Active 3D glasses - 4 models compared - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
  • 10 Post By Stecchino
  • 1 Post By Stecchino
  • 2 Post By Stecchino
  • 2 Post By gene4ht

post #1 of 15 Old 12-19-2016, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Active 3D glasses - 4 models compared

I am writing this as a help to anyone who is new to 3D movie watching or for others who just need to get some more glasses and wanted some comparisons.

The notion of finding the “best” active 3D glasses might be a pointless one. While I am not an expert on the technology itself, I am a huge and growing fan of 3D cinema () long may it live (and if you are a 3D cinema fan too, then keep seeing 3D movies and keep buying 3D Blu-rays). So, I do understand that the active 3D glasses tech is sophisticated enough that, at least in my opinion, you’ll like a certain style or design of 3D spectacles or you won’t. We are fortunate that these days, glasses that used to cost north of $125 per unit several years ago when 3D TVs were newer, can be had for much less.

I have four different models of 3D glasses for our home theater and just wanted to share my thoughts on each as I was able to compare.

• The models are:

• Epson ELPGS03

• Samsung SSG-5150GB

• 3ACTIVE by Dimensional Optics

• ValueView by Dimensional Optics

What they have in common:

Light passthrough.

None of these models appeared any darker to my eyes than another.

Picture quality.