Yamaha YSP 2200 - Newbie needs help to some basic questions! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 06-25-2012, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've recently bought the Yamaha YSP 2200 which had some fantastic reviews and was a nice complement to my LG 47inch 3D TV.

I am not an audiophile at all and a total novice when it comes to setting these things up so I have some questions which may seem basic but bear with me!

My set up is the sound bar is connected to TV via HDMI on the ARC, my Sky HD box, Blu ray player and PS3 are connected into the sound bar.

Ok, questions are as follows:

1. The surround indicator light on the display is orange which indicates it is receiving a surround signal, however when I play a Blu ray with DTS HD Master Audio the lights stays orange rather than go blue (as per owner manual) so am wondering whether it is receiving the right signal?!

2. Is it correct that my TV sound is automatically muted when the Soundbar is turned on?

3. If I stream content through my TV the Soundbar audio doesn't work and the TV audio cuts in instead which totally confuses me! Surely the Soundbar should handle all audio from all inputs?

4. I did the auto installation with the mic and although the sound is incredibly loud and bassy I am not convinced it is totally surround sound (I do have an odd shaped lounge). Is there an easy way to check where the beams of sound are reflecting off as never having had surround before I just don't know whether it is working!

Sorry for the lame questions but I genuinely don't know where to look for the answers as the support documents are vague and I just want to ensure I am using the unit to its fullest capability.

Thanks
Simon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 06-27-2012, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47