Official Yamaha YHT-S400 thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 68 Old 05-06-2012, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
^^^
I don't believe the S400 is ARC capable so you will need to use a Toslink cable from the Panny to the S400.
Possumgirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 68 Old 05-06-2012, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
sloepoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Possumgirl View Post

^^^
I don't believe the S400 is ARC capable so you will need to use a Toslink cable from the Panny to the S400.

I didn't realize that limitation, but it looks like you're right. Sounds like a $5 cable might resolve my problem - thanks!
sloepoke is offline  
post #63 of 68 Old 05-07-2012, 09:43 PM
Newbie
 
hififi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LikeNikes View Post

Hey peoples!
Here a few things that I did that seem a little different from other peoples settings by reviews and posts that I read.

1. I have my left and right channels at 4-5 and my center at 0.
2. I dont use the univolume unless Im watching regular tv which very rare.
3. I dont the enhancer unless using a mp3 player.
4. I do use extended stereo and clear voice(this seems to bring mid freq up)
5. My soundbar is at ear level

Number 5 made a huge difference for me with sound bouncing off walls. I had to check if something was happening around my house a few times when I was not paying attention to the TV.
hififi is offline  
post #64 of 68 Old 05-11-2012, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Does anyone knows if the new s401 a big improvement over s400? it's $300 more. A reviewer on amazon said it blew away his ysp-1000 and 3000 that he just sold. I've had both too and if that statement is somewhat true then the s401 would be even better than my ysp-5100.
zoey67 is offline  
post #65 of 68 Old 07-06-2012, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
lucky41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I have yht-400 and samsung ue46c6500. They are connected with optical audio cable and everything works fine.
I've just bought wireless headphones and I've got a silly question - how to connect them? There is no analog audio out from Yamaha.

Is there a way to get analog audio from HDMI out from Yamaha?

Thank you for answers

UPDATE: I've got an official answer from local representative - this is not possible.
I have to say that this is something that I wasn't even thinking of and it was completely natural for me that there must be a headphone jack. But there isn't.
What a disappointment with my stupidity and the product.
lucky41 is offline  
post #66 of 68 Old 11-11-2012, 07:25 PM
Member
 
joemannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey guys,
I just picked one of these up today, open box from a big retailer. I got a great deal, but I'm getting a noticeable rattle from the sub/receiver itself. Any music with bass, causes a vibration within the housing that can be heard with the music from the couch. Sounds pretty terrible. Even at +1 sub setting, it is heard. Anyone experience anything like this? Any recommended fixes?


Update...
If I push down on the receiver/amp, it dampens the vibration, almost takes it away the more I push. I called Yamaha support, the tech wasn't familiar with the product. He was very suprised that the receiver was integrated with the sub, he wasn't a fan of that design. He was starting to lean towards having to mail it in. I want to try and avoid that so I left it that I would play with the settings and call back if needed to try and reach tier 2 support. I'm open to some diy ideas

Thanks
Joe
joemannnnn is offline  
post #67 of 68 Old 11-08-2013, 04:20 PM
 
somelogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Why does the Amazon description say 1 input of hdmi 1.4 and 1 output of 1.4? Are two of the three outputs not 1.4?

Also this soundbar is ACR capable because sometimes I don't even have any optical cable connected and only use hdmi.

edit: oh, I guess I misunderstood ARC. It must be only when you're trying to get sound from the tv itself, rather than from a cable box, blu ray player, etc. So if I were using the tuner, I guess I couldn't get audio from hdmi, but all the sources I sue are fine with only hdmi.
somelogin is offline  
post #68 of 68 Old 11-10-2013, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
cyclsbganes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

You should be able to feel some depth to the sound. A 3D sensation if you will. Hearing things behind you is not really going to happen.

os9n8Q

cyclsbganes is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Yamaha Yht S400bl Home Theater System
Gear in this thread - S400bl by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off