Sony CT-100 Info, Reviews, Etc. - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 3186 Old 06-06-2008, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's good. If this thing sells well, you'll see more competition and better products.
Doom878 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 3186 Old 06-06-2008, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Kenage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What else do they put in the class of the CT-100?
Kenage is offline  
post #33 of 3186 Old 06-06-2008, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doom878 is offline  
post #34 of 3186 Old 06-06-2008, 10:17 PM
Member
 
Oktoberfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the yellow BM store plans to carry this item? I have some gift cards to burn and have been waiting patiently. Any news?
Oktoberfest is offline  
post #35 of 3186 Old 06-07-2008, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
Matt1276's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah the sweet sound of success! I finally have my CT-100 working and it sounds fantastic. Although I am kind of kicking myself for missing the problem, it wasn't until my last post that I realized what was wrong.

For future reference in case anyone else has a similar problem. I had been without a Home Theater system for about 3 months while I was shopping around so I had to run stereo cables from my DVD player to the TV. When I checked the audio settings for the DVD player I found that they were set to PCM, which explains why the subwoofer was only showing PCM and PLII on the display.

After I changed the settings on the DVD player to Bitstream the subwoofer started showing D and PLII when I turned it on. When I'm watching trailers on a DVD the subwoofer shows as 2.0ch with a D, but when the movie starts it now shows as 5.1ch and a D.

The subwoofer has the same deep bass and room shaking qualities that the subwoofer with the DAV-X1 had (although the CT-100's may be more powerful). You can also tell that there is a definite sound quality difference between 2.1 and 3.1. Overall I would highly recommend the CT-100 to anyone who is looking for a compact system on a budget or just looking for less wires.
Matt1276 is offline  
post #36 of 3186 Old 06-07-2008, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
YOTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I just read the cnet review and couldn't agree more. I really expected them to give it a bad to mediocre review because they usually do on the sound bars than don't cost $800 or more . After a week of use I am still very happy with mine. My wife and I watched Cloverfield last night and we both agreed it sounded amazing. My wife especially likes it because it is simple, compact, and sounds good. The subwoofer really does go down lower than I thought it would. A few times in Cloverfield I was waiting to hear it rattle or bottom out but it held up and hit the lows every time. I will stand by my original statement that at $300 this system is a steal!
YOTR is offline  
post #37 of 3186 Old 06-07-2008, 09:38 AM
Member
 
TS1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have to echo the sentiments above. This unit is awesome! I bought it to replace an old HTIB system that wasn't able to handle lossless audio from my PS3. I also have an issue running rear speaker wires to get true surround sound, wanted less wires and it is only costing me $220 shipped from SonyStyle with the free shipping offer and the $100 off as a new card holder.

Anyway, setup was a breeze, basically plug and play. I was up and running in 20 minutes or so. Sound is WAY better than my old 5.1 HTIB system, which was really running 2.0 as it only had 5.1 analog inputs and no HDMI/TOSLINK etc.

It definitely isn't true "surround" sound. But, I did watch the open sequence of Casino Royale and I definitely get directional sound, which I did not before. Additionally, the sound it produces is much deeper, clearer and crisper than what I was getting before. I am very happy with this purchase. could be the best $200 I ever spent. With the best $1500 I ever spent being on my Sony RPTV and the best $500 I ever spent on my 80 gig PS3 that I bought over the Holidays.

If you have a smaller room, are not wanting or able to run speaker wires all over the place and want a good clear, crisp deep sounding unit, then this is an excellent choice!

Also, as noted elsewhere, I definitely have to get the volume up to 30 to feel fulfilled by the sound, but once there I am very satisified and I also feel that "Movie" mode is the best sound mode on the unit no matter what I happen to be watching.

I haven't played with it much and have all the factory defaults currently on, except the switch to "movie" sound mode.

If anyone has any recommended changes to the defaults, I'd be glad to hear them!
TS1970 is offline  
post #38 of 3186 Old 06-07-2008, 03:00 PM
Member
 
viziodood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well today i bit the bullet and finally picked up my CT-100 , i went to my local sears and bam there it was just waiting for me. Took me about 30mins. to setup and tweak the settings to my liking, i have the center channel at +1 and the sub at +2. First movie i watched was the tranformers, all i can say is wow crisp clear sound and the sub sounds deep not boomy like i feared. TV programs sounds very good also, needless to say this unit is a terrific value as long as you know it's limitations. Bottom line i'm just crazy about my CT-100, btw the unit itself looks very clean and compact.
viziodood is offline  
post #39 of 3186 Old 06-08-2008, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Joel802's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have to agree. I have had this system for 2 months now and I love it. It is a nasty little beast and handles anything I throw at it. With my HD A30 and PS3 I just set them to PCM and I get the wonderful benefits of high definition audio. I never thought I would have this capability so early on and so affordable no less. Sony nailed it on this one. They even sell a 7.1 receiver that accepts lpcm audio for $299. Just can't go wrong with it.

