sound bar and optical audio cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2012, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goldicon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question. I have the lg nb3520a and it has two optical inputs so should i connect it directly into my dvr and blu ray player or will it sound the same going through the tv?
goldicon12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2012, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goldicon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so i found out my blu ray player has no optical output so i cant do any tests to find out if theres a difference or not so i have an hdmi connected to the tv and then the sound bars connected to my optical audio switcher thingy and then to the tv. so the question i have is am i getting the best possible sound doing it this way?
goldicon12 is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 12:47 PM
Member
 
cynation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends on a couple of factors:
  1. Your TV should output 5.1 on its optical out for the HDMI input - you will have to refer your TV manual for this
  2. You should also check if your soundbar outputs in stereo or can decode 5.1

I didn't see a major difference personally and just connected took the digital out from TV and connected to the soundbar.
cynation is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goldicon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cynation View Post

It depends on a couple of factors:
  1. Your TV should output 5.1 on its optical out for the HDMI input - you will have to refer your TV manual for this
  2. You should also check if your soundbar outputs in stereo or can decode 5.1
I didn't see a major difference personally and just connected took the digital out from TV and connected to the soundbar.

ok thx, I am not sure if my tv outputs 5.1 using optical I have the lg pv450 but ill check the manual.

and my soundbar does decode 5.1. I notice when i switched my dvr component cables to hdmi that the hd channels sound improved. it shows dd 3/2.1 and before it showed just pcm2/0.0. but i did not have to hook up the dvr directly to the sound bar to get dd 3/2.1.

now when i watch blu ray it only shows pcm2.0.0 and im wondering why its not showing dd 3.2.1. wish i had a blu ray player that had an optical output so i could try it out ill have to wait on that though im stuck with this cheap lg blu ray player for now with only an hdmi out.
goldicon12 is offline  
Old 08-27-2012, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Apparently your TV will output DD over optical since you're seeing DD 3/2.1 from your DVR. Blu-ray players are different in that when they determine they're connected to a TV during the HDMI handshake, they only output 2 ch. stereo since a TV is a "stereo" device. If the soundbar doesn't have HDMI input, and your BD player doesn't have optical output, you're stuck.
Possumgirl is offline  
Old 08-28-2012, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goldicon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Possumgirl View Post

Apparently your TV will output DD over optical since you're seeing DD 3/2.1 from your DVR. Blu-ray players are different in that when they determine they're connected to a TV during the HDMI handshake, they only output 2 ch. stereo since a TV is a "stereo" device. If the soundbar doesn't have HDMI input, and your BD player doesn't have optical output, you're stuck.

oh ok i see, so should i just get a blu ray player with optical output or send it back ? i got it from amazon so theres still time for me to send it back but besides the limited inputs the sound is really good.
goldicon12 is offline  
Old 08-28-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goldicon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whats weird is i was reading the top ten reviews website and it says that this sound bar has three hdmi inputs but it doesnt. lol
goldicon12 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goldicon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
decided to go to costco and buy a new blu ray player with optical out. i tried it out last night and now it shows dts3/2.1 and the sound is better i notice i dont have to turn the volume as high now. the only problem i have is every time i switch between cable and blu ray i have to change the optical input setting and i wish there was a way it would change automatically.
goldicon12 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off