Soundbars with HDMI 1.4? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 03-30-2010, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bambooben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I am going to have to go with a soundbar to up the sound quality of the TV I'm about to buy, but after looking at a lot of news from CES and random sites, I can't find much info about any new soundbars with HDMI 1.4.

When I started planning this buy in Dec., I was really interested in the Yamaha YSP-4100, but of course even though it just recently went on sale here in the USA, it still has 1.3. I did a search on Yamaha's site, but nothing newer came up.

So I figured I would ask here if anyone had heard anything or had any thoughts.
Bambooben is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 03-31-2010, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
myron243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kingwood, Texas
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Soundbars with HDMI 1.4

Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.
myron243 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 03-31-2010, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bambooben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myron243 View Post

Soundbars with HDMI 1.4

Of course I tried google.
There are no answers to be found there, and the only one listed is from Panasonic. It was announced at CES 3 months ago, and still no word on release or price.

Anybody else have some ideas? I'm hoping not to have to wait until next year for Yamaha to release a new version.
Bambooben is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 05-19-2010, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Jithtproject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do you need soundbars with hdmi 1.4?

JHT
Jithtproject is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 05-19-2010, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
l3ftonm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The new Sony Soundbars have hdmi 1.4

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...52921666166155
l3ftonm3 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 07-13-2010, 04:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bambooben View Post

I think I am going to have to go with a soundbar to up the sound quality of the TV I'm about to buy, but after looking at a lot of news from CES and random sites, I can't find much info about any new soundbars with HDMI 1.4.

When I started planning this buy in Dec., I was really interested in the Yamaha YSP-4100, but of course even though it just recently went on sale here in the USA, it still has 1.3. I did a search on Yamaha's site, but nothing newer came up.

So I figured I would ask here if anyone had heard anything or had any thoughts.

As of Early July, there is a firmware update v7.03
for both the YSP-4100 and YSP-5100 that enables 3D and ARC
cloken is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 07-13-2010, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
happy nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
edit... oops... never mind... the information was already posted above.

One day at a time...
happy nightmares is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 07-14-2010, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
LDBecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloken View Post

As of Early July, there is a firmware update v7.03
for both the YSP-4100 and YSP-5100 that enables 3D and ARC

I'd been thinking about one of these, but the older HDMI issue bothered me. Can you post a link to info about the firmware upgrades?

Thanks,

Larry
LDBecker is online now  
post #9 of 19 Old 07-15-2010, 01:44 AM
Senior Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
just look in the yamaha site and select your model
nenito2k is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 07-15-2010, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
LDBecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nenito2k View Post

just look in the yamaha site and select your model

Wow... how did I miss that? Sorry --

I set up an account with Yamaha so I could look at the download info and it's exactly as cloken had said.

I wonder, though, if it is an upgrade of the HDMI port to version 1.4, or if it only adds the video pass-through and ARC - or if it even matters since those seem to be the significant upgrades to the HDMI 1.4 spec.

Anyone try the upgrade to see if it works for 3D?

Thanks,

Larry
LDBecker is online now  
post #11 of 19 Old 07-21-2010, 07:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm both the 3d and ARC work on the YSP 5100
cloken is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 07-21-2010, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
LDBecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks, Cloken,

I'm actually torn now on what to do - I might up grade my main receiver to a Pioneer Elite SC-37 with HDMI 1.4 (iwhen it comes out), and re-purpose my Pioneer Elite 59TXi to my second tv, along with a 3.1 speaker set. That would let me make further use of a GREAT receiver (but with no HDMI so I have a Monoprice switcher on it), but the all-in-one setup that Yamaha offers is really compelling.

Thanks for responding to the question!

Larry
LDBecker is online now  
post #13 of 19 Old 07-22-2010, 12:22 AM
Senior Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
cloken that is good news! an official confirmation is always nice!!! waiting for a buddy of mine to confirm that the 1080p 3D also passes via the yamaha s400 too....
you wouldn't happen to know how the update is technically possible via yamaha?? i mean playing an audio CD via optical to make the bar become HDMI 1.4 is crazy!!!!
nenito2k is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 07-22-2010, 01:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Honestly I don't know if they are "True" HDMI 1.4 chips or not, I suspect that it really just depends on bandwidth and the 3d sync signal to pass 3d.....
However as far as I know only 1.4 does ARC.... so maybe.
If Sony can output True 3D (1080p x2) via HDMI 1.3 on the PS3 and the cable/sat guys can push side by side 3D via 1.3 then I strongly suspect it is possible to pass True 3D on "some" 1.3 chipsets, if they wanted to invest in updating them......

