I could really use some help setting up "dual monitors" and one show 3D - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-30-2012, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fletcher6490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure this out and why it won't work. First off, here is my set up: Samsung 60ES7500 (3D TV), Pioneer Elite SC-25 (Not 3D capable), Oppo BDP-103 (using the dual HDMI outs, one to the TV and one to the receiver), HTPC with nvidia GTX 650 video card (3D card). I am running the HDMI cable from the video card to the HDMI in on the Oppo and the DVI cable to my computer monitor. I've also got a few other things connected but they are not really important for this discussion. Ok, so my main goal of all of this is to use Power DVD 12 to play full 3D bluray .iso movies on my Samsung in full 3D. For some reason they will not play in full 3D, I can only convert 2D - 3D and I'm not looking to do that. I feel like I've tried everything yet this just isn't working. If anyone has any advice on what to possibly try I will be very thankful. If I can't utilize this set up that I have I will be very disappointed, ya know.

Thanks
fletcher6490 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-01-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I too had a hard time setting up my NVidia drivers to use dual monitors with one having 3D. What worked for me was to set it up first with only the 3D display connected. Go through the set up 3D display process in the NVidia driver (if you want instructions on that just ask.)
You will get the 3D working, then plug in your 2nd monitor, let the PC recognize it and that will be your secondary monitor.
TrickMcKaha is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-01-2012, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fletcher6490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickMcKaha View Post

I too had a hard time setting up my NVidia drivers to use dual monitors with one having 3D. What worked for me was to set it up first with only the 3D display connected. Go through the set up 3D display process in the NVidia driver (if you want instructions on that just ask.)
You will get the 3D working, then plug in your 2nd monitor, let the PC recognize it and that will be your secondary monitor.

Thank you for the comments. I'll give it a try and let you know how it goes. Thanks
fletcher6490 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-01-2012, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fletcher6490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, so here's the problem I'm having. When I try to change the resolution for my TV to HD 3D I just get a blank white screen. Another problem is when I go through the stereoscopic 3D wizard I get that same white screen. It seems there is something with the Oppo that is not letting me use my TV as a 3D display and I'm not sure why? Would anybody be familiar with a setting I have to change in the Oppo or TV to allow this? I get full 3D while actually watching a 3D blueray so something is weird?
fletcher6490 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-01-2012, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fletcher6490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, so now I have enabled the stereoscopic 3D on my computer but when I play a 3D iso with PowerDVD12 it still doesn't show in 3D. My TV goes to 3D mode and the glasses turn on, I also enable 3D with powerDVD but still nothing. I really don't get it.
fletcher6490 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-02-2012, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrickMcKaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hmmmmm. At this point, people can probably step you through a process to find the problem, but not know what it is until it is found. Next thing to do is to connect your 3D display directly to your video card, without the Oppo or anything else in between. See if you get good 3D directly from your computer that way, and if so, start inserting your components back in one at a time. You will notice that the NVidia driver will identify your display by name, and once you re-insert the Oppo, the display name in the driver will change to that.
If 3D works when the display is connected directly but not with the Oppo in the chain, then we get to start focusing on settings on the Oppo.
TrickMcKaha is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off