Harman Kardon SB 30 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 146 Old 07-01-2012, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ndrj69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by davyo View Post

Good luck on getting a CT350,,,, I will never understand why Sony discontinued them,,, they are such great soundbars,,,, but the CT150 is no slouch either,, just not "as" good at the 350.
Cheers
Davyo

How is the 550? Been looking at the new Panny 550 as well...more demo's???
ndrj69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 146 Old 07-02-2012, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
ernest100's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davyo View Post

Good luck on getting a CT350,,,, I will never understand why Sony discontinued them,,, they are such great soundbars,,,, but the CT150 is no slouch either,, just not "as" good at the 350.
Cheers
Davyo

thank you for your feeling.
waiting your testing after moving to new APT.
I really appreciate what you talking about.
ernest100 is offline  
post #123 of 146 Old 07-05-2012, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
ernest100's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndrj69 View Post

Just packed it up and am shipping it back. The original shock and awe has passed. The dialogue coming out is difficult to hear. The surround is amazing but did I mention dialogue sucks? It seems to have progressively gotten worse with each movie I watch. Then there is the hissing from the drivers trying to overpower you with surround. A sad day indeed. Wanted it to work...then my wife actually asked me when it is getting exchanged for a better one. Personal/subjective opinion...HK missed the mark with this. I demo'd the Panny HTB520 and that had better dialogue and a more even sound. Back to the demo'ing again. Davyo...got any mid to low priced suggestions???
Nick
ndrj69,

I find one used from amazon, it maybe the one you returned.
link is here
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B006ZZNM9U/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&m=AHF4SYKP09WBH&condition=used
I am also afraid of the "hissing ", so I will not buy this one.
ernest100 is offline  
post #124 of 146 Old 08-07-2012, 03:39 PM
Newbie
 
I3igcircle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have narrowed it down to either the Bose SR1 $1599 or the HK SB30 $949 respectively here in Canada.

Has anyone been able to compare the two and my main question I can draw after looking at specs is in regards to coding.

Bose according to websites isnt compatible with Dolby digital format.

Flip side SB30 is DD pro, 2 etc compatible but doesn't read DTS.

I will be using it with my Sony 46EX500 and main use aside from digital tv is bluray movies and gaming with my PS3.

Which format is better or would I benefit most from being able to use? My TV has pass through from what I've read so would be HDMI ps3 to tv and optical from TV to sound bar.

Any advice or points of view is greatly appreciated.

Nic
I3igcircle is offline  
post #125 of 146 Old 08-07-2012, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ndrj69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have not heard the bose setup in home...owned the HK for 4 weeks and sent it back on my dime. What will be your primary use? I was under-whelmed.
ndrj69 is offline  
post #126 of 146 Old 08-07-2012, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
I3igcircle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blurays and games run off a PS3.
I3igcircle is offline  
post #127 of 146 Old 08-16-2012, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
I3igcircle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I went with the Harman Kardon Soundbar, first impressions are I like the sound bar alot but I've run into a few problems I am hoping some other owners might know about.

For some reason the 3 white LEDs on the front that dictate volume up and down will turn into a purple LED? And when they are purple the green lights for room size while using Kardon Mode do not show up or work? But I can hear a sound change when pushing the room size button.

So does anybody know why the purple lights show up and what it means? Not any info on it in the manual or online, called HK tech got hung up on twice and told twice they don't know what it means or that it even had purple lights?

Thank you for your time and help,
N
I3igcircle is offline  
post #128 of 146 Old 08-16-2012, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
ndrj69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dude, purple means return it asap...sounds good but quirky and not enough power to fill a room. I kept finding more issues after my first few days of bliss. Still looking for that perfect soundbar. Customer service is a 1800 INDIA number.

Nick
ndrj69 is offline  
post #129 of 146 Old 08-16-2012, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
I3igcircle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having not hear or used a multi speaker system I find it fills out room fine. HK customer service was a joke I agree, do you know what the purple lights mean?
I3igcircle is offline  
post #130 of 146 Old 08-17-2012, 03:28 AM
Senior Member
 
ndrj69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No, but seeing as the manual did not list (I could not find) I would sense pending doom. It isn't about it being a bad sounding bar...just not worth the $800 you pay.

Nick
ndrj69 is offline  
post #131 of 146 Old 08-17-2012, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
mpchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by I3igcircle View Post

Having not hear or used a multi speaker system I find it fills out room fine. HK customer service was a joke I agree, do you know what the purple lights mean?

