friend) using a DLP Link Optoma ZD101 glasses. I returned the glasses a week ago, coz it's ugly, expensive and you can't fold it. Looking for new version of True Depth DLP link 3D glasses.

don't waste your time with the True Depth glasses. I have the optoma HD66 and 3D-XL. Have tried ZD101, True depth, Ultra Clears and 3D-VIP. All glasses have a washed out image except the zd101's. The zd101's are big, ugly, no folding arms, but have the best picture quality than the rest, which is why i sold my true depths for zd101's
perfectdark is offline  
post #138 of 152 Old 03-29-2012, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I also have tried a couple different brands of glasses and the Optoma zd101's are the best at black's and keeping the picture crisp,but my wife does not like them because she says they are too dark and likes the cinema eagle glasses that give a little brighter 3d viewing.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #139 of 152 Old 06-16-2012, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
Wickedmoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.

I just got a 3D XL to use with my BenQ MX 615 projector. I have an Xbox 360 and a PS3 connected and I can't get the 3D menu to become accessible. The projector shows that it is receiving a 120Hz feed from the optima, but 3D sync is still greyed out.

What am I missing?

Thanks.
Wickedmoose is offline  
post #140 of 152 Old 07-11-2012, 04:00 AM
Newbie
 
primemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SO MY TECHIE FRIENDS, WHAT'S THE VERDICT WITH REGARDS TO OPTOMA HD66 OWNERS WANTING TO BUY THE MONOPRICE 3D CREATOR? WILL THE MONOPRICE BE RENDER USELESS BECAUSE IT CANNOT PROVIDE 120HZ SIGNAL? WILL IT STILL PROVIDE 3D ON 60HZ? PLEASE COULD SOMEONE GIVE A SUMMARY OF THE FACTORS DISCUSSED ON THIS THREAD. OR PROBABLY PROVIDE THE PROS AND CONS. BEFORE I SPEND 3-4X MORE THAN THE MONOPRICE FOR A 3DXL CAN WE HAVE AT LEAST AN HONEST REVIEW? ANY REPLY IS VERY MUCH APPRECIATED.
primemax is offline  
post #141 of 152 Old 07-11-2012, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The monoprice 3d creator works good at converting 2d to 3d and 3d sbs content using DLP-link glasses, but there's no guarantee it will work with your HD66 as there's no way to check the firmware version if you have one like me with the newer firmware on it the 3d creator will not work by itself you have to hook it up to the 3d-xl first then it works fine if you have the older firmware it will work with the HD66 just fine by itself. If the projector is less than 1 year old or it's a refurb it's probably got the new firmware on it.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #142 of 152 Old 07-11-2012, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 3d creator will not do 3d at 60hz , it's impossible and the 3d the monoprice creates is good , but the frame packed bluray 3d that the 3d-xl provides is much better, I'm glad I have both.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #143 of 152 Old 07-23-2012, 02:48 AM
Member
 
fredl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Degerfors, N/A, Sweden
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,
I have an Optoma HD65 which I just upgraded with the latest 3D firmware. I have a HTPC with a GT230 gpu, have installed the Acer H5360mod inf for it in order to get it to display at 120 Hz. I have ordered the ZD-201 DLP Link glasses.

I have three questions:

1) To get started I am quite happy to use Stereoscopic player to play SBS Half 1080p mkv:s which I gather I will be able to do once I get my DLP Link glasses, is this correct?

2) From what I understand from reading this thread from start to finish I would need to buy the 3D-XL in order to play 3D from my PS3 (or a stand alone blu-ray player, not capable of outputting 3D as SBS), is this correct?

3) Am I also correct that I would need a monoprice 3d creator in order to play SBS Half 1080p mkv:s from my WD TV Live?

TIA!
fredl is offline  
post #144 of 152 Old 07-23-2012, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
#1 You are correct all you would need is the glasses

#2 To watch bluray 3d on a ps3 or watch from a 3d bluray player you need the 3D-XL because it processes frame packing,SBS,TAB, if your not watching bluray 3d and using SBS you don't need the 3D-XL the monoprice 3d creator will process the SBS for you.I use both and I'm quite happy, but I couldn't use the 3d creator by itself with my HD66 the firmware wouldn't allow it so I had to buy the 3D-XL then connect the 3d creator to that then they both work so I can convert 2d to 3d. If you play games in 3d on the ps3 they are SBS you can use the monoprice to process, but the 3D-XL is needed for bluray frame packed 3d processing as the monoprice can't do this.

