Vizio VSB200 Soundbar - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1019 Old 07-22-2011, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
VSB-200 is compatible with any current Panasonic plasma via either optical or analog if you still have them. The Panasonic puts out PCM that is required by the Vizio soundbar. If you problem is with Blu-Ray, check you blu-ray settings to make sure they are set up for PCM, not bit-stream (default).

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1019 Old 07-22-2011, 05:46 PM
Member
 
iamvj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my Toslink cable and when I connect my TV to the optical of the sound bar...I get a flickering sound.
Am I doing some thing wrong ?

My TV : Sony Bravia 46W5100 TV
Thanks in advance..
iamvj is offline  
post #633 of 1019 Old 07-22-2011, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Did you select PCM in tv sound settings
TatorTot is offline  
post #634 of 1019 Old 07-22-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
iamvj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post

Did you select PCM in tv sound settings

My TV does not have anything to specify PCM or DD5.1

IT just has TV Speakers or Audio system

Also fixed or variable sound.

I even tried PS3... same results...Please HELP !
iamvj is offline  
post #635 of 1019 Old 07-23-2011, 11:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Your connecting the optical cable from the tv to the soundbar ?

Try another cable first


My tv doesn't have any PCM settings either just tv speakers on/off


Try the optical cable going from ps3 to soundbar see if the cable works
TatorTot is offline  
post #636 of 1019 Old 07-24-2011, 05:12 PM
Member
 
iamvj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post
Your connecting the optical cable from the tv to the soundbar ?

Try another cable first
>>> OK Tried that..still get that fluttering sound


My tv doesn't have any PCM settings either just tv speakers on/off
Try the optical cable going from ps3 to soundbar see if the cable works
>>>PS3 works with DTS 5.1 but not DD 5.1

So I guess TV does not do Optical over HDMI ?

Does it really make audible difference between the optical over RCA ?
iamvj is offline  
post #637 of 1019 Old 07-25-2011, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
RCA will give you analog stereo. Digital Optical would sound somewhat better, but most people would be hard pressed to tell the difference.

Analog removes your problem of PCM vs. Bitstream, etc.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #638 of 1019 Old 07-25-2011, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by drfreeman60 View Post

RCA will give you analog stereo. Digital Optical would sound somewhat better, but most people would be hard pressed to tell the difference.

Analog removes your problem of PCM vs. Bitstream, etc.

How about coaxial over optical is the sound quality the same ?
TatorTot is offline  
post #639 of 1019 Old 07-25-2011, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post

How about coaxial over optical is the sound quality the same ?

Since digital is all ones and zeros, the sound should be identical.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #640 of 1019 Old 07-25-2011, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So going from coax to optical converter

Would be the same as a straight optical connection ?
TatorTot is offline  
post #641 of 1019 Old 07-25-2011, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
douginfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the VSB200 and when I got it home plugged it in no power, call Vizio and they said it happens sometimes so ok I took it back to BJs and got another one got it home same problem no power (green light is coming on the transformer so its getting power) is anyone else having this kind of problem
douginfla is offline  
post #642 of 1019 Old 07-25-2011, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Did you try changing inputs ?

Or try another optical cable
TatorTot is offline  
post #643 of 1019 Old 07-26-2011, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
littlelibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got mine today from Tiger Direct via ebay... power brick has green light, but the unit will not power on. I called Vizio and they are giving me some grief about buying from ebay. Anyone have any answers on this problem?
littlelibo is offline  
post #644 of 1019 Old 07-26-2011, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
iamjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
any thoughts on using this for an outdoor theater setup. i only plan on setting up the pj and screen out there 3 or 4 times a year. will have the screen, pj, dvd player, receiver and speaker. this seems like a great option with less cables to deal with and a decent price at $98...though a referb might be a better and cheaper option based on my usage. we will be seated roughly 16-20 feet away from the screen/sound bar across our pool. i do not care about surround like sound just enough sound with an easy set up.

thanks!
iamjason is offline  
post #645 of 1019 Old 07-28-2011, 11:47 AM
Member
 
spiderjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just went out at lunch and picked up a VSB200 from Walmart. Can't wait to get it home and try it out. Last thing I picked up from hearing great reviews on this site was a Samsung LN52A750 LCD TV. I am extremely happy with that purchase, and hearing the comments about this VSB200, I think I'm going to be completely happy with my whole set up now
spiderjunior is offline  
post #646 of 1019 Old 07-28-2011, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderjunior View Post

Just went out at lunch and picked up a VSB200 from Walmart. Can't wait to get it home and try it out. Last thing I picked up from hearing great reviews on this site was a Samsung LN52A750 LCD TV. I am extremely happy with that purchase, and hearing the comments about this VSB200, I think I'm going to be completely happy with my whole set up now

Did you get an optical cable too
TatorTot is offline  
post #647 of 1019 Old 07-29-2011, 05:12 AM
Member
 
spiderjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post

Did you get an optical cable too

I already had one from awhile ago. Man, set up was super easy. I left all my equipment hooked up via HDMI to the TV and all I did was plug in the power cord, plug the optical from the sound bar to the TV and thats it. Not sure about the PCM settings and all that...........mine worked fine and I didn't have to change any settings on anything. Put in the blu ray "The Dark Knight" and sat with my jaw dropped. I've never owned a surround sound or anything.......this thing sounds amazing. I didn't really get a "surround" effect which I wasn't expecting but the sounds definitely filled the entire room. After that my kids wanted to play "Just Dance" for the Wii. The music sounded great. I am 100% happy and got the bar at Walmart for $98. Just can't beat that.

