New Yamaha Soundbars revealed! The YSP-4300 and 3300 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 257 Old 03-23-2013, 03:51 AM
Senior Member
 
bebop86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks just got one!!
bebop86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 257 Old 03-25-2013, 01:19 AM
Newbie
 
supernsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YSP 4300 $1199.99 1 left

http://www.interstatemusic.com/876239-Yamaha-YSP4300BL-Digital-Sound-Projector-Black-YSP4300BL.aspx
supernsa is offline  
post #183 of 257 Old 03-27-2013, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
bebop86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just got the 4300- Hooking it up to my 5 yr old pioneer elite which does not have arc- I am running cable box,BR,and xbox to sound bar and out from sound bar to tv- I get picture on all devices but no sound- My hdmi cables are a couple of yrs old- do we have to have 1.4 to get sound on hdmi??- thanks
bebop86 is offline  
post #184 of 257 Old 03-28-2013, 04:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebop86 View Post

Just got the 4300- Hooking it up to my 5 yr old pioneer elite which does not have arc- I am running cable box,BR,and xbox to sound bar and out from sound bar to tv- I get picture on all devices but no sound- My hdmi cables are a couple of yrs old- do we have to have 1.4 to get sound on hdmi??- thanks

I can't reference the manual because I would need to register. 1.4 has nothing to do with HDMI cables. Ideally, you will want high-speed cables. Whether that is a necessity comes down to how long your runs are. I am using standard speed HDMI cables with no issues because my cables are only 6 feet. How long are your HDMI cables? Have you checked the obvious and made sure that your sources are connected to the inputs on the soundbar and the HDMI cable from the soundbar to the TV is connected to the output on the soundbar? You can also try a different HDMI port on your TV. Are you getting any sound from the TV speakers or nothing at all?

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #185 of 257 Old 03-28-2013, 04:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Do you Have Hdmi Audio out set on the sources ? Is the sound bar on mute ? Since the Pioneer Elite does not have ARC the 1.4 HDMI cables should not matter for Audio purposes.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #186 of 257 Old 03-28-2013, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
bebop86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
thanks guys- Duh- Ifigured it out- for some reason every time I turn the Pioneer off and on it defaults back to tv speakers- I have to go back into setup and hit av amp for external sound- Anyone know how to get the Pioneer to stay on the av amp setting- If I run optical it works fine - Not sure this is the best way though- Am I better off just running a coax and be done with it or does that hurt the sound in any way- thanks so much
bebop86 is offline  
post #187 of 257 Old 03-28-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Coax is actually the best-sounding digital audio option... better than HDMI (HDMI is not particularly well-optimized for music playback... no issues with movie or TV sound, but music playback is a continuous process while movie and TV sound is interleaved with video and both are buffered and re-sync'd while music playback runs steadily - in fact digital music playback is partially analog because of that continuous data stream that relies on perfect timing to sound its best). The parts to make a Toslink interface are dirt cheap and actually create jitter within the signal... which is not much of an issue for movie or TV sound, but doesn't do music any favors. The SP/DIF signal that travels over coax probably isn't the most ideal signal format, but until something better goes mainstream, if you ever play music, coax is the best "sounding" connection right now. For movies and TV sound... I doubt there's anything anybody would ever be able to identify between the 3 options.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA -- www.dBtheatrical.com
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #188 of 257 Old 04-05-2013, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
Anuj Patel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so.... any overall consensus on this soundbar yet ? Is it worth it ? Seen a lot of reviews about the tech specs and aesthetics but what about the main reason we would buy this thing.... the sound ? how's the sound ? Definitely don't think I'd cough up $1800 for it but @ $1200 I'd give it a thought or 2 IFFF the sound is worth it. Chime in owners....
Anuj Patel is offline  
post #189 of 257 Old 04-05-2013, 12:25 PM
Member
 
tigercat74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love mine. I have the 4300. When I am watching regular directv the sound is very good. When I watch a bluray I am blown away. I hear sounds in movies I never heard before. To be honest, I never had any kind of sound system before so anything would be better. I did get mine for 1200.
tigercat74 is offline  
post #190 of 257 Old 04-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Member
 
tomandjudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a lowly ysp-3300, but am very pleased with it.

Sound is very good. Ability to integrate with other components also very good.

Happy hunting.
tomandjudy is offline  
post #191 of 257 Old 04-05-2013, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomandjudy View Post

I have a lowly ysp-3300, but am very pleased with it.

Sound is very good. Ability to integrate with other components also very good.

