Official Omega 3D passive projection system thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 633 Old 01-20-2014, 10:15 AM
Member
 
Soulnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by imbloodyskint View Post

Yes it can be done wink.gif

How? Where do you download the firmware? How do you install it?
Soulnight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 633 Old 01-20-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulnight View Post

How? Where do you download the firmware? How do you install it?

you need something to do the flash (cable/card rs232). but i don´t recommend it if you have to ask how do i install it.
you can´t download the firmware.
you can ask for it if you own a geobox.
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #543 of 633 Old 01-20-2014, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i have the files, flash tool and instructions i can send anyone who has a 501 box.

motorman45 is offline  
post #544 of 633 Old 02-01-2014, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Motoman. Are the new filtters due to release gonna enhance the dlp color balance also or are they just for the dlp ?
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #545 of 633 Old 02-02-2014, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
the new filter set will better for both dlp and lcd/lcos. color balance and efficiency will both be better and the extiction the same zero ghosting as before. i have not been able to make a set for full testing yet. i need a to do a tooling change and then some testing.

motorman45 is offline  
post #546 of 633 Old 02-06-2014, 01:00 AM
Member
 
zorg43x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
please, keep us informed! i am very interested.
do you know of any LCoS or SxRd with higher lumen output? I need at least 4200...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/projectors/projectors-reviews/optoma-hd8200-dlp-projector/all-pages.html

at conclusion -->

is there color gamut otherwise good for omega ?

Im soon gonna order these babies

So after all you are going the How-I-Learned-to-Stop-Worrying-and-Love-the-RBE way? biggrin.gif
zorg43x is offline  
post #547 of 633 Old 02-06-2014, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorg43x View Post

please, keep us informed! i am very interested.
do you know of any LCoS or SxRd with higher lumen output? I need at least 4200...
So after all you are going the How-I-Learned-to-Stop-Worrying-and-Love-the-RBE way? biggrin.gif

i might have. My wife filled all the boxes of things that you should not have if you buy dlp, so i dumped rainbow city and bought mitsubishi hc5.
if i only had the money to buy another when the new omega filtters for lcd/sxrd hit the shelves.
I looove the 2d on hc5. 3d is total utter crap(came as no suprice its bad, but not that bad). Flickery and ghosting. Much poorer than my older linear setup with ax200's and polarisers.
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #548 of 633 Old 02-06-2014, 12:07 PM
Member
 
zorg43x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good for you. the first thing on a (1ch) DLP i see is the rainbow. bad for me :/
wwoooooou if i had the money to buy a dual 3DLP setup, that would be a complete different story biggrin.gif
zorg43x is offline  
post #549 of 633 Old 02-07-2014, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
did anyone every find out how much the VNS 303 box will be. what are the main differences between it and the 501
space2001 is offline  
post #550 of 633 Old 02-08-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
imbloodyskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

did anyone every find out how much the VNS 303 box will be. what are the main differences between it and the 501

http://www.vnstw.com/en/Upload/News3/News-2014261644564.pdf

Goto page 3 to see a comparison chart of all geo box models wink.gif
imbloodyskint is offline  
post #551 of 633 Old 02-09-2014, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think the 501 box is the best unit for the price. it dose most everything you would want

motorman45 is offline  
post #552 of 633 Old 02-15-2014, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
cerealk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


hello,

i have a problem with my geobox 501 and omega filters


when i am in 1080p 120hz(or 100hz), i have black pixel in red image, just in the red and just with channel A.
in 1080p60hz and 24hz no problem.
i tried :
diferrent output hdmi cables
input geobox with displayport and dvi-d
two gpu cards : gtx 560 and gtx 780
two different boot system with 3 different drivers
it's ok if i change for 16 bits colors but in game it's 32 bits...
two projectors at 1080 60hz in 2d are ok
(I have another problem with inversion of 3d effect (left/right) with somes games)

If you have a solution...

Thanks
cerealk is offline  
post #553 of 633 Old 02-17-2014, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
cerealk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Problem solved for me with update firmware of geobox !!

Big thanks at Steve Wang (vns company)
cerealk is offline  
post #554 of 633 Old 02-17-2014, 08:53 PM
Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just wonder how you could even been in 120hz mode. 501 did not support it before the update, or is there another 120hz update
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #555 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 01:31 AM
Newbie
 
sid-6581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

@motorman45: I have two Epson EH-TW4400 (http://www.projectorcentral.com/Epson_Europe-EH-TW4400.htm) and now I want to purchase the Omega3D system. However, I'm not sure wether to buy the small or large LCD kit. I want to install it in front of the lens with some clamps (hopefully finding the right angle). Or would it be easier to install inside? Could I still watch 2D after that? Thanks!

sid-6581 is offline  
post #556 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
cerealk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post

Just wonder how you could even been in 120hz mode. 501 did not support it before the update, or is there another 120hz update
This is another update !
cerealk is offline  
post #557 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid-6581 View Post

@motorman45: I have two Epson EH-TW4400 (http://www.projectorcentral.com/Epson_Europe-EH-TW4400.htm) and now I want to purchase the Omega3D system. However, I'm not sure wether to buy the small or large LCD kit. I want to install it in front of the lens with some clamps (hopefully finding the right angle). Or would it be easier to install inside? Could I still watch 2D after that? Thanks!

