Panasonic SC-HTB500 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhodson View Post

i still cant get sound for both connections without also hooking up the optical cable.

the way i have it at the moment is the following. from my directv it goes to the bd connection of the sound bar and then the tv out of the sound bar goes to hdmi1 of my tv. i get sound for this and am able to adjust it via the vera link.
for the xbox i have it directly to hdmi 2 of my tv. i dont get any sound unless i also connect the optical out from the tv to the soundbar. i also can adjust sound via vera link. am i missing something?

I looked back in this thread but don't see where you mentioned the model number of your Panny TV. Is it a 2010 model? Because if it's not, then it doesn't have ARC support and that would certainly explain why you need to use the optical out.
Possumgirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidel cashflow View Post

Also is there a way to turn the bar on when the TV turns on?

As previously suggested by Geoff2, check Viera Link. There are separate settings for Auto Off and Auto On. For some reason, Auto On is not enabled by default, you have to manually enable it.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #93 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 12:11 PM
Member
 
fidel cashflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff2 View Post

It should do that automatically -- it does on mine. Muck around with the Viera Link settings on the set.

It works intermittently. It worked this morning but didn't seem to be doing a good enough job last night. Does the remote used play a factor?
fidel cashflow is offline  
post #94 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 12:18 PM
Member
 
geoff2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidel cashflow View Post


It works intermittently. It worked this morning but didn't seem to be doing a good enough job last night. Does the remote used play a factor?

What remotes are you using?
geoff2 is offline  
post #95 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 02:55 PM
Member
 
dhodson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the pan tc-p50x1. although i purchased it in feb, it must be a 2009 model. thus ill just connect both hdmi to the tv directly and just optical out to the soundbar. at least then i have one fewer cable.
dhodson is offline  
post #96 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhodson View Post

i have the pan tc-p50x1. although i purchased it in feb, it must be a 2009 model. thus ill just connect both hdmi to the tv directly and just optical out to the soundbar. at least then i have one fewer cable.

Well that explains it. Keep in mind that if you don't use HDMI between the soundbar and the TV you won't be able to use Viera Link to control the soundbar with the TV remote. Also, you may not get 5.1 audio from your DirectTV box going over optical from the TV.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #97 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
jahyun19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all, just received this SB and waiting for a panny G25 later this week. i will also have a ps3, xb360, and verizon fios set-top box hooked in to this set up. my question is: would hook up all three via HDMI into the G25, then have the G25 hook to the SB via the HDMI-1 (which supports ARC)? or would i only hook up the xb360 and set-top box into the G25, and hook up the ps3 to the SB directly? does it make a difference? thanks!
jahyun19 is offline  
post #98 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 03:54 PM
Member
 
dhodson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Possumgirl View Post

Well that explains it. Keep in mind that if you don't use HDMI between the soundbar and the TV you won't be able to use Viera Link to control the soundbar with the TV remote. Also, you may not get 5.1 audio from your DirectTV box going over optical from the TV.

yep, guess i just have to deal with the extra cables and decide if i want xbox (also dvds) or directv in 5.1 and the other in 2.1
dhodson is offline  
post #99 of 253 Old 12-07-2010, 04:49 PM
Member
 
fidel cashflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff2 View Post

What remotes are you using?

DirecTV remote. Occasionally use the Panny G25 remote.
fidel cashflow is offline  
post #100 of 253 Old 12-08-2010, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Formula51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhodson View Post

i can understand your disappointment although i dont believe the point of the device is actually to avoid a receiver. its really for people who dont want to run cables all over the place for better sound but arent satisfied with the sound from the tv. i personally didnt consider ipod capability when researching a soundbar although i have an iphone and an ipod touch. i believe most soundbars in this range will have similar issues. if you go up another 100 bucks or two then some of those models might have what u are looking for but it likely isnt native ipod support but aux input. wishing u the best with your decisions.

Ok, so what if we add a receiver to the equation.

The beauty of the Panny HTB500 is that it turns on and off with the TV, works with the TV remote, looks good with a Panny TV, wireless sub, simple, etc. It can be used seemlessly every time you turn the TV on.

If you were to add a receiver that has ipod connectivity, say a Pioneer VSX-820-k for discussion, it would be able to play the ipod through the Panny soundbar and sub (and any other speakers hooked up to the receiver?). I assume this could be hooked up by a optical audio cable.....

But, what if you wanted to have more of a surrond sound effect for watching movies and say added two rear satellite speakers in addition to the Panny HTB500. How would you hook this up to make sure the Panny HTB500 was still the only thing turning on/off and playing during normal TV (when you don't want the rear surrounds) but all speakers played while watching a blu-ray?

I'm thinking HDMI from the blu-ray player to the receiver, HDMI from the receiver to the soundbar, HDMI from the soundbar to the TV. I think in this case you would have to turn the receiver on when watching a blu-ray to get the rear speakers to work but if you wanted to watch a movie with just the Panny HTB500 playing you could leave the receiver off as long as it had "passthrough"??? When turned on, would the receiver remote then only control the volume of the rear satellites or the Panny soundbar as well?

Sorry for all the questions and I really appreciate the help. There have got to be others in the same position as me: those who want the simplicity of the Pannasonic HTB500 for everyday TV viewing, but the ability to play an ipod or add a little more surround effect with additional rear satellites when watching movies.
Formula51 is offline  
post #101 of 253 Old 12-08-2010, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I read through most of thread and didn't see this asked. Will the auto on work if your using the toslink only?
topr is offline  
post #102 of 253 Old 12-09-2010, 06:33 AM
Newbie
 
santadawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I missed out on this package deal, is there any other deal out there. thanks
santadawg is offline  
post #103 of 253 Old 12-09-2010, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by topr View Post

I read through most of thread and didn't see this asked. Will the auto on work if your using the toslink only?

No. CEC (Viera Link) only works for components connected via HDMI.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #104 of 253 Old 12-09-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Possumgirl View Post

No. CEC (Viera Link) only works for components connected via HDMI.

I was hoping it sensed an audio signal and kicked on similar to the what a sub does when its in stand-by mode and sent an audio signal.
topr is offline  
post #105 of 253 Old 12-09-2010, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula51 View Post

Ok, so what if we add a receiver to the equation.

The beauty of the Panny HTB500 is that it turns on and off with the TV, works with the TV remote, looks good with a Panny TV, wireless sub, simple, etc. It can be used seemlessly every time you turn the TV on.

If you were to add a receiver that has ipod connectivity, say a Pioneer VSX-820-k for discussion, it would be able to play the ipod through the Panny soundbar and sub (and any other speakers hooked up to the receiver?). I assume this could be hooked up by a optical audio cable.....

But, what if you wanted to have more of a surrond sound effect for watching movies and say added two rear satellite speakers in addition to the Panny HTB500. How would you hook this up to make sure the Panny HTB500 was still the only thing turning on/off and playing during normal TV (when you don't want the rear surrounds) but all speakers played while watching a blu-ray?

I'm thinking HDMI from the blu-ray player to the receiver, HDMI from the receiver to the soundbar, HDMI from the soundbar to the TV. I think in this case you would have to turn the receiver on when watching a blu-ray to get the rear speakers to work but if you wanted to watch a movie with just the Panny HTB500 playing you could leave the receiver off as long as it had "passthrough"??? When turned on, would the receiver remote then only control the volume of the rear satellites or the Panny soundbar as well?

Sorry for all the questions and I really appreciate the help. There have got to be others in the same position as me: those who want the simplicity of the Pannasonic HTB500 for everyday TV viewing, but the ability to play an ipod or add a little more surround effect with additional rear satellites when watching movies.

I think what you are suggesting could be made to work, but at considerable expense and more than likely less than stellar results.

You could run various cables to a receiver and if (IF?) your receiver had optical out, run the optical to the soundbar. You could also run HDMI out to the soundbar for all of your components.

However, you would need to be very careful not to add extra sound processing from the receiver to the soundbar.

Also, the idea of the rear speakers would probably not work as intended. Whatever you feed the soundbar, optical or HDMI, will be a fixed level output (1V). Whatever you feed the rear speakers will be variable based on the volume level of the receiver. This means whenever you change the volume on the soundbar, you would need to change the surround volume on the receiver. Plus you would have a soundbar emulating surround and rear speakers picking up parts of the surround signal. A lot of money and a lot of expense for probably inferior sound.

