3D Over HDMI 1.2 Cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 09-26-2012, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Apologize for the potentially dumb question, but new to the 3D game...didn't see this specific answer anywhere...

I have been running a 2D Panasonic PT-AE4000U in my theater for about 3 years and have an 8000U on pre-order right now. I'm looking forward to the picture quality upgrade and being able to watch 3D content. Projector (obviously) and Denon receiver are both HDMI 1.4 3D ready. My question is regarding the cable.

My HDMI cable is a 30 foot cable (ceiling conduit) I bought in late 2009 from a local cable store...I traded emails with the owner this weekend and he indicated the cable is likely HDMI 1.2 but he thinks it should work fine for 3D. His point is that the requirement of HDMI 1.4 for 3D lies in the components...but that the actual cables haven't changed much. He did indicate that ARC wouldn't work...but since I am just sending the video to my projector I don't need ARC. Has this been everyone's experience as well? We can send a 3D signal over HDMI 1.2 cables?

Just trying to plan ahead. If it won't work, I'd love to order a new cable ahead of time so it's here when the 8000U arrives.

Thanks all.

PSN: MiddKid
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 09-26-2012, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 743
Cables aren't 1.2, 1.3 or 1.4....they're either standard or hi-speed. A short length standard may work with hi-speed applications such as 3D, but 30 feet isn't short. Try reading here for a start http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/kb.aspx#49

post #3 of 10 Old 09-26-2012, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter