3d Reciever - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-23-2012, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KenToizumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does my Reciever need to be 3d? I am getting a Panasonic 3d TV and have a PS3 going through an Oknyo reciever that's a couple years old. I've read threads that say I do and one that says I don't need a "3d reciever" Which is it?
KenToizumi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-24-2012, 03:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You need a receiver that is HDMI 1.4 compliant to pass the signal. The other option is to send the HDMI directly to the TV and then back to the receiver. Typically this does not allow the use of the higher codecs though.
kkpro is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-24-2012, 12:00 PM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post

You need a receiver that is HDMI 1.4 compliant to pass the signal. The other option is to send the HDMI directly to the TV and then back to the receiver. Typically this does not allow the use of the higher codecs though.

Actually the AV Receiver needs to specify in the documentaion that it will pass 3D signals, not just 1.4 because of two reasons:

1. HDMI LLC does not want products to list version numbers anymore so the 1.4 may not be listed. Instead they want the specific features listed.

2. 3D support is optional, not required, by 1.4 so just being 1.4 may not support 3D.

This is why HDMI LLC. does not version numbers used anymore, there are more optional features than required features so using version numbers may not get what you want.
GEP is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-25-2012, 03:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most of us with older recievers just do PS3 directly to the display and optiocal to the avr.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-26-2012, 02:44 AM
Member
 
necroticart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran into the same problem when i got my optoma HD33 the best advice i can give is to upgrade. I bought the Denon 1712 and have not looked back.
necroticart is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-26-2012, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A 3D capable receiver is only required if you plan to pass 3D BluRay or PS3 3D BluRay content through it and have the receiver process the audio. Itr is not needed for cable or satellite 3D content.
walford is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off