I remember the blue light (static, not moving or flashing) indicates which surround mode you are in. 1 blue means straight Stereo, 2 blue means the same surround mode of the SB16, 3 blue is the exclusive virtual surround mode for SB30. However, if you see blue/purple lights while trying to change volume (instead of white moving lights), then it is not normal and should go for an exchange.

I like this soundbar. It can sound very good (for my standard), but lacks volume in dialogue in some movies if you use the virtual surround at its widest output without any Dolby Volume. But that depends on the movie's sound mix. Some movies sound perfectly fine as is, others I have to bump up the Dolby Volume or lower the virtual surround room size to make the dialogues louder. Also, I noticed randomly, it has some split second of junk noise when the blu-ray switch tracks (black screen from trailers to movie) or in PS3 when I browsing menus. Not a biggy, but would be nicer when it is silent at all times when there is no audio playing. Little imperfection, but I like its performance.
mpchi is offline  
post #132 of 146 Old 09-12-2012, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
crag24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I was just looking for some more info about this system. I actually bought mine 2 weeks ago and love the sound, but noticed the 2nd day after i hooked it up, the subwoffer made a popping sound. The volume was not loud and did not have the bass up loud either. I kept noticing it because it would startle myself and my dog. So i took it back and got another SB30, and the same day I hooked it up it made that popping sound from the sub.

has anyone had this issue or know what might the problem be and that I can correct this?

I emailed HK twice on and I am about to call them and tell them off and see if they can help me out, Otherwise i will be returning my 2nd SB30 and will be getting the bose 3 speaker system.

thanks

craig
crag24 is offline  
post #133 of 146 Old 12-20-2012, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
stephane111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the SB 30. It's in a gym playing music tv and Xbox kinect games. No movie watching.
Room is 15'x24' with 9' soffit then tray ceiling up to 12'. 2 walls completely windowed. Hard wood floors. ...It's an acoustic echo chamber at best. Sheer and fabric curtains coming to traverse along the windows to deaden some sound.
Question is this... Testing the SB 30 out of the box, I had it situated about 3 feet off the floor.. Sounded better on stereo mode playing iTunes music via analog in. TV sounded ok playing via optimum app on ipad via analog in. Futzed with the harmon wave setting. Its ok in certain instances and i figure i would have my harmony remote dictate what mode its in based on activity. So I know I'm listening to the worst config no since the SB 30 will be getting my tv's optical out once hooked up.
That said, we have a 60" Samsung going on the wall (waiting for it) and I'm thinking of putting the soundbar over it but tilted down 10 degrees. About 7 ft high. Is the tilt necessary? I'm thinking up high tilted gives more concentration in the room instead of bouncing up into the tray off the floor like it did when placed below the TV.
stephane111 is offline  
post #134 of 146 Old 12-24-2012, 11:11 AM
Member
 
TomG16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone ever respond with the Remote code? Trying to get ours set up and the little one is not ideal. My harmony does it, but wanted that for different room. Just wanted to use our cable one
TomG16 is offline  
post #135 of 146 Old 01-03-2013, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
justmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I realy like to buy a SB30.
The problem is that the wall in my livingroom where my television is on is only 104cm what forces me to buy the SB16 in stead of the SB30.
Another option is to buy the SB30 and hang it in my bedroom, but I prefer to have my livingroom as my "theater" iso the bedroom.

Can anyone tell me the difference between the SB16 & SB30?

Is there much quality difference?

Hope to hear from you guys!
Thanks!
justmac is offline  
post #136 of 146 Old 01-11-2013, 12:11 PM
Member
 
simonoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Davio,

I am waiting on my new sammy 64pne7000 to arrive. Having looked at the specs of the sb30 , do you think as it lacks HDMI, that it will work ok if the Sammjy can pass through DTS via optical? I will only have 3d BR player , a multi region DVD player and a RokU 2 (just arrived) connected.

If not, do you think I would be better off getting the YSP2200 and connecting everything into that and then using ARC ?

