3D pass-through? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
htownm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, long time lurker, new member here. Great forum.

Now I have a question. I recently purchased the LG 55LW5600 3DTV and am now looking for a sound bar. Can someone explain what 3D pass-through is? Do I have to have it to watch 3D programming? Probably a total newb question, but hey, this is where the answers are, right?
htownm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Some soundbars have HDMI inputs, allowing you to connect your components directly to the soundbar and then connect the soundbar to the TV via HDMI. 3D pass-through means the soundbar is capable of sending the 3D signal received from the connected component to the TV.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
htownm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks possumgirl. So the soundbar must have hdmi inputs? Optical won't work?
htownm is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ahartig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 1,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
How many components do you have to connect to the TV?

What kind of audio out connections do those components have (HDMI, optical, analog)?

If you only have one or two components to connect, I would wire the HDMI directly to the tv and send the audio signal to the soundbar from the tv with the audio out connectors on the tv.

XBOX Live ID: HONDEboyMAN
PSN ID: ahartig
ahartig is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Htownm, no you don't have to use one with HDMI inputs. See Ahartig's response for another option. But if you DO select one with HDMI inputs, it needs to support 3D pass-through.

If you connect your components directly to the TV, you're better off audio-wise connecting optical from the component directly to the soundbar instead of using optical (or ARC) from the TV. Going out from the TV will only give you 2 ch. stereo, not 5.1 audio.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
htownm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Comcast HD DVR box and a PS3. So...

PS3 and Cable box (HDMI) > soundbar (with 3d pass thru) > TV (ARC). That would be the ideal audio setup? Appreciate the help. Now I need to find my CT350.
htownm is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-31-2011, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by htownm View Post

I have a Comcast HD DVR box and a PS3. So...

PS3 and Cable box (HDMI) > soundbar (with 3d pass thru) > TV (ARC). That would be the ideal audio setup? Appreciate the help. Now I need to find my CT350.

That would be a very clean setup with a minimum of cabling. There are e-tailers still selling the CT350 although at or near MSRP. You might keep your eye on eBay. A couple new ones sold the last few days for around $300. Keep checking Amazon also.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-27-2011, 04:00 AM
Member
 
VermithraxDagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there, looks like I got the right thread to ask my question, so I'm hoping y'all might be able to kindly assist me. Please bear with me as I'm no advanced techie (I just know how to hook up an HDTV to my cable box & videogame consoles w/ HDMI cables and sync my wireless devices to the wireless router#..hehe..

Components that will be included:
-an LG INFINIA 55LW5600 55" Full 3D 1080p HDTV LED LCD Television w/ Web Browser and Internet Apps
-an LG BD670 3D Wireless Network Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Smart TV
-a JVC TH-BA1 Soundbar system #4.1 channel & Dolby Digital/DTS/Dolby Pro Logic II Decoders, 2 Digital Optical Audio-In ports# w/ 2.4GHz Wireless Subwoofer and an accompanying Mediabridge Toslink Optical Digital Audio Cable

Ok, so here's the scoop: like htownm I recently purchased the same LG 55LW5600 3DTV #along with the LG BD670 3D Blu-ray Player# and want to see if/how my existing JVC TH-BA1 Soundbar system will play nice & work on the new 3DHDTV.

After reading through this thread the first thing I did was to check to see if the soundbar has HDMI ports but it doesn't, only the 2 Digital #Optical# Audio-In ports. I haven't received the new LG TV & BD Player as yet #they're expected sometime this week# so I'm currently using my soundbar w/ my older TV #a Vizio VP504F, which the new LG 3DHDTV will replace#, connected to it via the Mediabridge Toslink Optical Digital Audio Cable I bought alongside the soundbar back in Feb '10.

With that in mind, does anyone know if I'll encounter problems connecting the TH-BA1 to the new LG set via the optical digital audio cable? Will I lose any sound fidelity? Does the 3D BD Player come into play and make the setup more complicated? If there are potential problems could someone please suggest any work-arounds? I don't want to have to look for a newer soundbar and shell out more $.

I've previously gotten great help here on the forums when I got my Vizio HDTV and any help with these new questions would be very much appreciated :# Thanks in advance and very best,

Kurt #VermithraxDagon#
VermithraxDagon is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-27-2011, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by VermithraxDagon View Post

With that in mind, does anyone know if I'll encounter problems connecting the TH-BA1 to the new LG set via the optical digital audio cable? Will I lose any sound fidelity? Does the 3D BD Player come into play and make the setup more complicated? If there are potential problems could someone please suggest any work-arounds? I don't want to have to look for a newer soundbar and shell out more $.

I've previously gotten great help here on the forums when I got my Vizio HDTV and any help with these new questions would be very much appreciated :# Thanks in advance and very best,

Kurt #VermithraxDagon#

Hi Kurt. As you know from reading this thread, the TV will only output 2 ch. stereo from components connected to it. With some soundbars that doesn't matter much, but the TH-BA1 is a true 4.1 soundbar that can process DD5.1 and DTS. There is a dedicated thread here for it and Davyo is our resident expert. He always recommends connecting audio via optical directly to the soundbar so you're only using the video portion of your HDMI connection on the panel.

You didn't mention if you have other components besides the new BD player. Like a cable/sat receiver? You need to use one optical from the TV for your internet streaming apps. So....

Connect the BD player via HDMI to TV, disable HDMI audio-out on the player, and connect optical from player to bar.

If you happen to watch TV OTA, just connect optical from TV to the other optical in on the bar and you're good to go. If however, you have a receiver you've got a choice. Connect it to the TV and settle for 2 ch. stereo out, or consider getting an optical switch to connect both the receiver and TV to the bar.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-28-2011, 07:51 PM
Member
 
av addiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Land of Queen Henrietta Maria - Gburg
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htownm View Post

Hey all, long time lurker, new member here. Great forum.

Now I have a question. I recently purchased the LG 55LW5600 3DTV and am now looking for a sound bar. Can someone explain what 3D pass-through is?

The 3D pass-through feature means that a 3D signal can be input into the receiver (sound bar), then passed through to a 3D TV. The receiver (sound bar) itself cannot process a 3D signal or create a 3D signal.
av addiction is offline  
Reply Soundbars



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off