Pioneer HTP-SB300 Soundbar - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 03-22-2010, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone had a chance to listen to one of these yet? I searched and couldn't find anything about it on here. It's a 3.1 soundbar with wireless sub and it supports Dolby TruHD and LPCM.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...300.Kuro?tab=A

Reviews
http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-c...00-Soundbar/p1
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/accessorie...9305278,00.htm
http://www.pocket-lint.com/review/46...oundbar-review

I see two places in the states selling it now online. Hopefully someone can chime in.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 03-23-2010, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It seems like the product is just hitting the US market so it's too new for anyone to have an opinion on it yet. Hopefully someone picks one up soon and posts a review as it seems to be a great option in the $350 and under soundbar market. If I find anymore info I will post it here.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 04-03-2010, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
qposner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3ftonm3 View Post

It seems like the product is just hitting the US market so it's too new for anyone to have an opinion on it yet. Hopefully someone picks one up soon and posts a review as it seems to be a great option in the $350 and under soundbar market. If I find anymore info I will post it here.

I would like some info on this SB as well. Thanks for the tip!
qposner is offline  
post #4 of 35 Old 04-04-2010, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been waiting for Pio or Panny to come out with a SB for my two plasmas. It looks like Pioneer was first so I'm going to order one today $289. It has all the things that I want. I just hope the sound is as good as the Vizio I had. I hated the remote on the vizio.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 04-04-2010, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From what I have read the remote isn't the greatest as its quite cluttered. But this wouldn't be a concern for me since I plan to pickup a Logitech Harmony 650 or 300.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 04-05-2010, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Pioneer HTP-SB300 Soundbar was shipped today from Buy.com

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 04-05-2010, 07:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I await your review and hopefully some pictures. There is only 3 stock pictures that I can find. If you could take some pictures of the back of the speaker and a picture of the front of the speaker with the grill off if thats even possible that would be great.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 07-13-2010, 10:00 PM
Member
 
agpatel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any update on this soundbar and how it sounds? How is the wireless sub and any major interference with it.
agpatel is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 07-14-2010, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
maniti2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would also like to know how it sounds as well before I make my purchase..
maniti2005 is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 07-14-2010, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not been able to find many reviews about it except for what I posted above. The most recent reviews and opinions are all in Japanese.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 08-18-2010, 02:30 PM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyoen received theirs yet? curious to hear feedback
EKinNYC is offline  
post #12 of 35 Old 08-19-2010, 12:25 PM
Member
 
nclee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manhattan beach, ca
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received mine on last Sat. hook up was easy. Will spend more time this weekend to play with it. Bought it from Amazon.
nclee is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 08-19-2010, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nclee View Post

Received mine on last Sat. hook up was easy. Will spend more time this weekend to play with it. Bought it from Amazon.

Let us know what you think. There needs to be more opinions available for review with this model.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 08-21-2010, 02:36 PM
Member
 
nclee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manhattan beach, ca
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Pioneer hooked to direct tv on HDMI2, LG bluray 570 on HDMI1, and HDMI out to LG 50PK750 plasma HDMI1 input. Iit sits right in front of the plasma. (Before the sound bar arrived, both were hooked up to the plasma directly, direct tv on HDMI1, 570 on HDMI2).

Since this is my first time using a sound bar. I can't compare to other brand.

It does do the following just like Pioneer advertised,

recognize Dolby True HD, and other Dolby processing
only recognize regular DTS, not HD

How is the sound? Way better then the TV set. Is it worth the money. Definitely (to me). Would it replace a proper 5.1 set up? NO.

I played a few movies, the latest Star Trek, 300, Harry Potter. Even though the sound field is not that wide, but it definitely is there.
nclee is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 08-21-2010, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nclee View Post

recognize Dolby True HD, and other Dolby processing
only recognize regular DTS, not HD

It should also support LPCM from what I read. So not having DTS-HD is annoying but not necessary either.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 08-21-2010, 09:10 PM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how is the sound quality and the processing? from reading other reviews in the links posted by OP, it seems that as soon as the surround sound processing is turned on, the sound becomes metallic and "fake" sounding
EKinNYC is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 08-23-2010, 06:47 AM
Member
 
nclee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manhattan beach, ca
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mostly use pure direct to watch movies (to me it sounded the best), and when the volume is set to 30 (don't know how much higher it will go), it was very loud to me.