Happy hunting.
That my friend is an oxy moron. There's no such thing as a "lowly" YSP anything. I have had their top 5100, 1100, 1000, 3000, 900, 800, and they were all excellent as long as you pair them with a good subwoofer...so you have have nothing to be ashamed of. wink.gif
zoey67 is offline  
post #192 of 257 Old 04-06-2013, 08:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuj Patel View Post

so.... any overall consensus on this soundbar yet ? Is it worth it ? Seen a lot of reviews about the tech specs and aesthetics but what about the main reason we would buy this thing.... the sound ? how's the sound ? Definitely don't think I'd cough up $1800 for it but @ $1200 I'd give it a thought or 2 IFFF the sound is worth it. Chime in owners....
I would rate it as one of the Top Soundbar's on the market. I would rate it as THE Top Soundbar on the market for Movies and Surround. It is not a Full Fledged Surround Sound System, but it is the best you can Buy from a Soundbar. Nothing can touch it, if take in to account all variables.
I am speaking about the Yamaha Sound bars in General.
I own the YSP-4300. I gave $1450.00 for Mine.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #193 of 257 Old 04-06-2013, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Anuj Patel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
excellent replies. thanks so much guys.... Glenee... you should do marketing for Yamaha because you just convinced me to go for the 4300!!! now if only i can find this thing for cheaper then $1749.00 (Amazon) You guys think I should wait or just pull the trigger ? Everytime I see the interstate music link for $1199.00, I just happen to miss it by a day....
Anuj Patel is offline  
post #194 of 257 Old 04-06-2013, 11:05 AM
 
BobL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Call some local dealers you might get a good deal.
BobL is offline  
post #195 of 257 Old 04-07-2013, 08:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
It depends on how much patience you have, the wait can be a Bugger for some of us. I'm sure if you called around to some of the Big Retailers you can buy it for $1450.00 just work with them. If you want to save all you can, you will have to wait to strike. That means patience . $1200.00 -1300.00 if you have time and $1450.00 if you don't. You also have to be a peace with yourself. Right after I pulled the trigger at $1450.00 in a week they were $1200.00 on here someplace. But my Job does not let me be in constant Cobra Mode and watching every move. I had to just go On and Be done with it.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #196 of 257 Old 04-07-2013, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
You guys, seriously just go on Craigslist in just about any big city and they'll have plenty of YSP's 1100 or 3000 for about $300-500. These things are sturdy and you don't have worry about being new, it makes no difference.

No need to spend more than $800 or 1k for an good YSP. Trust me I got a spanking brand new 5100 from Amazon and yes it was phenomenal, but so was the 3000 and 1100 which I got for $325. In fact I just got a YHT-70 for get this only $80 and the bugger even came with a matching subwoofer. And again, it was amazing. Yamaha's got this market down pat.

I know there's tons of sound bars out right now and their popularity is increasing day by day but I see all of them are really just an upgraded center channel. Yamaha sound bars have 20 or 40 little speakers that are able to bounce and ricochet the audio to big wide sound stage and spatial. The competitors like Sony and Vizeo don't have Yamaha's technology and expertise in this area. Most people don't understand this.

correction: YAS-70 not YHT
zoey67 is offline  
post #197 of 257 Old 04-08-2013, 03:40 AM
Senior Member
 
bebop86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
quick question- for some reason sometimes not always when I turn on the 4300- it says HDMi1 but will freeze at that point and will not allow me to work the volume -I have to turn it off then back on and it works- This seems to happen quite often- Any ideas>>
bebop86 is offline  
post #198 of 257 Old 04-08-2013, 05:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Zoey67 has a very good point and all he says about not having to be new is true.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #199 of 257 Old 04-10-2013, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Anuj Patel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys.... looks like holding out for just a BIT more payed dividends!!! I was at the checkout page on amazon.com for $1799 as i lost any patience and had to have it NOW... one last check at interstatemusic.com before clicking submit was all it took... they got a few more @ 1199.99

Order yours now!


http://www.interstatemusic.com/876239-Yamaha-YSP4300BL-Digital-Sound-Projector-Black-YSP4300BL.aspx


now onto explaining to the wifey why I need this and getting permission after the fact...... hmmmmmmmmmm
Anuj Patel is offline  
post #200 of 257 Old 04-10-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
At this point in your Life this old saying holds true: It's better to ask for forgiveness later than for permission now.
All of us here operate under this Rule.
Because if you didn't you wouldn't have as much stuff, now would you.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #201 of 257 Old 04-10-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Here's a perfect example what you can find on ebay or CL. And I can't tell you how many times I've saved $40/50 simclply because the item was sold in my area and I picked it up. This one here is an oldie but still very goodie YSP-1000 right now $150 with no reserve it's got 40 little weety speakers. Anyone in Co and pick it up...And something you can start in your bedroom, BUT you be surprised how amazing it is that you'll use in the living room.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Yamaha-YSP1000SL-Main-Stereo-Speakers-No-Reserve-/121091280618


Here's another YSP-3000 in ILLinois $150 NR:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Yamaha-YSP3000-Digital-Sound-Projector-/140950057466
zoey67 is offline  
post #202 of 257 Old 04-10-2013, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Here's a perfectly good YSP-3050 in Orange county CA for asking only $399 which you might bargain for anywhere from $325-375 depends on how you neg with the seller... with two HDMI inputs for your Up scaling.

http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/ele/3698898090.html


The original YSP-1 asking for $215...

http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/ele/3634562621.html

As much as I love these YSP's,.IMO if you're spending more than $800 new or used you're spending too much that you can use on a good subwoofer.
zoey67 is offline  
post #203 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
Anuj Patel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@glenee. haha so true!

