Clip on 3d glasses that work with Optoma emitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-11-2013, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sarahsliefie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know a glasses that will work with this? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=891494&Q=&is=REG&A=details

Wearing 2 pairs is not a good as I would like, and I have seen other glasses that clip onto your own glasses.

Any thoughts?
sarahsliefie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-11-2013, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Sorry, but with that emitter, as I pointed out in your other thread, you are limited to the glasses produced by Bit Cauldron, and as far as I know, none of them are clip-ons. I suggest you contact Bit Cauldron directly to discuss your options.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-11-2013, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
There is no such thing as clip-on active 3D glasses that I am aware of at this moment in time. Your best bet is to buy an extra cheapo pair of your prescription lenses and attach them to inside of the 3D glasses somehow.

Here is a company that makes prescription inserts for active glasses. I'm sure if you contact them they can makes ones that fit the glasses that you buy. It is going to cost you.
http://www.rx3doptics.com/products
nickels55 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-12-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickels55 View Post

There is no such thing as clip-on active 3D glasses that I am aware of at this moment in time. Your best bet is to buy an extra cheapo pair of your prescription lenses and attach them to inside of the 3D glasses somehow.

Here is a company that makes prescription inserts for active glasses. I'm sure if you contact them they can makes ones that fit the glasses that you buy. It is going to cost you.
http://www.rx3doptics.com/products

I thought so, too. However, "Big River" has a 3rd party clip-on set for DLPLink listed on their website. But it's the only such active glasses I could find. Personally, I think clip-on active glasses would become uncomfortable very quickly due to their extra weight sitting right on the bridge of one's nose.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-12-2013, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
There you go, I never saw these before:
http://www.amazon.com/3DTV-Corp-Dlp-link-Projectors-Mitsubishi/dp/B00AVGFPHG/

For $50 they are worth a shot. I can vouch for 3DTV corp - I purchased glasses from them in the past and their support was fantastic.
nickels55 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-12-2013, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Unfortunately, the OP is using an Optoma projector that came with an RF emitter and glasses kit. I don't know if DLPLink glasses would work with his projector.

Edit: After checking the Optoma website, it looks as though all their current HT projectors are DLP, but not all are 3D-ready. It'll depend on the model he has. The HD-33 has 3D sync selections for either DLPLink or VESA (the RF emitter).

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-13-2013, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickels55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warrington, PA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I am pretty sure all Optoma 3D projectors support DLP Link glasses. The OP didn't tell us the model of his projector so we can't be sure.

Optoma HD33 - supports DLP Link glasses
Optoma HD66 - supports DLP Link glasses
Optoma Gaming projectors support DLP Link

My TV supports DLP Link and also has a VESA port for other types of glasses.
nickels55 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-13-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickels55 View Post

I am pretty sure all Optoma 3D projectors support DLP Link glasses. The OP didn't tell us the model of his projector so we can't be sure.

Optoma HD33 - supports DLP Link glasses
Optoma HD66 - supports DLP Link glasses
Optoma Gaming projectors support DLP Link

My TV supports DLP Link and also has a VESA port for other types of glasses.

I'm sure you're right. The HD33 was the first 3D-ready projector in their lineup, and the only one I looked at. I should've said, "For example, the HD33 has..." smile.gif

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off