I am buying a soundbar to tide me over until I get a 3.1 / 5.1 system using probably Onkyo 818 with B&W 804s, so do you think I would be better off getting a sony 150 or sammy 450 just for 12 months or so ? Which of those two in your opinion is best ? My gut says to go with the YSP 2200 - what do you think ?

thanks
simonoaks is offline  
post #137 of 146 Old 01-11-2013, 12:25 PM
Member
 
simonoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,

Also , found the sb30 for 600 delivered and YSP 2200 for 579 delivered. Looked at Sony 550 but don't like the seperate control box. The Sony 260 looks ok, Can't find if it will pass though 50hz region 2 PAL DVD though, or 3d content via ARC. Any thoughs with this additional info ?

thanks
simonoaks is offline  
post #138 of 146 Old 01-11-2013, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
math-geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nick,

I was recently searching for a sound solution for a second residence and was nearly ready to pull the trigger on one of the new Yamaha YSPs ($1500+). While haunting these threads I saw Davyo's glowing review of the Bose 1 SR and that really intrigued me. The only problem with the Bose was a lack of extensive inputs.

I had decided to order a Bose Lifestyle 135 but after talking to Bose on the telephone they recommended the LS 235 which was less expensive! If the 1 SR/LS 135 is anything like the LS 235 it should be able to reach the volumes that you require. The LS 235 sounds great with music and movies and can play very loud cleanly. I ended up getting the LS 235 for nearly the same price as then 1 SR from Bose direct. Also of note is that Bose customer service is really good and you will be talking to someone in the US.

If you have the space and can spring for 1 SR, I say go for it. I am really enjoying my new system and I am glad that I went into the purchase with an open mind.

Maybe give Bose a call and see what you can work out.

Good luck!
math-geek is offline  
post #139 of 146 Old 01-13-2013, 09:53 AM
Member
 
simonoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
anyone know where I can search to find it for under 800 ? All the usual places like amazon, BB and Crutchfeild all at 800.

thanks
simonoaks is offline  
post #140 of 146 Old 01-13-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonoaks View Post

anyone know where I can search to find it for under 800 ? All the usual places like amazon, BB and Crutchfeild all at 800.

thanks

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Harman-Kardon-SB30-Open-Box-Home-Theater-System-with-Wireless-Subwoofer-/150969674702?pt=Speakers_Subwoofers&hash=item23267e6bce
Possumgirl is offline  
post #141 of 146 Old 01-13-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
simonoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks,

Saw that. Just pulled the trigger on brand new one - 599 including delivery -

http://www.paulstv.com/Soundbars/Harman-Kardon-HKSB30BLK.asp

promo code speak25.

I still like the YSP 2200 for connectivity , but I went with this anyway. The way I see it, it will be better than TV speakers , so I still win lol.
simonoaks is offline  
post #142 of 146 Old 01-13-2013, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
That seems like a good deal. Hope it works out well for you as I know you've really been struggling with deciding which soundbar to choose. Please post your impressions of it after you have it up and going as that will surely help others considering a purchase.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #143 of 146 Old 01-13-2013, 11:35 AM
Member
 
simonoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for your help - I will post. I was member of uk av forum for 9 years, so know how it helps.

What swung this for me was that as I have a 20 foot open wall along wall then I think the ysp 2200 would not be in its element and 2.1 isn't its strong point. So the HK 2.1 will be better than a poor 5/7.1 solution, particularly as I want to listen to music too and ysp rates really badly for that.

Having said that, I can't wait to go get a pioneer elite amp, svs 13 ultra s/w and some PMC speakers smile.gif
simonoaks is offline  
post #144 of 146 Old 04-08-2013, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
turchb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if I can control the HK SB30 with an AT&T UVerse remote? I am going to purchase one of these and hoping my U-verse remote has a remote code that will work. Otherwise I guess I have break down and get a learning remote.
turchb is offline  
post #145 of 146 Old 04-09-2013, 07:46 PM
Member
 
mr51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turchb View Post

Does anyone know if I can control the HK SB30 with an AT&T UVerse remote? I am going to purchase one of these and hoping my U-verse remote has a remote code that will work. Otherwise I guess I have break down and get a learning remote.

I can't speak for the UVerse remote, but my Time Warner remote controls the SB16 with no problems. On the SB16, there were no codes to enter, the receiver built into the soundbar "learns" your remote control.
mr51 is offline  
post #146 of 146 Old 04-10-2013, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
turchb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The SB16 is very different from the SB30 in that regard. The SB16 must learn from an existing remote. The SB30 comes with it's own remote and does not have the learning feature. So with the SB30 you must either use their provided remote, have an learning remote that can learn from the SB remote, or have a remote that supports a remote code that works. I'm hoping the UVerse remote has a remote code that works with the SB30 but can't find any reference to that anywhere.
turchb is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off