Official Omega 3D passive projection system thread - Page 23 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #661 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Is anyone using a HTPC with gtx970 using dual dvi output? Just found this thread sounds interesting. I was looking at 2 x benq 1070 to do the job and using a HTPC as the source and L/R splitter rather than the geobox. Recommended or just get the box?
clausdk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post
Is anyone using a HTPC with gtx970 using dual dvi output? Just found this thread sounds interesting. I was looking at 2 x benq 1070 to do the job and using a HTPC as the source and L/R splitter rather than the geobox. Recommended or just get the box?
PM imbloodyskint , if i remember correctly he had 1070 with omega experimental kit internally installed.
Ps. BenQ lens shift is not enough. You kind of need the geobox to Also get the pj's lined up properly, without bigger compromises.
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #663 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post
PM imbloodyskint , if i remember correctly he had 1070 with omega experimental kit internally installed.
Ps. BenQ lens shift is not enough. You kind of need the geobox to Also get the pj's lined up properly, without bigger compromises.

Ok thanks. I guess I can still use a HTPC for playback.
clausdk is offline  
post #664 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 09:56 AM
Member
 
imbloodyskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did manage to get 2x w1070 to line up very close to perfect, but have to sit one directly on top of the other one AND one has to have the lens adjuster cover removed to get them as close together as possible.

The hard part is adjusting then because you can not easily adjust the top one once its sat on top of the lower one.
imbloodyskint is offline  
post #665 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by imbloodyskint View Post
I did manage to get 2x w1070 to line up very close to perfect, but have to sit one directly on top of the other one AND one has to have the lens adjuster cover removed to get them as close together as possible.

The hard part is adjusting then because you can not easily adjust the top one once its sat on top of the lower one.
Wow ok. Worth the hazzle or go with another pj? Its just so cheap and good!
clausdk is offline  
post #666 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 12:28 PM
Member
 
imbloodyskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post
Wow ok. Worth the hazzle or go with another pj? Its just so cheap and good!
For me, not so much.

BUT,
Thats only because I have really bad Astigmatism in both eyes, so don't get much, if any 3D pop out, I only get a bit of depth in the image, which in itself is nice.

If you don't have Astigmatism, like the other members of my family and friends, then YES 100% worth it.

They have told me the pop out is "Just amazing" and "Unreal",
they say about 7-8 foot pop out from the screen.
imbloodyskint is offline  
post #667 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Ok great. Other than the benq and optoma I cant think of an affordable solution. Trying to keep the cost down and maybe try getting it working without the geobox.
clausdk is offline  
post #668 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 01:23 PM
Member
 
imbloodyskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I went for the w1070 due to lack of room length because with the optoma I could only get a small screen size, but with the benq I get a much larger image.

I can only comment on aligning the benq w1070 because I have not tried with 2 optoma projectors.
imbloodyskint is offline  
post #669 of 674 Old 12-20-2014, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Ok thanks. Does anyone know if the geobox can shrink and stretch a 16:9 image to fit a scope screen? Cant find a user manuel. I know a lumagen scaler can do this with their non linear scaling.
clausdk is offline  
post #670 of 674 Old 12-21-2014, 01:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post
Ok thanks. Does anyone know if the geobox can shrink and stretch a 16:9 image to fit a scope screen? Cant find a user manuel. I know a lumagen scaler can do this with their non linear scaling.
With 501 you can project into a ball surface.
Ask vnstw tobe shure
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #671 of 674 Old 12-22-2014, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My projector is going through service and i was looking at the omega filtter at the shelf and started seeing
differently through the filtter as i moved my head, and i noticed the tint seen through the filtter is different when the filtter is
in different angle.
when i last watched a movie the ghosting was zero, does that mean that the filtters are in correct angle ?
...just wondering it might ease the tintint if i would tilt the filtters differently ?
but does it ruin the extinction ?

-J-
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #672 of 674 Old 01-01-2015, 12:10 PM
Member
 
spectrogj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post
My projector is going through service and i was looking at the omega filtter at the shelf and started seeing
differently through the filtter as i moved my head, and i noticed the tint seen through the filtter is different when the filtter is
in different angle.
when i last watched a movie the ghosting was zero, does that mean that the filtters are in correct angle ?
...just wondering it might ease the tintint if i would tilt the filtters differently ?
but does it ruin the extinction ?

-J-
filters should be perpendicular to the beam coming out of the projector, tilting them will misalign them and you will get crosstalk. they look different at angle because there are multibands of light.
spectrogj is offline  
post #673 of 674 Old 01-01-2015, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectrogj View Post
filters should be perpendicular to the beam coming out of the projector, tilting them will misalign them and you will get crosstalk. they look different at angle because there are multibands of light.
Ok. Then i have my filtters perfectly.
I get absolutely zero crosstalkia with white on black
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #674 of 674 Unread Today, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
sparoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am doing some major renovation project at the moment, and currently choosing the projection system. I haven't been able to find the information, but is there a hardware solution for the 3D signal to the projectors? Or do I have to use a HTPC with the software solution?

Many thanks!
sparoz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off