Switch Automatically to 3D? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-09-2012, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm working on a video project and i'm trying to make 3D work around it. For testing it, I bought a low budget 3D Desktop screen (LG 2342P). When I'm plugging a 1.4 HDMI Cable, and trying to play SidebySide 3D Content, I see a SideBySide image on the monitor. I can 'Merge' the two streams into one by manually going into my monitor settings and set 'Side by Side' 3D. I have few questions regarding to that:

1. Isn't the screen suppose to automatically detect 3D stream is being played and automatically change it into the appropriate 3D mode?
2. If the above sentence is true, how does the monitor knows its 3D stream? Is it some kind of Header on the file? Does the Software that plays the Video Suppose to tell it? I tried few 3D trailers using VLC and non changed the mode automatically

Thank you :-)
Tall-Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-09-2012, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I've yet to let my monitor do the work for me. I just load the file into some kind of video player (the built-in NVidia player is passable, but has zero options), and play it that way. The program also remembers the settings for the files, so you don't have to tell it the next time you open that file, even if you've played something with a totally different format in the interim. Going into the monitor's menus, which are far from intuitive, is way too much trouble for watching video.

As for how it detects.. I have no idea. Most video streams are just video.. there's nothing except the visual to tell you that it's 3D, SBS, top/bottom, which one's left or right, etc.

Welcome to Rivendell, Mister Anderson.
Jedi2016 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-09-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The only 1.4 3D fornat that is required to be automatically detected is the packed 1920x2025 fornat which also does have 3D info in it's header.
Some specific vendors have venodor unique header data for other formats which they use between their own or some partners devices
walford is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-13-2012, 01:12 AM
Newbie
 
Amazing3DTVFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tall-Guy View Post

Hi,
I'm working on a video project and i'm trying to make 3D work around it. For testing it, I bought a low budget 3D Desktop screen (LG 2342P). When I'm plugging a 1.4 HDMI Cable, and trying to play SidebySide 3D Content, I see a SideBySide image on the monitor. I can 'Merge' the two streams into one by manually going into my monitor settings and set 'Side by Side' 3D. I have few questions regarding to that:
1. Isn't the screen suppose to automatically detect 3D stream is being played and automatically change it into the appropriate 3D mode?
2. If the above sentence is true, how does the monitor knows its 3D stream? Is it some kind of Header on the file? Does the Software that plays the Video Suppose to tell it? I tried few 3D trailers using VLC and non changed the mode automatically
Thank you :-)

I think this LG 2342P serves its purpose really well. I checked Amazon and it's only 250 dollars. It's worth the buck. This can actually replace my own LG 3D TV.

Are you working on a 3D project? If yes, what 3D camera are you using?
Amazing3DTVFan is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off