Connecting TV and laptop via Sony ht-ct150 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-04-2012, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hardikorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firstly, I am sorry if this has been already asked/answered. I have a specific query so didn't know how to search for the same.

I am connecting an asus G74sx laptop to the htct-150 and getting the output on a viewsonic lcd tv. All the connections are via hdmi. I am using generic hdmi cables bought off amazon.

Now everything works as expected but the problem is that the picture quality on the TV is not as good as on the laptop screen (I have extended the laptop display on the TV so as to get two displays). The text is barely readable and no amount of calibrating helps.

I'd like to know if there is a way to correct this by using a different setup? I know this is an issue while using hdmi for pc output so would using any other kind of connection (eg. DVI) help?
hardikorama is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-05-2012, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hardikorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?
hardikorama is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-05-2012, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
kluge9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What resolution have you set the pc to? And does the picture quality change if you do a direct connection from pc to tv?
kluge9 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-05-2012, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hardikorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PC and TV have the same resolution and frequency (1080p, 60Hz). Just that the picture is not sharp, specially the text which appears blurry and hard to read. Also, the quality is the same if I connect it directly to the TV via HDMI.
hardikorama is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-05-2012, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
kluge9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had good luck at the 1360x768 resolution. I don't have the same laptop as you so i cannot attest to the specific graphics card, but when using a tv as an external monitor, every day tasks are terrible but it does get better with media
kluge9 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-05-2012, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hardikorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's true. Games and video look good but going on the desktop and looking at text is not something I'd like to do on the TV. Also, is there a software that will make both the screens (laptop monitor and TV) have the same calibration?
hardikorama is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Sony Sa Wct150 Subwoofer For Ht Ct150
Gear in this thread - Wct150 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off