If you wish to hook up your ipod, why not just directly to the TV and playback through the soundbar. Seems like this would be the most simple solution.

Or better still, look for a soundbar with analog inputs as well as digital. Then you could play all of your components seamlessly.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #106 of 253 Old 12-10-2010, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Formula51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. A couple of comments/ questions.

This would not be that expensive as a simple receiver and rear speakers would work. I did assume that the receiver would only control the rear speakers but for iPod play that is fine and for a movie u could get it set to the Soundbar pretty close and using two remotes in this case would not be so bad.

The soundbar may try to simulate the rest surrounds but obviously poorly and I'm not thinking This would have to negative an effect.

I wouldn't want a different soundbar than the Panasonic because of the ability to use the TV remote seemlessly.

I'm thinking u could get the receiver, Soundbar, and rear speakers for $600 and have a nice simple system for watching TV everyday with the ability to play an ipod with more sound in the room due to the rear speakers and add possibly add rear surround for movies. That is probably the least important part.

I'm thinking a Yamaha rx-v367 would be sufficient for this.

If not going this way. How else could u hook up an iPod up to the TV without a receiver? Do they sell something to do this?

Thanks.
Formula51 is offline  
post #107 of 253 Old 12-10-2010, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Formula51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like the Yamaha rx-v367 does not have optical out. I wonder if it would carry the audio to the sounbar via HDMI when playing an iPod...
Formula51 is offline  
post #108 of 253 Old 12-12-2010, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
mobilejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just reviewed it, look in the soundbar forum.
mobilejunkie is offline  
post #109 of 253 Old 12-12-2010, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
To connect the iPod to the TV or any device with standard analog inputs (RCA Jacks) spend about $2 at Radio shack and get a mini-phono to stereo RCA cable. If the soundbar has analog inputs this would work directly to it also.

Another solution, take a look at Amazon for an analog to optical converter. I have seen references to these at what I think were reasonable prices.

Two possibilities
http://www.amazon.com/Analog-to-Digi...2192382&sr=8-9

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...02&lid=1342490

You may still need the cable from Radio Shack.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #110 of 253 Old 12-19-2010, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
tbhdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope someone can help.
I have the sound bar hooked to a new samsung tv and am trying to have the sound bar not require a separate turn on by it's own remote( b/o sleep mode it turns off).Volume adjust would be a bonus. Any suggestions other than new equipment.
Thanks TBHDOC
tbhdoc is offline  
post #111 of 253 Old 12-19-2010, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbhdoc View Post

Hope someone can help.
I have the sound bar hooked to a new samsung tv and am trying to have the sound bar not require a separate turn on by it's own remote( b/o sleep mode it turns off).Volume adjust would be a bonus. Any suggestions other than new equipment.
Thanks TBHDOC

Look into a good universal remote like the Logitech Harmony. Basic model around $50 or $60 and it will control everything with one click.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #112 of 253 Old 12-21-2010, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
LTmoney32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a Panasonic TC-P50S2 and really want to upgrade the sound quality. The Panasonic SC-HTB500 seems the best option for my situation (sound quality, room size, etc...).

However, I currently have the TV on the stand. The TV stand it sits on is just deep enough to fit the base for the TV. I don't have any room to sit the sound bar in front of the base, nor do I want to mount it up above the TV because it would look weird.

Are there any other options for placing the SoundBar? Can I rig something up to hang it underneath the TV? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
LTmoney32 is offline  
post #113 of 253 Old 01-02-2011, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
GreggT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Longmont
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jahyun19 View Post

hi all, just received this SB and waiting for a panny G25 later this week. i will also have a ps3, xb360, and verizon fios set-top box hooked in to this set up. my question is: would hook up all three via HDMI into the G25, then have the G25 hook to the SB via the HDMI-1 (which supports ARC)? or would i only hook up the xb360 and set-top box into the G25, and hook up the ps3 to the SB directly? does it make a difference? thanks!

