HDMI to DVI and back again. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 10-26-2012, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dalcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A while back, 2005, I set up my first projector. There was no HDMI at the time so we ran dvi through the attic and down a wall.
No problems.
Upgraded several (3) years ago to the Epson 8500ub.
No dvi capabilities and HDMI was at 1.3a. I called Geffen about simple dvi to hdmi adapters to use at both ends of the dvi cable so that I could get 1080P video. Works like a charm. Absolutely no problems.
Now I am going to go to the Epson 5020, in a few weeks, so here is the question.
Will the 3D video signal pass through the DVI cable the same as the 1080p does?
Or am I going to have to run hdmi?
Geffen says no, it will pass through.
Ram cable says it will.
But no one is willing to be definitive.
So what's the answer?
Will it or won't it?

Thanks for your help
dalcm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 10-26-2012, 04:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since the DVI and HDMI video signal protocols are exactly the same and the only difference is that HDMI also supports audio and the pin numbers used on the DVI cable for video are different then the pin numbers used on the HDMI cable for video are different. The wires have no idea what type of signals they are carrying just as a pipe does not know if it is carrying water, milk, or kool-aid.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 10-27-2012, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dalcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you are saying that it will work.
Is my interpretation of your statement correct?
Thanks for your response.
I just want to be sure.
dalcm is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 10-27-2012, 05:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The only problm you could have is if the 1.3a HDMI cable is too short to handle the bandwidth required for 3D from a 3D blu-ray playeer or PS3. Do you know what gauge wire and length wire your HDMI 1.3a cable is?
walford is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 10-27-2012, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dalcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is a DVI cable.
The setup is a DVI cable with an hdmi adapter at either end,
The configuration is:

1. DVI cable into an hdmi adapter into the hdmi out of a 3d capable receiver.
2. DVI cable into an hdmi adapter into the hdmi in into the projecter at the other end.
3. The blue ray 3d player is connected with a 6 ft. 1.4a hdmi cable into the receiver.


Bu-ray 1080p passes through without a problem.
Will 3d pass through as well.

The hdmi cable is a 6 ft 1.4a from the blu-ray player to the receiver.

Sorry for any misunderstandings.
dalcm is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 10-27-2012, 11:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry I got the configuration reversd.
How long and what gage is the the DVI cable is therfore the important question.
walford is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 10-27-2012, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dalcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to say that I remember.
But it's at least 25 to 30 feet. Oxygen free was a selling point back then. that i recall.
Might be a little longer because of corners.
Whattaya think?
Iffy, but it should still work, don't you think?
Curious of your opinion an why it's your opinion.

We're going to know the answer at some point.

I think it will work.
I think the 3D will pass right through
and the picture will be crystal.
dalcm is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-27-2012, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
2D sure, 3D, maybe. Pushing 3d over 15' even over a good hdmi cable can be troublesome, depending on the gauge of cable, and quality/power of the source signal being able to maintain proper handshakes. Curse you hdmi. GL
jnabq is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-28-2012, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dalcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A good friend of mine has the 6010 epson projector.
He runs a 30' hdmi, just a generic from comp usa, from his onkyo
receiver, with the 3d input from a ps3 slim.
Needless to say the picture is spectacular.
So I don't think the distance is going to be a problem.
dalcm is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 10-28-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalcm View Post

Bu-ray 1080p passes through without a problem.
Will 3d pass through as well.
Yes. BD 3D at 24 fps requires less bandwidth than 1080p60. 1080p60 3D for gaming might be a problem, though.
Colm is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 10-29-2012, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I use a 50' DVI (optical) cable to run 3D using HDMI adaptors with no problem.
William is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off