I did try a few sound processing, like action, drama etc, it does add some extra effect to the sound, would I describe it as metal or fake. I guess you can say it added a little, but it is not tiresome or annoying.
nclee is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 08-23-2010, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Were you able to notice the 3 different channels during use? Or did they just blend together? Is there options to adjust the center channel gain and L/R gain?
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 08-25-2010, 07:04 PM
Member
 
nclee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manhattan beach, ca
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since I only use HDMI, I can't do (or I'm not aware of) L/R grain etc.
nclee is offline  
post #20 of 35 Old 08-25-2010, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nclee View Post

since I only use HDMI, I can't do (or I'm not aware of) L/R grain etc.

Any chance you can take a few pictures and post them on here?
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 08-26-2010, 07:27 AM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hows the quality of the passthru picture for your components?

has anyone tried to program it with a Harmony remote? just want to make sure i can macro the component switching.

i still cant decide if i want this SB for the hdmi switching/truHD decoding, or just go with a vizio/jvc/polk/boston acoustics and use it as a pure soundbar and forget about surround/decoding.
EKinNYC is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 08-30-2010, 06:37 AM
Member
 
nclee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manhattan beach, ca
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3ftonm3 View Post

Any chance you can take a few pictures and post them on here?

I have no idea how to post picture. I tried to include it in the message, but it ask me of a URL link....
nclee is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 08-30-2010, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nclee View Post

I have no idea how to post picture. I tried to include it in the message, but it ask me of a URL link....

You can upload them to

http://imageshack.us

Then just copy and paste the forum code it lists under the links section.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 09-10-2010, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I found another review but its in German. Google doesn't seem to be able to translate the page for some reason so if someone can get it to work that would be great.

http://www.netzwelt.de/news/83848-pi...p-sb-300-video

It does have a video which gives you a good view on how it looks compared to all the stock photos on the web.
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 10-08-2010, 12:45 PM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just wanted to bump this to the top to see if anyone else has purchased this unit and wanted to post a review
EKinNYC is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 11-05-2010, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
Heart of Dixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am strongly considering getting one of these. Anyone else care to chime in?

Wondering why it is selling so cheap. MSRP is $599, they are selling for half that.

Davyo, any opinions?

I love this forum! Been reading for months

Thanks.
Heart of Dixie is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 11-06-2010, 12:05 AM
Member
 
vjcs20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any recent reviews?
vjcs20 is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 11-08-2010, 10:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered one from the store where I never ever shop with one exception... Upgrading from Sony CT100 which ironically I purchased from the same store 3 years ago. This pioneer unit has everything I need, 2x HDMI, wireless sub and sleek looks, hopefully sound quality doesn't disappoint, although I've been perfectly satisfied with CT100 which by all means not the best one.

EDIT: I've been researching the manual and I could not find any information whether the system allows adjusting the sub volume. Is it true, or is there some hidden feature that's not listed in the manual?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/St...uction0119.pdf

Mac Mini HTPC (Win7)
klas is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 11-09-2010, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
Heart of Dixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
klas, let us know how it goes once you get the Pioneer. I will probably buy this unit in the next few weeks.

I hadn't thought about the sub level .Iwould imagine that it could be adjusted.
Heart of Dixie is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 11-09-2010, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did not find anywhere in the manual about subwoofer level adjustment. As a matter of fact one of the reviews state that subwoofer is a bit overpowering in music which something I am a bit worried about.

http://www.pocket-lint.com/review/46...oundbar-review

Quote:
Verdict:
It's not great with music either, as the sub is a little too overpowering, but because the soundbar doesn't have the bass depth to cope on its own it's a bit of a Catch 22. Overall it's no disaster, but not quite up to the standard of soundbars from the likes of B&W and Teufel.

Mac Mini HTPC (Win7)
klas is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off