Do I need a soundbar? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 01-29-2011, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I am a tech guy, however new to sound and audio. I have been reading over the past few days so forgive me is this is an amature question

So I am glued to amazon and am ready to purchase the TC-P50G25 or the TC-P54G25, depending on where the price of each goes in the next couple of days. For this TV - My main question - Is a soundbar needed. I know one answer is wait and see - which leads me to my second question. The Polk audio 3000 is on the amazon daily deal today - and if the price is right - I was thinking of picking it up. Is this device worth it for the money ( i am sure btwn 2-250 depending on the deal) or should i look at others?

Last question - Its on Connectivity. I am reading alot on the benefits of HDMI - however I am also seeing many soundbars only come with an optical at most. Is optical sufficient? Do I need HDMI on soundbar?

PS - this is for a living room setup which is off the kitchen. I am looking for the best sound quality I can get at a budget price. I will be building a Home theather room in the basement over the next year and I will spash out on that to jazz it up...

thanks guys .. apprecaiate any replies
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 01-29-2011, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Almost all flat panels will benefit greatly from adding external audio. The Panny's speakers may be better than some other brands, but unless all you're planning to watch is talk shows you just won't be getting great sound.