Yamaha YSP-4100 or 5100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-15-2010, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjahnke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any views on how this compares to the Sony HTCT150 or HTCT350 when it comes to 3d capability? I'm looking to invest in a 3d bundle deal but want to use a soundbar for sound. Supposedly there's no 3d passthough, whatever that means, in the Yamahas that there is in the Sonys, but I'll be surprised if the sound isn't still better on the much more expensive Yamahas. Help very much appreciated!
mjahnke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-15-2010, 10:51 AM
Member
 
darkeyes909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Beach, Ca.
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yamaha already provided an update that allows 3d
darkeyes909 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-15-2010, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjahnke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Spoke to Yamaha and they say there's not an update but the situation can be resolved by running the "optical" line direct from the YSP-4100 to the TV. Does that make sense? This is a little over my head.
mjahnke is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-15-2010, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
if there is no update man, what the hell is this then?????????

http://www.whathifi.com/news/Yamaha-...nema-packages/


as far as sound goes these yamaha models are way better than the sony's but price is huge !!
nenito2k is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-15-2010, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjahnke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks much guys. Interesting that you know more than people on Yamaha's customer service line (especially since they make you pay to call them -- it's a 714 number).

As for price agree it's high but seems like everyone agrees sound is great and like the simplicity, wireless iPod/iPhone capability, and free included wireless subwoofer. PLUS can be had on eBay now for $1135, or new through inet retailer for $1292.

Any views on whether I'm setting myself up for warranty problems buying on eBay? I tend not to worry about fakes if the eBay seller's feedback is high enough, but am less sure about "grey ware" warranty issues.

Thanks again.
mjahnke is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-15-2010, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
nenito2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Africa
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
if you want a yamaha soundbar, a very good one but at a good price why don't you get the S400???? it has very good reviews and opinions all around the works and is at 500$, pklus it has a sub; not as good as YSP series but excellent one still
nenito2k is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-19-2010, 01:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There IS a firmware update (v7.03) that adds 3D and ARC to the YSP 5100 and 4100.
You need to use a CD or DVD player that does not have digital filters and run the output via optical (or coaxial it I think) to the YSP to do the update.
The firmware is on the Yamaha website along with the directions.
It's not hard but you MUST have a CD or DVD player with out digital filters to do the update.
I run a 5100 with the update and can confirm 3D and ARC work after the update.
cloken is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-21-2010, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I just purchased a 5100. How do I hook up a HDMI cable box, Oppo Blu-ray and Pioneer Kuro to the sound bar. The optical output confuses me. Why not run HDMI for scaling? And HDMI carries the sound too, right? Thanks.
Glashub is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-22-2010, 08:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cloken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glashub View Post

I just purchased a 5100. How do I hook up a HDMI cable box, Oppo Blu-ray and Pioneer Kuro to the sound bar. The optical output confuses me. Why not run HDMI for scaling? And HDMI carries the sound too, right? Thanks.

All you need is 3 hdmi cables for the above system.
The cable box and oppo both get connected to the 5100 via hdmi,
Then out of the 5100 hdmi to the kuro.
There should be no need of scaling in this setup.
All done, Unless u have more gear or a sub.
My above post with optical is only about updating the 5100 to the new firmware.
cloken is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-23-2010, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloken View Post

All you need is 3 hdmi cables for the above system.
The cable box and oppo both get connected to the 5100 via hdmi,
Then out of the 5100 hdmi to the kuro.
There should be no need of scaling jn this setup.
All done, Unless u have more gear or a sub.
My above post with optical is only about updating the 5100 to the new firmware.

Thanks for taking the time to respond, cloken. Hope you have a great day.
Glashub is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-09-2011, 10:17 AM
Member
 
NDQuietman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both the YSP-4100 and 5100 have "24Hz, 60Hz Refresh rate" according to Yamaha's website.

How does this work if your run the Bluray player via HDMI (and cable box, but less worried about that) into the soundbar, then one HDMI from the soundbar to the TV when the TV is a 240Hz refresh? Does this 'downgrade' the TV's refresh rate? Wouldn't this hurt the picture, particlularly 3D and other types that benefit greatly from higher refresh rates?

I am close to ready to pulling the trigger and getting one of these, but this is a concern for me.
NDQuietman is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 07-09-2011, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
capecodorthopod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: cape cod
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most units shipping now come with the 3D/ARC update already installed so you shouldn't have to worry about it.
mjahnke,
Buying from an unauthorized seller on Ebay is a little risky. Most likely Yamaha would honor the warranty if a problem arises but if you want to be sure buy from an authorized dealer, or buy an aftermarket warranty or get it from a place like Abes of Maine whose prices are a little higher than what you quoted earlier but far under msrp and includes free 3 yr warranty.
NDQuietman,
The refresh rate shouldn't matter the YSP just passes through what it's given. The display shouldn't care.
capecodorthopod is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-12-2013, 04:05 PM
Newbie
 
hayito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can i check my firmware version of the soundbar. I want to use the ARC HDMI2 Port from my Panasonic 55VT50 to the YSP4100. The idea is to you the HDMI port as an audio out from my TV.
hayito is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Yamaha Ysp 4100bl Digital Sound Projector Black , Yamaha Ysp 5100bl Digital Sound Projector Black
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off