Only thing I need to research now is if there is a way to control the volume of the bar with my Fios TV remote. If not, I might have to go get a universal

*edit* I went out at lunch and picked up a Harmony 300 remote after a few people in this thread recommended them. I should be good to go. I love this site, keep up the good work with the reviews and all
spiderjunior is offline  
post #648 of 1019 Old 07-29-2011, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Spider - glad you like the Vizio. A really amazing device for the money. The Harmony really can change the way you think about doing TV and Video.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #649 of 1019 Old 07-30-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
techtinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfpdjp View Post

Show me someone who thinks this piece of crap sounds good and I'll show you someone who (A) works for the manufacturer and just wants to take your money or (B) has never, ever heard a well set up home theater package. I can send my wife to a flea market with $200.00 and she's guaranteed to find more value in the crap she'll find there than you'll get from that piece of junk. Save your money man. Does it really make sense to buy it? Would you advise a friend to buy the same thing? Do you really think you'll be happy with the decision a year from now?

Go find a homeless person and give them $200.00 if you can't stand having the money in your wallet. That person will be far happier for your generosity than Wal Mart will ever be and a year from now you'll feel better and you won't have that piece of junk sitting under your TV.

And I have yet to hear a "Home Theater System" that has the sound quality of a good analog audio component system. In comparison, they're all digitized junk.

BUT... if I just want to improve the sound quality from my television, am not concerned about reproducing the "theater experience," and don't want to single-handedly support the U.S. economy, I could do a lot worse than this Vizio unit. Don't you think?
techtinker is offline  
post #650 of 1019 Old 07-30-2011, 03:53 PM
Member
 
tc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I noticed when I took the entire grill off it greatly improved the remote control of it. I could aim the remote almost any direction with the grill off and control the soundbar.

Would cutting a little of the grill void the warranty on the soundbar itself?
tc17 is offline  
post #651 of 1019 Old 07-30-2011, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc17 View Post

I noticed when I took the entire grill off it greatly improved the remote control of it. I could aim the remote almost any direction with the grill off and control the soundbar.

Would cutting a little of the grill void the warranty on the soundbar itself?

Read this

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpos...&postcount=275
TatorTot is offline  
post #652 of 1019 Old 07-30-2011, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the sound of the soundbar better when is located over the tv or right in front of it ?

Im buying this stand http://amzn.com/B00149XUZS

And im planning on putting the soundbar on the bottom shelf

Is the sound going to be worst way down there?
TatorTot is offline  
post #653 of 1019 Old 07-31-2011, 08:09 AM
Member
 
spiderjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post

Read this

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpos...&postcount=275

In addition to that, there are some people in this thread that have stated that they took off the front cover and then removed the foam padding that is covering the sensor then put the cover back on. Seems much easier to that, and there is not risk of accidentally cutting the front mesh of the screen. Hope that helps.

I have had the bar for about 3-4 days now and I am beginning to think its the best sub $100 investment you can make to improving your sound for the TV. Amazing. I still get that gitty little smile every time somebody comes over and I crank this thing up for them
spiderjunior is offline  
post #654 of 1019 Old 07-31-2011, 12:32 PM
 
Daye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would this soundbar with a subwoofer sound better then the logitech z523 ?
Daye is offline  
post #655 of 1019 Old 07-31-2011, 10:14 PM
Member
 
vinha916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have this soundbar w/ wireless sub? i am thinking getting this combo. or shud i just pick a separate sub from some where else.?
vinha916 is offline  
post #656 of 1019 Old 08-03-2011, 10:23 PM
Member
 
tc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post

Read this

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpos...&postcount=275

I did cut away some of the grill. It helps a good amount, but with the entire grill off its even better, but looks a little ugly that way, so I'll just leave it on.
tc17 is offline  
post #657 of 1019 Old 08-04-2011, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are you guys using cheap optical cables?

Does it matter
TatorTot is offline  
post #658 of 1019 Old 08-04-2011, 03:23 PM
Member
 
guammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TatorTot View Post

Are you guys using cheap optical cables?

Does it matter

I got mine from monoprice. Inexpensive and works great.
guammer is offline  
post #659 of 1019 Old 08-04-2011, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
TatorTot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by guammer View Post


I got mine from monoprice. Inexpensive and works great.

Yea does are the ones i meant lol
TatorTot is offline  
post #660 of 1019 Old 08-12-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 
bigd480's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
two questions:

Has anyone mounted this soundbar to their LCD mount? I have this one from monoprice (175lb capacity holding a 40lb TV) in the corner of my bedroom and would like to suspend the soundbar below it - just wanted to get some ideas of what other people used. I only paid $55 for the soundbar so most of the prefab brackets aren't cost-justifiable (I'm thinking angle-iron section of Home Depot + some nuts/bolts).

Is it possible to extend the power cable from the "skinny cable" side that connects to the soundbar itself? I need it longer to run it up/through the wall. Extending the 3-prong wall cable side is not an option (I already have 5 other cables running in between my top/bottom wall plates). Not sure how to identify that DC connector or where to find such an extension.
bigd480 is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off