Sick of OEM Powerdvd 9 - cannot detect 3D monitor. What's out there that's better? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-01-2012, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LeSkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I searched for any string I could think of.. All I could find are many threads about people like me who are sick of powerdvd. But I couldn't find a solution / alternative.

My set-up:
HTPC with the nvidia 3D kit
Benq W600+ with the Acer .inf fix
3D works perfectly for nvidia 3D test app, as well as PC gaming so there's nothing wrong with my get-up

powerdvd 9 can work perfectly for 3D bluray ISOs for long periods of time and it suddenly decides it doesn't see a 3D capable monitor anymore - as is the case now mad.gif

EDIT: the problem is that when it DOESN'T detect my W600+ as 3D capable, in the 3D menu, I should be able to click the 'auto detect' button but that option is greyed-out.


Is there a better PC solution (hopefully freeware!) for playing 3D bluray?

A year or so ago, I recall trying a trial of powerdvd 11... I can't recall the specifics but if I ended up going back to 9, I logically had no better luck with that version

Any input is appreciated - thanks!
LeSkid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-01-2012, 02:30 PM
Member
 
SillyConVal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have PowerDVD 10 Ultra and I can't get it to detect my ASUS VG278 as 3D-capable. So I echo your query: What works for playing 3D blurays?
SillyConVal is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-01-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Daniel Murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastampton NJ, South Jersey
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Same here on my Dell XPS L701X Laptop I havePowerDVD 9.6
Daniel Murray is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
DenisG is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LeSkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

thanks Denis - I'll try this when I get home tonight!

It says 'free to try' on the website.... is this a free trial? Or is it actually free?
LeSkid is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-02-2012, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It is a limited 15 day trial, it costs to keep it.
http://www.arcsoft.com/totalmedia-theatre/
DenisG is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-04-2012, 05:02 PM
Member
 
SillyConVal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SillyConVal View Post

I have PowerDVD 10 Ultra and I can't get it to detect my ASUS VG278 as 3D-capable. So I echo your query: What works for playing 3D blurays?
After I made this post, I have been able to get PowerDVD 10 Ultra Mark II to play Hugo in 3D using Nvidia Vision 3D glasses and a GTX 670 graphics card. I can not be certain, but I believe what made the difference is that I changed the following setting: In the settings dialog box, on the "Blu-ray disc" page, I selected "Allow connection when certification is invalid". After I did this, an error message was eliminated when the disc was loading, and the "3D" button down in the control panel at the bottom of the PowerDVD window was activated. By the way, I have the retail version of PowerDVD 10, not an OEM version.
SillyConVal is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-05-2012, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
did you try the Slysoft software to bypass the HDCP check?
RonAlam is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-05-2012, 06:48 AM
Member
 
SillyConVal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonAlam View Post

did you try the Slysoft software to bypass the HDCP check?
No, I am playing the 3D Blu-ray disc in the optical drive without any modification to the contents of the disc.
SillyConVal is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-05-2012, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
try AnydvdHD to see if that helps, they have a 30 day trial.
RonAlam is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-05-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 
SillyConVal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SillyConVal View Post

After I made this post, I have been able to get PowerDVD 10 Ultra Mark II to play Hugo in 3D using Nvidia Vision 3D glasses and a GTX 670 graphics card. I can not be certain, but I believe what made the difference is that I changed the following setting: In the settings dialog box, on the "Blu-ray disc" page, I selected "Allow connection when certification is invalid". After I did this, an error message was eliminated when the disc was loading, and the "3D" button down in the control panel at the bottom of the PowerDVD window was activated. By the way, I have the retail version of PowerDVD 10, not an OEM version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonAlam View Post

try AnydvdHD to see if that helps, they have a 30 day trial.
As noted in the first quote above, I have gotten PowerDVD 10 to play a 3D Blu-ray movie disc successfully in 3D without the need for the Slysoft modifications.
SillyConVal is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-05-2012, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
problem solved then?
RonAlam is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off