Samsung HW-D550 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-11-2011, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mikey in TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, i just bought the Samsung HW-D550 to go with my Sony KDL52Z5100. I'm having trouble getting the ARC to work with my tv. I have the following set up, Verizon Cable Box, PS3 and the TV. Currently both the cable box and PS3 are connected to the tv via HDMI. If i'm reading the instructions correctly i need to connect these to the sound bar through A to C HDMI (which i've ordered) and then the sound bar to the TV.

Is there any thing else i need to do in order to get the sound to work for the TV? My understanding was that the ARC ability on the TV and Sound bar should pass the sound from the TV directly to the sound bar. Specifically I'd like to get Pandora, Netfilx, etc that i use through the tv alone to play through the sound bar. Do i need to add an optical cable as well?

thanks for the help and sorry if this is a dumb question
Mikey in TX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-11-2011, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey in TX View Post

Hey all, i just bought the Samsung HW-D550 to go with my Sony KDL52Z5100. I'm having trouble getting the ARC to work with my tv. I have the following set up, Verizon Cable Box, PS3 and the TV. Currently both the cable box and PS3 are connected to the tv via HDMI. If i'm reading the instructions correctly i need to connect these to the sound bar through A to C HDMI (which i've ordered) and then the sound bar to the TV.

Is there any thing else i need to do in order to get the sound to work for the TV? My understanding was that the ARC ability on the TV and Sound bar should pass the sound from the TV directly to the sound bar. Specifically I'd like to get Pandora, Netfilx, etc that i use through the tv alone to play through the sound bar. Do i need to add an optical cable as well?

thanks for the help and sorry if this is a dumb question

I took a quick look at the soundbar specs. Just connect the cable box and PS3 to the soundbar via HDMI. Use HDMI v1.4 from the soundbar to the TV's ARC port. Check the soundbar manual to see if you need to change a setting to enable ARC. You may also need to change the TV's speaker setting to home theater (or whatever it's called on the Sony). Audio from the net apps should go to the soundbar with that setup. Optical cable not needed.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-11-2011, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mikey in TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help! I'll give that a try and see what happens.
Mikey in TX is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off