Soundbars compared? (Sony, Yamaha, Denon, Polk) - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Which soundbar should I buy?
Yamaha YAS-71BL ($279 at Amazon) 0 0%
Sony HT-CT500 ($389 at Amazon) 0 0%
Denon DHT-FS3 ($419 at Amazon) 0 0%
Polk SurroundBar360 ($450 at Amazon) 0 0%
None of the above (I'll recommend an alternative) 0 0%
Avoid soundbars altogether 0 0%
I don't care / I don't know / you're on your own, bub 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 11-29-2009, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Howdy,

Preemptive apologies for being a newbie here, but I've been having a bear of a time trying to find comparative soundbar reviews, and was hoping I could get some informed, expert advice from you kind folks.

I already have a decent Klipsch THX 2.1 system, but want to upgrade to surround - although with my room configuration (not to mention a toddler and a cat) prohibits me from running wires all over. So alas I need a soundbar.

I don't want another analog 2.1 solution, so I've ruled out the ZVOX and Vizio systems. I want to be able to monitor full 5.1 mixes from HD cable, Blu-Ray, PS3 and such - ideally with some sort of surround emulation - or there's no point. So I need optical or HDMI, with at least Dolby Digital and DTS decoding.

One other caveat: I'm in a weird space, with the TV consigned to a corner (no way around this), in a fairly open/long room with a vaulted ceiling - open in the back to the dining room, and to one side to the master bedroom via double doors. So I can't rely on a standard four-wall reflectivity configuration with the TV centered against one wall. I need a system that works without having to bounce off equidistant walls.

So I've been reading up on the forums and various reviews online, and so far am considering these options...

- Yamaha YAS-71BL ($279 at Amazon)

- Sony HT-CT500 ($389 at Amazon)

- Denon DHT-FS3 ($419 at Amazon)