samsung Hw-c450 and Pioneer VSX-1020-K - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-28-2010, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
twinturbo911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am a newbie and not an audiophile. I am wondering if it is ok to connect my Samsung Hw-c450 soundbar through my Pioneer VSX-1020-K receiver. I am aware that the soundbar already has built in amplifier and it does not need one. However, the reason I want to use to use one is for the following reaseons:

1. The ability to add additional inputs and connect them to my wall mounted setup.
2. The ease of adding additional inputs.
3. 3D pass through capabilities for future upgrades.

The soundbar would be connected through fiber optic via the TV. All the other consoles such as ps3, wii, xbox, sat/cable, other set top boxes would be connected via receiver. I also would like to try running an analog cable from receiver to soundbar to listen to internet radio.

Please let me know if this is completely impossible or doable. Thanks for help in advance.
twinturbo911 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-28-2010, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
This sounds like a difficult setup. If you have some speakers set up via the TV and others from the receiver, how would you balance the sound. Soundbar controlled by its internal system, other speakers controlled by the receiver. What you would really need would be a preamp type system with variable line level outputs for the different channels (or each speaker to have a variable adjustment). When all channels have been set up and balanced correctly, then the volume control from the receiver would control all. No help for your current situation.

Your current soundbar has minimal channel seperation as a 2.1/3.1 device or has its own simulated surround mode which would actually interfere with the sound from the extra surround speakers.

I would suggest either going with a full surround system and the receiver or just the soundbar or one of the newer soundbars that come with rear channel speakers and are designed correctly to work with the extra speakers.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-29-2010, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
twinturbo911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apologies if I confused you but I only have one speaker setup that is the soundbar and no additional speakers. The soundbar has three inputs: two optical and one 3.5 mm audio. Below is how things are connected:

1. Satellite > TV > Soundbar (Fiber optic from TV)
2. PS3 > Soundbar (Fiber optic)
3. Audio device > Soundbar (3.5 mm audio cable)

I would like to add a receiver in the middle to add the capability to add additional input video sources without having to take my TV down from the wall. Most of the audio will still be routed from the TV to the soundbar with the exception of PS3 and audio device.

Also, I want to see if I can run the audio device through the receiver. This is not necessary but just wondering...
twinturbo911 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-29-2010, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The soundbar could be run from the receiver if the receiver has variable line level outputs (usually labeled pre-out) which could be combined into a 3.5mm audio cable. If you only have speaker terminals, these would probably not work as the input for the soundbar should probably be a nominal 1v line level input. Depending on the output voltage at the speaker terminals as well as a suitable connector to go from speaker output to line level input would probably be a tough act to control. Also if you use the speaker terminals you will pick up an extra layer of distortion and noise from the power amplifier section of the receiver.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-30-2010, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
twinturbo911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I am planning to connect it using regular audio out with analog output. Based on your feedback it seems like it is possible.
twinturbo911 is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off