The system I used with it was the Samsung 63" 7000 Series Plasma and the Samsung 3d C6900 Blu-Ray. This was a demo system we setup at work once we updated the YSP-5100. (Reminder update both the TV and the Blu-Ray too!)

Update of the Yamaha was via a coax digital output of a DVD player.
This gets touchy btw, best bet is a CD player but "some" DVD players do work if they don't filter the output. (This is true of many Yamaha products and at least some Onkyo ones too) Either it works or it doesn't update on the YSP's so no worries about killing it..... if your really special and do manage to kill it, there is a way to get it back, see the last step in the instructions.
cloken is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 08-17-2010, 12:54 PM
Member
 
patatorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloken View Post

I can confirm both the 3d and ARC work on the YSP 5100

Hello, I just read this information and upgraded today my 5100 (with a Panasonic 3D BD Player DMP BDT300 and optical). Everything runs well but I must say that the TV programs sounds are very low compared to BD or other sources. I need to increase a lot the volume on the 5100 in order to hear something.
If I remember well I did not have some much difference in sound volume with TV/5100 SPDIF connexion.
COuld you confirm that TV played on the 5100 by ARC is much more lower ?

Best regards
patatorz is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 08-18-2010, 02:38 AM
Member
 
patatorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, as said above, I installed the FW 7.03 on my YSP-5100 but after few tests it seems I have difficulties with the ARC :
When I select "TV" source on the YSP-5100 the YSP can see signal (the stereo is seen) but I have no sound. I need to go to the "setup menu" in order to put "HDMI Control" Off and On in order to find some sound.
I need to do that each time I switch off the TV or the YSP ?

Do you have the same thing or did you find a solution ?

Best regards
patatorz is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 08-19-2010, 09:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by patatorz View Post

Hello, I just read this information and upgraded today my 5100 (with a Panasonic 3D BD Player DMP BDT300 and optical). Everything runs well but I must say that the TV programs sounds are very low compared to BD or other sources. I need to increase a lot the volume on the 5100 in order to hear something.
If I remember well I did not have some much difference in sound volume with TV/5100 SPDIF connexion.
Could you confirm that TV played on the 5100 by ARC is much more lower ?

Best regards

I did not notice a big difference between Sat / DVD HDMI sources and the ARC from my Samsung (Netflix or DNLA streaming). However remember it might be dependent on the actual volume of what you were playing. Example some DVD/BluRays are far quieter than other. I have noticed that some movies we DNLA stream are quieter than other however I figured it was more of a movie issue since some are fine.
cloken is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 08-19-2010, 09:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by patatorz View Post

Hello, as said above, I installed the FW 7.03 on my YSP-5100 but after few tests it seems I have difficulties with the ARC :
When I select "TV" source on the YSP-5100 the YSP can see signal (the stereo is seen) but I have no sound. I need to go to the "setup menu" in order to put "HDMI Control" Off and On in order to find some sound.
I need to do that each time I switch off the TV or the YSP ?

Do you have the same thing or did you find a solution ?

Best regards

Also responded to your PM but other might like the same info.

Mine just works, but try the following suggestions:

Update your TV firmware if needed
Check you TV input (my Samsung requires input 2 for example)
Make sure HDMI Control in on for both the TV and YSP (it may be called something besides HDMI control, Samsung calls it Anynet)
I do NOT use TV for anything except ARC so that might also be a reason.
Reminder so far as I can tell it only sends out built in sound (Netflix, Pandora, DNLA streaming, etc..) YMMV

Try switching to another input on the YSP then back to TV,
I find if I exit my Netflix on the TV it seems to switch back to HDMI 1 (Sat in my case) on the YSP because HDMI Controls sees it as active.

BTW what TV are you running? (I run a Samsung 55C7000 LED LCD with the current firmware, this might be the difference)
cloken is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 08-23-2010, 03:26 AM
Member
 
patatorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello I'm running a Plasma Panasonic 50VT20 (It should be the 50VT25 in the US). In fact I thought that I did not need the HDMI COntrol in order to run the ARC. By activating the HDMI Control (Viera Cast for Panasonic) it runs well. I just have to select "home cinema" in Viera Cast.
The difference in sound is linked to french DVB-t : there is a difference in volume beteween SD and HD channels. It seems it's the same for every tuners.

Thanks for your help.
patatorz is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off