#3 You are correct you can use the monoprice unit or 3D-XL to process the SBS.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #145 of 152 Old 07-23-2012, 12:43 PM
Member
 
fredl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Degerfors, N/A, Sweden
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis3845 View Post

#1 You are correct all you would need is the glasses
#2 To watch bluray 3d on a ps3 or watch from a 3d bluray player you need the 3D-XL because it processes frame packing,SBS,TAB, if your not watching bluray 3d and using SBS you don't need the 3D-XL the monoprice 3d creator will process the SBS for you.I use both and I'm quite happy, but I couldn't use the 3d creator by itself with my HD66 the firmware wouldn't allow it so I had to buy the 3D-XL then connect the 3d creator to that then they both work so I can convert 2d to 3d. If you play games in 3d on the ps3 they are SBS you can use the monoprice to process, but the 3D-XL is needed for bluray frame packed 3d processing as the monoprice can't do this.
#3 You are correct you can use the monoprice unit or 3D-XL to process the SBS.

Just to make sure I understood correctly with a Panasonic blu-ray player which can output 3D as SBS I can make do with the 3D creator? Also, are all PS3 3D games SBS?

Also has anyone found a more euro-friendly (shipping wise) reseller or the monoprice (or equiv.) 3D creators?

Thanks a lot!
fredl is offline  
post #146 of 152 Old 12-19-2012, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would like to know this as well. I have a Optoma HD66. What do I need to do (other than buying Optoma 3D-XL convertor box) to view 3D movies. Will appreciate a step by step checklist.

Will this item work?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-2D-to-3D-Converter-for-DLP-porjector-Shutter-glasses-3D-Converter-Box-/271107482811
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #147 of 152 Old 01-02-2013, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
HeavvyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have tried this setup but can't get 3D disks to play. I have a Panasonic BDT220 which is hooked up to the Monoprice 3D creator. It is run through a Pioneer VSX-920K (3D capable receiver). I have set the Panny bluray to SBS and 720p and my receiver is also set to 720p resolution. When I play 3D movies the output shows as 1921x1080 on my HD66 and the screen is a big hatch pattern. I have no idea what I am doing wrong. I have no problem with 1080p bluray movies playing as 1080i on the HD66. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
HeavvyD is offline  
post #148 of 152 Old 08-03-2013, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
Zebo4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the monoprice converter, a panasonic blu-ray and the Hd66. I cannot get the HD66 to recognize 3d (the setting is greyed-out)
How do you get the hd66 3d settings to work?. I have tried all of the converter settings. The blu-ray is set to output at 1080p side-by-side.
what are your settings for each component?
Thanks
Zebo4 is offline  
post #149 of 152 Old 08-11-2013, 10:01 PM
Member
 
CaptainHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read all 5 pages of this thread and I'm more confused now than when I started. I've got an Optoma PRO350W which I've read is for all intents and purposes the same as an HD66, and I've got both a Panasonic BDT-110 and a BDT-220 3D blu-ray player. What I have learned from this thread is that the players can output 3D as side-by-side (SBS), which most other players do not. I believe this is the main limiting factor and reason the "3D-ready" projectors are advertised as working with PC content only. Does this mean that all I should need to watch 3D blu-rays with my projector and one of the Panny players is a pair of DLP-link glasses?

I have a 46" Panasonic 3D LED TV (passive) with many glasses and a Sony Playstation 3D display with 2 sets of glasses (RF?) but do not have any DLP-link glasses yet. I don't have a big problem with buying a few pairs of DLP-link glasses, but I don't want to spend the money only to find out they won't work unless I spend another $200+ on a 3D-XL. I figure if I'm going to invest another $300 to get 3D out of my current projector, I might be better served putting that money toward a newer 3D projector that can work with my Sony glasses. I know the HD33 will work with a $25 emitter.

I've got something like 30 3D blu-rays and am building a home theater with a 106" screen so it would be nice to be able to watch them but as complicated as it seems, I'm nearly ready to give up on the idea. At least until my bulb burns out and I am tempted to buy a new projector.
CaptainHero is offline  
post #150 of 152 Old 08-27-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
augiedoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Tonawanda NY,
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperchaser View Post


I just got a pair of those as well for my HD66. I also ordered this little unit








I havent had a chance to hook it up but the specs read like the Monoprice unit.


I guess I'll make a thread detailing my findings later today

that unit doesnt support 120hz output from the specs but their newer unit here

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DLP-3D-NEW-Converter-2x1-HDMI-1-4-For-120Hz-3D-Ready-DLP-Projector-/251173566184?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a7b1c76e8

says it does.... I cant find any evidence of anyone here trying it yet though...
I just started another thread inquiring about it...
augiedoggy is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Tags
View Sonic 3d Hd Video Processor Vp3d1 , Acer H5360 3d Dlp Projector , Optoma 3d Xl Converter Box For 3d Video And Gaming , Optoma Hd66 Dlp 3d Ready Home Theater Projector , Panasonic 3d Blu Ray Player Dmp Bdt210 , Optoma
Gear in this thread - H5360 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off