Help my Sony 3d DVD does not work with my Epson 3020 and switcher: - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-11-2013, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OK Here is my problem: Two viewers and for now two sources.

That is a Big screen TV and an Epson 3020 Projector ceiling mounted as the viewers.

Only the Epson is 3D.

The sources (for now) are a Cox Cable box and a new Sony BR-Rom 3D player.

To get the signal from the Cox box and Sony DR-Rom player I am using two 25 foot 1.4 cables, I plan on hooking in my computer at the middle, at the 25 foot point but for now am just bypassing that.

OK what works:

IF I hook the HDMI directly from the Sony to the Epson, I can watch 3D movies.

IF I hook the cable box and Sony DVD to a 3 to 1 HDMI switch I can watch 3D movies from both my cable box and the Sony.

NOTE this leaves the Big screen out of the loop, it cannot see any programing. (Darn HDMI shuts off the cable’s box’s component output when it is plugged in…)

So I have tried two different 2 out puts with 4 inputs Matrix Splitter/Switches and with these everything works BUT NO 3D.

I have tried a inline amp..at every connection and no go.

When I try to watch 3D I get a message saying there is no 3D TV and or no 3D player…

I called Sony and they said buy a Receiver with 3D support to fix the problem…

HELP

There has to be another way.

I have been reading the many threads but so far did not find one that helped.

racprops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-12-2013, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Unfortunately, having a non-3D display and a 3D display on the same switch is the problem. When the switch sees the non-3D display come up on its network, it automatically passes that EDID to all sources to keep that display from being sent content it can't handle. There are some switches that will capture and always send the more capable display's EDID, but they are $$. Short of getting one of those, all you can do is turn off the non-3D display and the switch before firing up the system to watch 3D content. Turn on the 3D display then the switch then the source.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-12-2013, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
well I have received the same answer twice, next time I can I will retest your suggestion.

Thanks for your help.

Rich

racprops is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-16-2013, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
racprops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well that did not work either.

Rich

racprops is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Tags
Sony 3d Bluray Dvd Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off