Ways to avoid replacing my receiver for 3D - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-07-2012, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sundance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am hearing that there are ways to use my current Onkyo SR606 receiver that is not 3D ready by splitting the HDMI signal. Run one to the TV (in my case a Epson Powerlite 3010) and the other to the receiver for audio. My question is will any HDMI splitter work ...something like this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Or this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

When it says 3D support does that mean it will do what I want to do or simply that it will pass 3D?

Thanks

Are you looking for a mentor
www.winningonlinebusiness.com
Sundance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-07-2012, 07:50 PM
Member
 
bubbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking about this also with my hd66, but I found out that these splitters downgrade the audio to the lowest denominator that is supported, so if your Epson only does 2 channel audio that is all you will get to your receiver.
bubbaba is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-07-2012, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sundance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Epson will not figure into the equation. The source from the blu-ray player will be split, one going direct to the receiver from the player and the other HDMI going to the projector for picture only.

Are you looking for a mentor
www.winningonlinebusiness.com
Sundance is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-07-2012, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Sundance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hz771 View Post

I am hearing that there

What is this??????????????

Are you looking for a mentor
www.winningonlinebusiness.com
Sundance is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-08-2012, 12:27 AM
Member
 
nosys70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's correct, HDMI is bidirectional signal.
So the screen is feeding back to the player some information called EDID.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EDID

Problem is when you have a splitter, there is also several EDID information.
As said the lowest common feature (resolution, audio channel) is adopted.
So for example if you connect an full HD screen and an HD ready screen on the splitter, both screen will display the lower HD ready resolution.
same for sound
nosys70 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-08-2012, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundance View Post

The Epson will not figure into the equation. The source from the blu-ray player will be split, one going direct to the receiver from the player and the other HDMI going to the projector for picture only.

Actually, it will. As nosys70 explained, splitters report the EDID of the least capable display it's connected to back to the source. That way the least capable display doesn't get sent something it can't handle. There is a Gefen splitter that will always report the most-capable display's EDID, but it's $$$.

Even if you could get the splitter to report a 1.4/3D capable device, there's another potential problem. Older 1.3 receivers have issues decoding the sound from 3D Blu-Rays because that sound is encoded in a different part of the data stream than that used by regular 2D Blu-Rays. Most simply don't produce sound at all even if they can pass the 3D video.

One workaround is to use a Panasonic 310 player. It has dual HDMI outs just for situations like yours. One is 1.4 for video and audio while the other can be set to output 1.3-formatted audio only.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-08-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A pretty good solution is to use an optical digital connection for your sound to the receiver and use a HDMI for the video, running the cable direct to the TV or projector bypassing the receiver when you are watching 3D. You get Dolby Digital 5.1 sound or 5.1 DTS and it sounds good. You don't get the lossless sound formats that way, but you save hundreds of dollars. You can use HDMI for sound and video through your receiver for any non-3D material and have lossless sound then. You keep your HDMI connected to the receiver most of the time, but when you want to watch a 3D Blu-Ray you unplug the HDMI from the receiver and plug it directly to the Blu Ray player. You might also have to tell the Blu-Ray player to output sound through optical cable to your receiver if it can't just always be doing that.
You'll find you can hardly tell the difference between Dolby 5.1 and lossless sound, if you are like me, and I sure like sound.
TrickMcKaha is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-09-2012, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
g4ses1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran into a similar issue. I have a Yamaha RXV-3800 HDMI 1.3 and just bought a Panny vt30. I ran my cable (Fios) through the reciever and have absolutely no issue with 3D content from the cable box, the Yamaha passes it just fine. As far as 3D Blueray goes I use a PS3 and ran an optical cable to my receiver and an HDMI to the Panny. Once again no problems at all. I would test running the 3D signal through the Onkyo before anything else.
g4ses1 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
falafala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i faced exactly same problem when i got by 3010 and my onkyo is not 3d ready....in my reserach i found that you cannot use a hdmi splitter because hdmi protocol will pick least common denominator in capabilities if you connect 3010 and a receiver via a splitter to your 3d bluray player

if you dont care about HD audio you can try the optical cable aproach

i cared, so got a dual HDMI bluray player like samsung 6700 or panasonic 310...
falafala is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-11-2012, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I can run 3D through my Onkyo 607 (1.3/"not 3D capable") in SBS format with HD audio, NO problem. I can't see any difference between SBS and FULL 3D in pq.--looks identical to me. This is with my 3010's 3D format set to SBS of course.

Ed
old corps is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-11-2012, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post

I can run 3D through my Onkyo 607 (1.3/"not 3D capable") in SBS format with HD audio, NO problem. I can't see any difference between SBS and FULL 3D in pq.--looks identical to me. This is with my 3010's 3D format set to SBS of course.

Ed

This may be because some forms of 3D SBS such as those used by cable and satellite providers are actually 1.3 format signals that the older receivers can pass and decode.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 02-11-2012, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post

This may be because some forms of 3D SBS such as those used by cable and satellite providers are actually 1.3 format signals that the older receivers can pass and decode.

I'm talking about Bluray 3d from my Panny 210 player. When I select SBS format with the Panny and 3010 pj it works just fine and also provides HD audio.

Ed

I've also compared running "Full" 3d directly to the pj and with the same content/same scenes can detect no difference in pq. I just can't get HD audio

when I run it in "Full 3d" because the Onkyo won't pass that through. In that case I have to use toslink/optical for audio, which still sounds excellent.
old corps is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off