Are there any HDMI switches/splitters that output 1.3 and 1.4 at the same time? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2011, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Steve Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I will soon have a 3D capable TV and I'm looking at how to avoid buying a new receiver. My existing receiver is HDMI 1.3 only.

I read about a Panasonic Blu-ray player with dual HDMI outputs. One is for HDMI 1.3 audio (for older receivers) and the other is HDMI 1.4 meant to go directly to the TV for 3D support. I want to do more than Blu-ray in 3D, but I like that solution.

I will have a PC hooked up to the new set like I do with the one it's replacing, so for now I will watch 3D Blu-ray discs and play 3D games on that. I'll do the audio via 6 separate analog cables and I'll run the video from the nVidia card via HDMI directly to the set. Ultimately I'd like to be able to use PS3 and Xbox for 3D content too.

So... my question is: "Is there a 4x2 HDMI switch (or similar) that can output 1.3 for audio and 1.4 HDMI at the same time like that Panasonic player?"

It seems like it should be technically possible, but I haven't figured out if such a thing exists.
Steve Tack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2011, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
SgtVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification
SgtVideo is offline  
Old 12-17-2011, 08:40 AM
Member
 
avted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Monoprice has informed me that (contrary to advertising earlier this year) they do not currently offer a device that will strip the audio from HDMI 1.4, translate it to HDMI 1.3, and resend it over a separate HDMI 1.3 connection. I believe that the link above is for a device that will strip out the lossless audio formats only, and send them over a non-HDMI digital output. So you would loose lossless surround formats. If anybody has had success with this actually sending the lossless formats via HDMI 1.3 while simultaneously sending HDMI 1.4 to another device, that would be great news!
avted is offline  
Old 12-17-2011, 09:42 AM
Member
 
avted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avted View Post


Monoprice has informed me that (contrary to advertising earlier this year) they do not currently offer a device that will strip the audio from HDMI 1.4, translate it to HDMI 1.3, and resend it over a separate HDMI 1.3 connection. I believe that the link above is for a device that will strip out the lossless audio formats only, and send them over a non-HDMI digital output. So you would loose lossless surround formats. If anybody has had success with this actually sending the lossless formats via HDMI 1.3 while simultaneously sending HDMI 1.4 to another device, that would be great news!

Typo above -- it strips out the non-lossless formats.
avted is offline  
Old 12-17-2011, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Steve Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hmm, yeah, that's not quite what I was looking for. It's an interesting option with the digital coax output, but I'm not sure I'd want to compromise audio just for 3D.

It could very well be that such a device doesn't exist. I don't imagine there'd be *all* that much demand for it.

I'll probably just skip the PS3 and Xbox 3D experience for now. Most of my gaming these days is on PC anyway, and I can watch the limited number of 3D Blu-rays I have on that.
Steve Tack is offline  
Old 10-11-2012, 01:46 AM
Newbie
 
machine156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
machine156 is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
funktekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you read the reviews on that mono price unit you will see that it does not work for this application
funktekk is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What other 3D sources will you be using? If it's Cable or Satellite TV, the signal will more than likely be SBS which can pass through HDMI 1.3 AVRs without issue (other than a finicky issue w/ DirecTV channel 103, though there is a work-around). As such, one of the Panasonic BD players would allow you to bypass the AVR for 3D BD video, send lossless audio to the AVR via the secondary HDMI, and, send your other 3D sources directly through the AVR. You would still need to use a simple HDMI switch to switch between the BR player and AVR output before going to your display, but these are $10-$15 and can easily be seamlessly integrated into your system assuming you use a macro or activity based universal remote.

I'm in a similar spot, but since I already have a 3D BD player with single HDMI output, I'll just default back to SPDIF and give up lossless audio for the few rare occasions I watch a BD (3D or otherwise)... this isn't a big loss for me since I've centralized nearly all of my movie and much of my TV viewing into XBMC through HTPC or ATV2 around the entire house.

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
Old 12-14-2012, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Steve Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hehe, well, I originally posted that a year ago, and I've just continued to use the PC for 3D Blu-rays. As it turns out, I didn't get into stereoscopic gaming really at all, so that worked out fine - no need for a switch like I was hoping someone would make to deal with multiple sources. It would be slightly more convenient to use a stand-alone player, but I don't watch all that many 3D movies, so it's not a big deal. I'm actually glad I didn't spend money on a special player or a new receiver.
Steve Tack is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off