I have the same TV/soundbar setup and after 3 weeks have it fully optimized. When both soundbar and 5.1 system were active, was getting an echo effect (using optical audio from TV). After reading the AVS forum, I routed DirecTV HD to soundbar HDMI input, then soundbar HDMI output to TV HDMI 1. The Audio Return Channel feature works great and no more echo effect from any of the other devices (so far only Blu Ray) connected to the TV via HDMI. Don't forget about the IR blaster (plugged into the soundbar and pointed at the TV sensor) if your soundbar sits within a few inches of the TV stand. Was wondering what that spare part was after setting system up....glad I kept it. Now soundbar passes through the signal to the TV IR sensor from any angle.

Too many toys, not enough dough!
GreggT is offline  
post #114 of 253 Old 01-07-2011, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
Hot Jam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using this soundbar without a Panny TV and I'm having trouble getting the bar programmed to my U-Verse remote. I've already lost that stupid little stock remote somewhere in my bedroom . Anyone know the manual remote code or know where I could find them?

Just spent 30 minutes on hold with panasonic and gave up.I have tried all of the Panasonic codes under the "Audio" column under Panasonic HTIB's from U-Verse's site here with no luck.
Hot Jam is offline  
post #115 of 253 Old 01-08-2011, 10:49 AM
Member
 
dinosaur1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am undecided if I should get the sc-htb500 or the Sony htc-t150?
Do I need to buy the IR adapter for my Panny plasma if I get this Panny soundbar especially if I am going to lay it in front of the tv? My tv hangs on a 3in1 Whalen tv stand so it's up in the air.
dinosaur1 is offline  
post #116 of 253 Old 01-10-2011, 09:16 AM
Member
 
itarrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One question from a newbie overconcerned (maybe).

If I use the PS3 as Blu Ray player, connecting it to the SB and then the SB to the TV (Panny 50vt20), will the 3D passthrough works anyway ?

Asking because I understand PS3 sends 3D (Blu Ray) signal even with HDMI 1.3, so I'm not sure I'll get into troubles (just with 3D) if I have this soundbar between the PS3 and the TV...
itarrow is offline  
post #117 of 253 Old 01-10-2011, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinosaur1 View Post

I am undecided if I should get the sc-htb500 or the Sony htc-t150?
Do I need to buy the IR adapter for my Panny plasma if I get this Panny soundbar especially if I am going to lay it in front of the tv? My tv hangs on a 3in1 Whalen tv stand so it's up in the air.

Unless your IR receiver on the TV is blocked by the soundbar, you do not need an IR extender.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #118 of 253 Old 01-10-2011, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Recstar24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From a performance standpoint, is there any reason I should be connecting my oppo bluray directly to my g25 vs going through the sound bar input? Does it simply serve as a hdmi pass through with no processing of the signal? I currently have my oppo hooked up directly to the tv and not through the sound bar, but if it simply passes through the hdmi video to the g25 without any manipulation or processing I might as well save myself an input.
Recstar24 is offline  
post #119 of 253 Old 01-10-2011, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
depending on what other HDMI components you are using, you probably want the oppo connected directly to the soundbar. If connected directly to the TV you will only get 2-ch dolby stereo from the soundbar.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
post #120 of 253 Old 01-10-2011, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
mobilejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by itarrow View Post

One question from a newbie overconcerned (maybe).

If I use the PS3 as Blu Ray player, connecting it to the SB and then the SB to the TV (Panny 50vt20), will the 3D passthrough works anyway ?

Asking because I understand PS3 sends 3D (Blu Ray) signal even with HDMI 1.3, so I'm not sure I'll get into troubles (just with 3D) if I have this soundbar between the PS3 and the TV...

It will pass 3d to problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Recstar24 View Post

From a performance standpoint, is there any reason I should be connecting my oppo bluray directly to my g25 vs going through the sound bar input? Does it simply serve as a hdmi pass through with no processing of the signal? I currently have my oppo hooked up directly to the tv and not through the sound bar, but if it simply passes through the hdmi video to the g25 without any manipulation or processing I might as well save myself an input.

Hooking the bd player straight to the sb will enable you to get 5.1 sound. If you went into the tv via hdmi the arc nor the toslink will pass any more than 2.1 to the sb.
mobilejunkie is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Panasonic Sc Htb500 2 1 Channel Soundbar Speaker System With Wireless Kelton Subwoofer Black
Gear in this thread - Htb500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off