the small LCD kit will work fine for external. i would recommend not doing the internal mounting on an LCD. i have had several costumers use the projector you have chosen and loved how our system works with them.
you can watch 2d with the filters in place if the two images are aligned well enough but its easier to flip one filter out of the way and watch 2d with one unit on. alternate between the two to average the bulb life between the two units.
do you need a demultiplexer ??

motorman45 is offline  
post #558 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerealk View Post

This is another update !

the update released recently for the 501 supports 120hz. it was talked about back a little in this thread.

motorman45 is offline  
post #559 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorman45 View Post

the update released recently for the 501 supports 120hz. it was talked about back a little in this thread.
yes i know but there has been another update after that if understood cerealk correctly. I also have update to make 501, 120hz compatible,
i have not flashed it yet. But i don' t know if there s any point of flashing it if there has been released yet another version
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #560 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
sid-6581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorman45 View Post


the small LCD kit will work fine for external. i would recommend not doing the internal mounting on an LCD. i have had several costumers use the projector you have chosen and loved how our system works with them.
you can watch 2d with the filters in place if the two images are aligned well enough but its easier to flip one filter out of the way and watch 2d with one unit on. alternate between the two to average the bulb life between the two units.
do you need a demultiplexer ??

 

Isn't it harder to get the angle right when installing the filter externally? And yes, I do need a demultiplexer, however I might have a source for a G501 or G201 already. If that doesn't work out I would get back to you.

sid-6581 is offline  
post #561 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post

yes i know but there has been another update after that if understood cerealk correctly. I also have update to make 501, 120hz compatible,
i have not flashed it yet. But i don' t know if there s any point of flashing it if there has been released yet another version

i think the update you have is the latest. steve could clear this up.

motorman45 is offline  
post #562 of 633 Old 02-18-2014, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid-6581 View Post

Isn't it harder to get the angle right when installing the filter externally? And yes, I do need a demultiplexer, however I might have a source for a G501 or G201 already. If that doesn't work out I would get back to you.

no its actually easier to get the angle of the filter to work well externally. if you look back at the posts on internal mounting i think i mentioned how critical the angle is in internal mounting, if not i did now smile.gif when the F# of the light beam or speed of the beam is very fast the filter becomes more sensitive to angle. it can work well in a DLP to internally mount the filter and its the only good method when using a short throw projector like the BenQ W1070 as externally mounting the filter will not give good results due to the trow.
well we have 201's here and one 501 left ( thought it was sold but they backed out )

motorman45 is offline  
post #563 of 633 Old 02-22-2014, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Soulnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorman45 View Post

i think the update you have is the latest. steve could clear this up.

No it's not. Cerealk contacted steve because of his problem with the red and steve made a new firmware available to correct the problem.
But at the begining, cerealk had already what you're naming the new firmware for 120hz.
Soulnight is offline  
post #564 of 633 Old 02-23-2014, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulnight View Post

No it's not. Cerealk contacted steve because of his problem with the red and steve made a new firmware available to correct the problem.
But at the begining, cerealk had already what you're naming the new firmware for 120hz.

i knew it....
maby i should contact steve also to get the newest...allthough i have not even flashed the first 120hz update.
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #565 of 633 Old 03-18-2014, 04:06 AM
Member
 
voldemar72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Russia Bryansk
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

These glasses will work with your computer without demultiplexer ?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/151198323085?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

voldemar72 is offline  
post #566 of 633 Old 03-18-2014, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by voldemar72 View Post

These glasses will work with your computer without demultiplexer ?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/151198323085?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

no they wont work without the projection filters and a pair of projectors. the listing was made for someone who wanted 2 more pairs that already had a system

motorman45 is offline  
post #567 of 633 Old 03-18-2014, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i am testing the new Z version of my omega 3d system. it should have very good eye to eye color balance especially for LCoS like JVC. i will be looking for someone with LCoS projectors to do some beta testing soon that is willing to provide some feedback.
new frame too

motorman45 is offline  
post #568 of 633 Old 03-18-2014, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorman45 View Post

proto of new frame , 63mm inter-ocualr instead of the 69mm of the theater frame ( one key to less back reflection ) . lighter better fitting for kids as well as adults, added light blocking to bottom edge and along ear stalk and they fold






this will be the frame using the new Z filter set

motorman45 is offline  
post #569 of 633 Old 03-18-2014, 07:20 AM
Member
 
voldemar72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Russia Bryansk
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
:)Цитата:
не Сообщение от motorman45 Посмотреть сообщение


не они не будут работать без проекционных фильтров и пары проекторов. список был сделан для тех, кто хотел еще 2 пары, которые уже имели систему

Я понимаю, что мне нужно два проектора и два фильтра

Я спросить, есть ли необходимость демультиплексор?

http://www.vnstw.com/en/products_view.asp?ID=105&BKID=68

voldemar72 is offline  
post #570 of 633 Old 03-18-2014, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
motorman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
?? are you looking for a 501 geobox ? i still have one on hand

motorman45 is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off