Cheers
Joel802 is offline  
post #40 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 06:33 AM
Newbie
 
zeller70301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
smeg36 - I have read thorough every post but I'm still not sure about how to set up the PS3 for the best sound going to the CT100. Do I have to check every box but the Dolby Digital & DTS? Also do you have to choose a specific audio track from the Blu-ray disc itself before playing the movie?
zeller70301 is offline  
post #41 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just set it up and selected Linear PCM in the audio setup menu of the PS3. Then when you put in the Blu Ray disc, you should go to the audio menu and select uncompressed or whatever lossless audio option is available.
Doom878 is offline  
post #42 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
smeg36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeller70301 View Post

smeg36 - I have read thorough every post but I'm still not sure about how to set up the PS3 for the best sound going to the CT100. Do I have to check every box but the Dolby Digital & DTS? Also do you have to choose a specific audio track from the Blu-ray disc itself before playing the movie?

I'm not even sure I have all the audio output settings checked that I should. I took the two that were always checked, and can't be unchecked, and then checked all the other Linear PCM options with the same kHz and checked them. In the end, I have the following options checked:

Linear PCM 2 Ch. 44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 2 Ch. 48 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1 Ch. 44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1 Ch. 48 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1 Ch. 44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1 Ch. 48 kHz

Then when I watch a movie I always choose the higher quality output option available, be it regular DD 5.1, DTS-HD, or Dolby TrueHD. I watched Spiderman 3 (the free one with the PS3) finally yesterday, and noticed it had both Dolby TrueHD, and uncompressed PCM audio output options. I was confused which I should choose. In the end I went with uncompressed PCM. Anyone know which is a better quality audio, uncompressed PCM or TrueHD?

smeg36 is offline  
post #43 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 07:34 AM
Member
 
filipp2442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By any chance has anyone owned the Panasonic SC-PT760 and this one? Just asking because the Panasonic has wireless rear speakers that work for my setup and says its 5.1 so I am assuming that it would produce better sound than this if I went with the panasonic right?
filipp2442 is offline  
post #44 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipp2442 View Post

By any chance has anyone owned the Panasonic SC-PT760 and this one? Just asking because the Panasonic has wireless rear speakers that work for my setup and says its 5.1 so I am assuming that it would produce better sound than this if I went with the panasonic right?

If you can live with the interference and hiss on the wireless speakers. I haven't heard this particular system but I have never heard a wireless speaker setup that I would give a nickel for.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #45 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
neboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the CT100. I hooked up my dvd/cd player to the CT100 with HDMI cable I bought at Fry's for $30. What happens if I select 5.1 audio when I play a dvd movie or music cd? Does CT100 support 5.1? I tried playing a dvd with 5.1 and the sound/music was very soft whereas when I select stereo it sounded pretty good. Thanks for any info as I am a newbie in audio eq.
neboat is offline  
post #46 of 3186 Old 06-09-2008, 07:44 PM
Member
 
jokerfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
try switching it to movie mode....

Just hit the sound field button on the remote until you see movie.

It sounded that way to me in standard. Everything was low.

and yes, the CT100 does support 5.1
jokerfish is offline  
post #47 of 3186 Old 06-10-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Does this system come with a hdmi cable to hook up to your tv? I just need to know if I need to buy another hdmi cable from monoprice or not.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #48 of 3186 Old 06-10-2008, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
dallasjetfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, it does not come with an HDMI cable!
dallasjetfan is offline  
post #49 of 3186 Old 06-11-2008, 02:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Alright, thanks... cheapos
StinDaWg is offline  
post #50 of 3186 Old 06-11-2008, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have this connected to a Wii? I connected it yesterday but no PLII or anything lights up. I was playing Resident Evil 4 which does support PLII. I did hear bass out of the woofer but maybe since it's analog, the indicator doesn't light up?
Doom878 is offline  
post #51 of 3186 Old 06-12-2008, 06:09 PM
Member
 
stephenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie question for everyone:

On the CT-100, if I have a Toshiba A3, PS3, and Motorola cable box, and I run them all into the subwoofer, do I just run another HDMI cable from the sub to the TV so the HDMI video is sent to the TV? I notice there is an HDMI 'output', so does that require a different cable than the HDMI cable I use to connect the PS3 to my Aquos?

Sorry, it sounds stupid, but is that how you would go about doing this?

