Can any soundbars be controlled with tv remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2010, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dug01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My LG tv has only optical audio output--does it pass volume and on/off info thru the optical output?--and if so what soundbars will process this digital data. I tried a Vizio VSB200 and the optical audio passed through to the soundbar and sounded great, but the tv remote did not control the volume or on/off.
dug01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2010, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dug01 View Post

My LG tv has only optical audio output--does it pass volume and on/off info thru the optical output?--and if so what soundbars will process this digital data. I tried a Vizio VSB200 and the optical audio passed through to the soundbar and sounded great, but the tv remote did not control the volume or on/off.

Optical audio is only for audio, not for on/off or volume control. TVs and external audio can communicate via HDMI if both support CEC functionality. CEC works best when everything is from the same manufacturer, although basic functions will usually work well in a mixed environment. LG calls their CEC Simplink. I do not know how well it works with other brands.

The other choice is a programmable remote that addresses the external audio via IR.
Possumgirl is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
abajetta2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 44
It just depends..like possumgirl said a universal remote is best. But in my case i can control my soundbar,tv and blu-ray player all with my tv remote(all samsung)

All Day|Denon|Yamaha|Behringer|JBL|Klipsch|Stereo Integrity|Samsung|Every Day
abajetta2 is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Harley07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All my gear is Panny so my remotes for BD & TV control sound bar volume.

I have the tv sound set to "Home Theater" thru Viera Tools. Everything works excellent!

I'm considering a programmable remote from Logitech tho.
Harley07 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drfreeman60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I have seven 2007-2008 Panasonic pro monitors at the office. The remotes included in those years controlled only Panasonic products and not even all of them.

Look for one of the less expensive Logitech Harmony remotes. Probably about $60-$70.

David Freeman
drfreeman60 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off