3d Projector not showing 3d!!! (split screen) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-30-2013, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brady17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello every one
Love the Forum

after numerous hours wasted and money (LOL) i am at a loss and i hope some one can help me

i brought recently a NEC NP201 DLP 3d Ready

i have a Phillips BDP 2980

and a HD video Converter

ok so from the blue ray player is a HDMI lead that goes into my converter and turns the digital out put to VGA,then going into my projectors is the VGA from the converter box ... the 3d option is on on the Projector, it did say out of range but i change the 3d player to 720 and the picture came back

BUUUUT now the 3d film is just coming out as a split screen!!

i have no idea

Thanks in advance and for you time looking

James
brady17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-30-2013, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I believe your problem is the conversion from digital HD to analog VGA. I'm pretty sure that the framepacked format doesn't work over analog. There are units such as the 3DFury that will output a 3D signal if the display can accept the resolution and scanrate it's sending. These units take the framepacked 3D signal and put out a frame-sequential signal that will work with nearly any display.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 04:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brady17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds great! We're can I pick on of these up or what's the price range? Thanks a lot smile.gif
brady17 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Have you tried taking the converter out of the mix and running the player directly into the projector? I can't find anything on that projector on a google search (I even looked at Projector Central and they have nothing for that model) so I can't tell what the inputs are on it, but it seems to me that you DON'T want to downconvert from HDMI to VGA for 3D.

IF you can only input VGA, try checking out the HDFury. It's pricey, but may work for you.

And, you DO have an emitter and glasses? Or is does that projector use DLP Link? Again, can't tell since I can't find anything on it.

Good luck.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlogan6797 View Post

Have you tried taking the converter out of the mix and running the player directly into the projector? I can't find anything on that projector on a google search (I even looked at Projector Central and they have nothing for that model) so I can't tell what the inputs are on it, but it seems to me that you DON'T want to downconvert from HDMI to VGA for 3D.

IF you can only input VGA, try checking out the HDFury. It's pricey, but may work for you.

And, you DO have an emitter and glasses? Or is does that projector use DLP Link? Again, can't tell since I can't find anything on it.

Good luck.

+1 on everything above. I couldn't find anything on your projector either. You'll need to google for the Fury. Digital copyright laws-and the vigorous use of said laws in lawsuits by the MPAA and other organizations-have made sales of these units within the US and Canada vanish.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brady17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys yeah the projector is 3d Dlp ready but only has a VGA input and s video
Here's the spec of my projector
http://www.necdisplay.com/p/multimedia-projectors/np-v260

Sorry I put the projector down wrong

So I have this projector and a 3d blue ray player, the blue ray player is hdmi and there is not hdmi input in my projector, so is there something that converts the signal but still carries 3d? Or any thing I can do to get his to play 3d

Thanks again for all ur time and help smile.gif
brady17 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
3D ready means it needs to be hooked up to a PC to show 3D or a converter. You need to add this into the mix:
http://www.amazon.com/View-Sonic-Video-Processor-VP3D1/dp/B004ULPF50/
or this:
http://www.amazon.com/Optoma-3D-XL-Converter-Video-Gaming/dp/B0047ZH3CW/

Those will convert your other sources to the format needed by your projector.
I'd call the manufacturer to make sure before buying any other equipment.
nickels55 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brady17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I have a mac book pro... That will play on the projector But will that send a 3d signal?
brady17 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-31-2013, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I believe you need to find a 3D stereoscopic player for the Macintosh for that to work.
nickels55 is offline  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off