Digital Audio Out on TV but RCA in on soundbar - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2010, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Panasonic TC-P42S1 tv which only has a digital audio out. I have a Polk soundbar which only has the RCA (red / white, left / right) input. The Polk soundbar also only has one input. The Polk detects sound from any source and works great, but right now I have to run the RCA cables from the cable box to the soundbar when I want to listen to the cable box, and then manually plug it into the Blu Ray, or Wii, or anything else when I want to listen to another source.

I can run all of the sources through the Tv (Cable, Blu Ray, and Wii) but then I can't get the digital audio out from the TV connected to the RCA in on the sound bar. Help.
domnik joseph likes this.
general98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2010, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Welcome general98, another work around is getting something like a 4X1 HDMI switcher with 3.5mm stereo output jack and a 3.5mm Stereo Male to 2RCA Male cable.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That would work but the only problem is that the Wii has no HDMI output, only standard video out (red, black, yellow cables). I have one more children's game player that also has standard video out. Do you know of something like what you showed me but which has HDMI and standard inputs? Thanks for the help - getting closer.
general98 is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Well general98, this looks like the best option for your situation. A Digital Audio To Analog Audio Converter. Plus an Optical cable and RCA audio cables.
So connect all source to Tv, Tv Optical Out --> Optical cable --> Digital-Audio-Converter --> RCA cables --> Soundbar.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 03:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Ratman is online now  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It looks like the Digital Audio To Analog Audio Converter would work but in reading reviews on that products it sounds like it craps out when the source is trying to push 5.1 sound through it. So, the plot thickens. Does anyone know if I run all of the audio sources into the TV (FIOS cable box, Blu Ray player, and Wii) and then run digital audio out through the Digital Audio To Analog Audio Converter and then pick up the RCA into the sound bar, will the TV be sending 5.1 sound out through the digital audio out?

I really appreciate the feedback and help - this is extremely helpful to me.
general98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Hi general98, sorry the Panasonic Tv will not produce 5.1 if sources are connect to this unit. Digital Audio Out will produce 5.1 OTA using the internal tuner.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
JChin - thanks but can you help me out? In laymans terms, do you think I am ok to get the digital to RCA convertor discussed above becasue the TV will NOT put out 5.1? I only have stereo speakers so that is probably OK. Thanks in advance for your help.

Do you think that is my best option?
general98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
IMO I believe this will work for your setup. Have you read the reviews?
JChin is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks. Yeah, the reviews are pretty spotty but I don't know what other options I have. I wonder if I should take the tv back and start over? Or try another sound bar. The soundbars are pretty pricey once you get into ones with digital audio in.
general98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
IMHO, you have three choices:
1) exchange the TV for one that has analog audio outputs and use exiting soundbar
2) exchange the soundbar for one with a digital audio input and use existing TV
3) purchase and use an external converter or a switch to accomodate your existing TV/soundbar
Ratman is online now  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Order from Amazon (not third party) and if it doesn't work just return it.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

IMHO, you have three choices:
1) exchange the TV for one that has analog audio outputs and use exiting soundbar
2) exchange the soundbar for one with a digital audio input and use existing TV
3) purchase and use an external converter or a switch to accomodate your existing TV/soundbar

Still won't get 5.1 if using the Digital Audio Out on the Tv set to Digital In on new Soundbar. Unless the new Soundbar has multi pack connection where all sources can be connected to it.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is a link to the soundbar. Correct me if I am wrong, but I don't think it needs or would support 5.1. I think stereo is all it is ready for.
general98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Yes it does not support 5.1 only stereo.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for all of the feedbak - I went ahead and ordered the digital to RCA convertor and will let you know how it works.
general98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Yes give us an update. I believe you will be ok, good luck.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 03:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Still won't get 5.1 if using the Digital Audio Out on the Tv set to Digital In on new Soundbar.

Yes, I'm aware of that. Never said it would passthrough any DD 5.1 format. It just allows all external devices connected to the TV to passthrough audio as PCM stereo.
Ratman is online now  
Old 02-14-2010, 02:09 PM
Member
 
NetworkGuy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you do need Dolby Digital (if you use the TV tuner), you'll want Gefen model GTV-DD-2-AA (around $110), which is almost identical to the converter you ordered but accepts DD or PCM. With a DD source, it will output stereo downmixed from the surround.
NetworkGuy4 is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
general98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have installed the Digital Audio To Analog Audio Converter and so far, so good. Have everything running into the tv and then the digital out -> convertor -> soundbar. Works like advertised. Thanks for all of the help.
general98 is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Glad you got it worked out.
JChin is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 10:03 PM
Newbie
 
907picklist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you end up notbeing happy with your current set-up, another option that I have used many times with very good results is to locate the 3.5mm audio out on the tv. It will just be black (looks like a headphone jack) and run a cable that is 3.5mm on one end and splits to composit (red & white) connections. Everything that is run to the tv will come through the sound bar. Most models of soundbar that do not come with remote (ex. Boston Accoustic) will learn the volume function of the tv remote so that you can adjust the volume of the sound bar with the remote from the tv.
907picklist is offline  
Old 11-17-2012, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
domnik joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic TC-P42S1 tv which only has a digital audio out. I have a Polk soundbar which only has the RCA (red / white, left / right) input. The Polk soundbar also only has one input. The Polk detects sound from any source and works great, but right now I have to run the RCA cables from the cable box to the soundbar when I want to listen to the cable box, and then manually plug it into the Blu Ray, or Wii, or anything else when I want to listen to another source.
domnik joseph is offline  
Old 11-17-2012, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by domnik joseph View Post

I have a Panasonic TC-P42S1 tv which only has a digital audio out. I have a Polk soundbar which only has the RCA (red / white, left / right) input. The Polk soundbar also only has one input. The Polk detects sound from any source and works great, but right now I have to run the RCA cables from the cable box to the soundbar when I want to listen to the cable box, and then manually plug it into the Blu Ray, or Wii, or anything else when I want to listen to another source.

You need this converter.
Possumgirl is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off