In addition, if my cable box uses component cables, can I still run audio from that box to the sub, and just send the video cable to the tv like normal, or how would I use component cables with this system? (if that is even possible).
stephenx is offline  
post #52 of 3186 Old 06-12-2008, 06:48 PM
Member
 
jokerfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No different cable required, you would need an extra HDMI cable running from the Woofer into your TV. The Woofer acts as an HDMI switcher, switching between your different electronics, but sends on signal into the one HDMI input you place it into in your TV.

check if your cable box has either a Coax jack. If it doesnt, the only way to get sound would be to run the sound from the component into the back of the woofer (red and white inputs)
jokerfish is offline  
post #53 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone watched anything yet where they can tell the difference between Linear PCM and DD5.1? BD, cable, it doesn't matter. I just got a PS3 and haven't had more than 2 mins with a BD movie.
Doom878 is offline  
post #54 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 07:42 AM
Member
 
stephenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokerfish View Post

No different cable required, you would need an extra HDMI cable running from the Woofer into your TV. The Woofer acts as an HDMI switcher, switching between your different electronics, but sends on signal into the one HDMI input you place it into in your TV.

check if your cable box has either a Coax jack. If it doesnt, the only way to get sound would be to run the sound from the component into the back of the woofer (red and white inputs)

Thanks! That helps a lot. I will have to check, though surround from my cable isn't my top priority, as long as the HD and BD discs deliver HD sound, I'll be good.

I know this isn't 'true' surround, but is it a noticeable difference from only TV speakers? I want an impressive movie-watching experience even if it isn't True surround.
stephenx is offline  
post #55 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
wushuta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenx View Post

Thanks! That helps a lot. I will have to check, though surround from my cable isn't my top priority, as long as the HD and BD discs deliver HD sound, I'll be good.

I know this isn't 'true' surround, but is it a noticeable difference from only TV speakers? I want an impressive movie-watching experience even if it isn't True surround.

The CT100 is much better than standard TV speakers. I finally got mine working with my 360 Elite (Turns out, the elite requires that I plug both the HDMI and Optical audio in. Not sure why, but it is the only way I could get the HDMI to work for the Elite. Sound still comes from the HDMI, according to the display.). I popped in my good ol' Matrix Reloaded DVD, sounded pretty good. I watched the Mansion fight scene and the freeway car chase, I was impressed. I am no audiophile though, but I think this CT100 is great. The really nice thing is that the sound bar pushes sound in all directions. I can go 15 feet to the fight into my kitchen and still hear the movie pretty well.

One more great thing about this unit, it is a godsend for HDMI equipped laptops. I use my XPS 1530 to watch movies from Netflix and other stuff. Even though it is just stereo, the sound is still much better than TV speakers.

I tried testing games out, but GTA IV just has so much going on at any given time that it is really hard to tell sometimes. I ended up testing the CT100 by dropping grenades from a car, and driving forward or backward, left/right, to hear which side the explosion came from. It did decent, not as well as a dedicated 5.1, but the "surround" is there.

I don't have many HD-DVD's (I was always content with regular DVD's upconverted by the HDDVD player). I'll probably test out King Kong that came with the player and see how it sounds.
wushuta is offline  
post #56 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 10:57 AM
Member
 
jokerfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sound is really much better than TV speakers. I was playing Metal Gear Solid 4 and th cutscenes sounded amazing.
jokerfish is offline  
post #57 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 03:03 PM
Member
 
birdsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got mine today and just popped in Rambo blu ray. WOW love this for 200 bucks
birdsg is offline  
post #58 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 07:21 PM
Member
 
scupking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered the CT-100 to replace my 7 year old sony 5.1 system. It should be hear by next friday.
scupking is offline  
post #59 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 09:44 PM
Newbie
 
kxning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1276 View Post

For future reference in case anyone else has a similar problem. I had been without a Home Theater system for about 3 months while I was shopping around so I had to run stereo cables from my DVD player to the TV. When I checked the audio settings for the DVD player I found that they were set to PCM, which explains why the subwoofer was only showing PCM and PLII on the display.

After I changed the settings on the DVD player to Bitstream the subwoofer started showing D and PLII when I turned it on. When I'm watching trailers on a DVD the subwoofer shows as 2.0ch with a D, but when the movie starts it now shows as 5.1ch and a D.

I have the exact same problem and would love it if some one can help me out. Here's my scenario:

1. I have my PS3 hooked up to the CT-100 via HDMI into the BD input.
2. On my PS3 I have set Audio output on for HDMI out to "Linear PCM"
3. When I play a normal DVD movie which has Dolby 5.1, the CT-100 only shows 2.0ch

*Edit* 4. I also see PL II, PCM, HDMI on the subwoofer

If anyone has any advice I would love to hear it. Thanks in advance.
kxning is offline  
post #60 of 3186 Old 06-13-2008, 11:13 PM
Member
 
contaygious's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thing sounds cool...since I have issues with rear speakers and may be just what I need in the meantime. How does it compare to solid 2.1 systems?
contaygious is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Sony Htct100 Sound Bar With Subwoofer Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off