Onkyo TX NR5007 and 3D HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-02-2012, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
DBDALY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I have a Onkyo TX NR5007 and am adding an Epson 3d projector. My question is Can I run the 3d through my AVR? I have read other post with different Models and some are having success. I'd like to run just the HDMI only from receiver to the projector. As I understand it, it should handle it but I keep reading that The HDMI needs to be 1.4 and it has a 1.3. Does the video just pass through? My Onkyo is really running awesome and I would hate to have to get another AVR. I'd prefer not too run a seperat optical cable for sound and one for Video directly to the projector. I also have DirecTV and they are now broadcasting in 3d. Has anyone tried this?
DBDALY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-03-2012, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I believe you meant to say your Onkyo was a 507 and you hit 0 twice? In any event, I have a 607 and unfortunately it will not pass 3D through unless it is a SBS signal. I can set my 210 Panny to SBS 3D and it will pass that through but I found it a PITA to use it that way. I ended up running the 3D video (frame packed) directly to my Epson 3010 pj and the audio to the receiver via optical. For ME it sounds just as good as the lossless but of course I wish I could just run the HDMI. Can't. I'm not going to upgrade my A/V just for this. I'm sure your 507 (?) will be the same.

Ed
old corps is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-03-2012, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 64
If you do have a 5007, you can turn off the Reon processor in it and then it will pass a 3D signal. Understand that the Reon must be OFF, not set to "through", because the processor is still active in through. Look in the first post of the Onkyo 1007/3007/5007 tips and trick thread for how to do this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-04-2012, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
DBDALY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip. Will this effect performance at all? I'd really like it connected straight with the receiver and HDMI. Easier and cleaner. But I don't want to effect performance. I just got the Epson in and am waiting for my screen to arrive. I'll hopefully know this weekend!
DBDALY is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-04-2012, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
DBDALY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback, but it is a NR 5007.

Thanks for your reply
DBDALY is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-04-2012, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBDALY View Post

Thanks for the feedback, but it is a NR 5007.
Thanks for your reply

Whoops, sorry for my ignorance. Didn't know there was a 5007!

Ed
old corps is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-05-2012, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBDALY View Post

Thanks for the tip. Will this effect performance at all? I'd really like it connected straight with the receiver and HDMI. Easier and cleaner. But I don't want to effect performance. I just got the Epson in and am waiting for my screen to arrive. I'll hopefully know this weekend!

This will allow the 5007 to pass the 3D video. But extracting the audio from the 3D signal will probably be a no-go. Audio is in a different part of the signal on 3D BD, and non-1.4/3D receivers probably aren't able to extract it. You may need to let the player extract the audio and send it to the receiver via optical/coax.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-22-2013, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
AntonP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got oppo 93 and onkyo 5007.
have the same problem with 3D.
what (step by step) should i do to pass 3D video through receiver?
AntonP is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-23-2013, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonP View Post

I've got oppo 93 and onkyo 5007.
have the same problem with 3D.
what (step by step) should i do to pass 3D video through receiver?

See the first post in the Onkyo 3007/5007 owner's thread...

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-02-2014, 12:52 AM
Newbie
 
AntonP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read first post in this topic:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1192172/the-onkyo-tx-nr3007-tx-nr5007-common-questions-issues-hints-answers-thread
Nothing about 3D.
I have setup:
Oppo 103d hdmi1 -> Panasonic projector (2D)
Oppo 103d hdmi2 -> Onkyo nr5007 -> Sony 3D TV
I turned off video processing in Onkyo, but nothing changed.
3D bd isos still work in 2d mode only...
AntonP is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-02-2014, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonP View Post

I have read first post in this topic:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1192172/the-onkyo-tx-nr3007-tx-nr5007-common-questions-issues-hints-answers-thread
Nothing about 3D.
I have setup:
Oppo 103d hdmi1 -> Panasonic projector (2D)
Oppo 103d hdmi2 -> Onkyo nr5007 -> Sony 3D TV
I turned off video processing in Onkyo, but nothing changed.
3D bd isos still work in 2d mode only...

There won't be anything about 3D, since these receivers are Onkyo's last models from the era prior.

Try disconnecting the HDMI cable to the projector before turning on the receiver and TV. The dual outputs on the OPPO may be working the way many switches do: if they see an HDMI 1.4 display and an HDMI 1.3 display at the same time, they will report only the EDID of the 1.3 display to any connected source. This is to keep the 1.3 display from being sent a signal that it cannot handle and which might damage it.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off