3D blu-ray + hdmi switching on an Onkyo 806 (getting mixed info) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 12-27-2012, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm new to 3D content ( just picked up a panny GT50 ), and just trying to read up on the subject, but I'm getting mixed messages on whether my receiver (Onkyo 806) is a problem or not. Onkyo reps have said in various forums that the 806 cannot support 3d because "It's an hdmi 1.3 device", but a friend of mine has that receiver and says it works fine for him. If what I've read about hdmi cables is true (it's not about version numbers, it's about standard vs high speed), then Onkyo's reasoning doesn't totally make sense to me (since you can have a high speed 1.3 cable).

Does anyone have some more detailed info on this? Is my friend possibly getting a sub-par signal, or is there a difference in 3D types (i've seen the terms 'full frame' and 'sbs') where one is supported and the other not? Just trying to separate the truth from the marketing bs here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 12-28-2012, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 13
There are two problems with passing Frame Packed 3D (the type output by 3D Blu-Ray players) through your receiver... one is related to HDMI 1.3 vs. 1.4, and the other is not... neither is related to bandwidth (as can be the case with HDMI cables).

1.) The audio signal on a Frame Packed 3D output is in a different place than a standard 2D output... HDMI 1.3 receivers don't know where to look for the audio signal.