Optoma 3d xl with acer 1210k projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 06-20-2012, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I currently have an acer x1210k projector which is 3d ready but has no hdmi port. I hooked it up to my sky hd box via an hdmi to vga converter box which works a treat. Has anyone tried or know if the optoma 3d xl would work if added to this set up. I know vga can take hd signal but not sure about carrying the 3d signal.Your thoughts and advice much appreciated.

Cheers
Bryan
brx132 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 06-21-2012, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
lewis3845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Camby,Indiana USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I own the Optoma 3d-xl and I'm not 100% sure, but I don't think it would work if you don't have a projector with an hdmi input. I would call and talk to optoma tech support and see if it would work using the hdmi to vga adapter. The 3d through vga is meant for computers with 3d software or hardware.
lewis3845 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 06-21-2012, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply, I have spoken to both optoma and acer tech support UK they both could not give me an answer. Was hoping if I looked around could possibly find someone who had tried this, do not want to buy the 3d xl then find it is no use.
brx132 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 06-21-2012, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
in short...no it will not work. The EID on the player has to "handshake" with the projector, which is not possible with a VGA input, unless your connecting a PC to it. All other set top boxes (ie blu ray players....) will not work.
RonAlam is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 06-21-2012, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, looks like its time to get myself an optoma projector with 3d xl built in then.
brx132 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 06-22-2012, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
they are not built in, they are a separate box
RonAlam is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 06-23-2012, 02:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes your right! I was told by someone that optoma had now got projectors out with it built in just looked myself and its just the adapter included in bundle when u buy.
brx132 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 06-23-2012, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Stacey Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I have a 3d-xl outputting 3d through an hdmi to vga adapter.

The projector is an infocus in146 3d ready dlp. The hdmi port on the projector stopped working about a week before I was going to order my 3d-xl. I took a chance and ordered a Sanoxy hdmi to vga converter (white) off amazon.com for $30 and it passes the 3d signal over the vga input on the projector. Currently running a PS3 and a roku box (wealthtv 3d) with no problems.
I don't know if It's how the projector is made or I just got lucky. Just wanted to let you know that with my set up it is possible.

Anyone have any questions or answers why it works. Feel free to ask.
Stacey Adam is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 06-23-2012, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks that's encouraging to hear someone has got it working through the adapter. The amazon adapter you are using is the same one I have so surely will work for me.
brx132 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-01-2012, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got my 3d xl and pleased to say it works perfectly through the hdmi to vga converter.
brx132 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-17-2012, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
its amazing all the stuff that's coming out to help people with all kinds of tech get 3D over a projector. Tru3D Now has a HDMI to VGA converter box for 3D. Now with the TRU3D, I'm not sure if it's a stand alone device or you have to buy it then buy like the optoma 3DXL.
Also, there is a product called HDFury4, i believe, that right out of the box hooks to a VGA only projector and is ready for a external 3D blue ray HDMI only port, or whatever. On the down side they will both set you back almost $400. What seems to surprise me the most though, is the amount of people who DON'T !! know about these products. I would expect more people on these forums to know about these products then what already do.. People say flat out, "They don't" when in fact they are dead wrong, lol. But i understand. Most of the community on the AVS 3D section don't deal with the VGA stuff. So, it's cool. I have a viewsonic pjd6211 projector with only a VGA but will be using Nvidia 3D vision.. I would have to admit though. Instead of forking out $300 dollars for these adapters, It would probably be cheaper just to sell the projector you have then take the $300 and put it to a projector that at least has an HDMI 1.3 port then go from there.
narhic_fd is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-18-2012, 01:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I was surprised how difficult it was to get the right information, tried various forums and tech support of the manufacturers and it was only one of the above posts from stacey that gave me the confidence to buy and try. The cost of the vga to hdmi converter and optoma 3d xl was 200 pounds all in which was not too bad. Very pleased with the results
brx132 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-18-2012, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brx132 View Post

Yeah I was surprised how difficult it was to get the right information, tried various forums and tech support of the manufacturers and it was only one of the above posts from stacey that gave me the confidence to buy and try. The cost of the vga to hdmi converter and optoma 3d xl was 200 pounds all in which was not too bad. Very pleased with the results

when you put the projector in 3D mode while using the optoma 3DXL, does it cut the luman in half as well. I know when using the computer in 3D usage it take the 2500 luman of my projector and shifts into 2x60htz images for the 3D giving 1200 luman output.
narhic_fd is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-18-2012, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brx132 View Post

Yeah I was surprised how difficult it was to get the right information, tried various forums and tech support of the manufacturers and it was only one of the above posts from stacey that gave me the confidence to buy and try. The cost of the vga to hdmi converter and optoma 3d xl was 200 pounds all in which was not too bad. Very pleased with the results

Also, which VGA to HDMI converter box did you use??? Can you give a link on amazon for me??
narhic_fd is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-18-2012, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brx132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No the 3d xl does not cut down lumens of your projector I can watch mine during the day and only need blinds if it is bright and sunny. Here is a link to my converter on eBay u can get on amazon aswell. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LKV385-HDMI-to-Analog-VGA-Video-Audio-Converter-Adapter-For-PC-DVD-PS3-Laptop-/130746650671?pt=UK_Computing_Sound_Vision_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item1e711b902f
brx132 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-18-2012, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so your saying that the brightness of the projector is pretty much the same rather in 2D mode and 3D mode?? Thats cool. Have you tried 3d on your projector on normal computer setting your refresh rate to 120htz? Curious if it reduces your lumans as well. I just know with my projector that when i switch to 120htz which is needed for 3D with my computer it divides the brightness into 2 60 htz images at 1200 luman each.
narhic_fd is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-18-2012, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by narhic_fd View Post

so your saying that the brightness of the projector is pretty much the same rather in 2D mode and 3D mode?? Thats cool. Have you tried 3d on your projector on normal computer setting your refresh rate to 120htz? Curious if it reduces your lumans as well. I just know with my projector that when i switch to 120htz which is needed for 3D with my computer it divides the brightness into 2 60 htz images at 1200 luman each.

Wanted to clarify, by when i asked if the brightness is the same rather in 2D mode or 3D mode, I ment when using the 3DXL.
narhic_fd is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off