@ zoey67. I tried searching craigslist Houston but nothing available. money come, money go, oh well...

So I have a panny BDT500 blu ray connected to my tv (panny 65VT50) I want your guys' advice on how to set this sound bar up when it comes in.

The BDT500 has dual HDMI outs which can be configured to dedicate one to audio and one to video. Will it make any difference in quality if I have 1 HDMI running straight to the tv for video and another HDMI to the YSP for audio ? Or will a single HDMI for audio/video to the YSP serve the same purpose and output the same quality ?
Anuj Patel is offline  
post #204 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
For the Panny BDT500 HDMI 1 to the TV and HDMI 2 to the Yamaha will be perfect You will need this for all surround codecs from the BluRay player including HD Codecs,, make sure you set the BluRay Player to output Bitstream.. You will also have to have a cable from the 65VT50 I think it's optical and I think it's 3.5mm mini optical from the 65VT50 to standard Toslink on the Yamaha. You have two options on the Toslink cable one is 3.5mm mini to standard toslink cable the kind Apple use on their laptops and mini's OR 3.5 mini toslink Male to Standard Toslink female adaptor, then you can use any standard toslink cable, the adaptors can be aquired from Monoprice for about $3.00 each.
Don't even try to talk to anyone in Best Buy about this cable they don't have a clue, even though it's right there on their Website. It's way too expensive there anyway.
You got your Yamaha at a good price from a Authorized dealer with a Full Warranty this will come in Handy down the road maybe.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #205 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Why connect both HDMI outputs from the BDT500? A single connection for both audio & video to the YSP4300 is all that's needed, along with HDMI (ARC) out to HDMI (ARC) in on the Panny. The YSP supports all video pass-through to the TV including 3D. As long as ARC is working correctly, there should be no need to use an optical connection from the TV to the YSP.

The dual output from the BDT is usually only needed for connecting to an audio system that can't handle 3D video pass-through.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #206 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
Anuj Patel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
confused : /

If HDMI is there then there should be no need for optical right ? both YSP and VT50 are ARC capable...

I just wondered if using both HDMI outputs (one dedicated for video and one dedicated for sound connected direct from source would make and difference in quality) im guessing if the YSP is capable of handling the 3D then there shouldn't be any issue with quality ?

Wanted to make sure no capabilities of the BDT500 get lost in transmission when being fed through the YSP to my TV.
Anuj Patel is offline  
post #207 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Anuj Patel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's exactly what I thought. Thanks so much for the info.
Anuj Patel is offline  
post #208 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuj Patel View Post

@glenee. haha so true!

@ zoey67. I tried searching craigslist Houston but nothing available. money come, money go, oh well...
Always do the same search for other cities in your area. For me here in So Ca there's 3 areas from CL: SD, LA, and SD. For Houston I'm sure there's even more within a 2 hr radius because more often than not seller are willing to meet you half way. And sometimes if it's a really super good deal I don't mind driving up to LA a 1.5 hr drive since I still have friends up there and plenty of fund things do do.

And a good key word to search is to use "YSP" in your search.
zoey67 is offline  
post #209 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoey67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cloud9
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuj Patel View Post

confused : /

If HDMI is there then there should be no need for optical right ? both YSP and VT50 are ARC capable...

I just wondered if using both HDMI outputs (one dedicated for video and one dedicated for sound connected direct from source would make and difference in quality) im guessing if the YSP is capable of handling the 3D then there shouldn't be any issue with quality ?

Wanted to make sure no capabilities of the BDT500 get lost in transmission when being fed through the YSP to my TV.
Oh my, for the longest time an old timer HT enthusiast like myself thought just using a high quality optical or RCA digital cable was "good enough" ...SO WRONG. One day a Yamaha tech support informed that using HDMI up scaling for audio you'll end much better audio with the updated modern audio such as True Dolby HD, etc that you won't be ablethe YSP with optical or RCA. So when you can use the HDMI from your Denon receiver or YSP sound bar if it has HDMI conversion.

But nothing wrong with good ole optical or RCA,..HDMI pass through with a YSP-3050 or 5100 just took it to the next level.
zoey67 is offline  
post #210 of 257 Old 04-11-2013, 02:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The second HDMI to the Soundbar is for almost all surround sound codecs that the TV will not send to the Soundbar VIA the ARC. ARC is limited to a very few signals it will pass thru. I don't care what you send to the TV it will only pass thru the ARC it's limits. Lets say he wants to watch a movie thru cable if he wants to pass 5.1 he will have to do it optically from the Panny it is the only way it will pass this. If he wants to Watch a BluRay movie and take advantage of the new HD Codecs the only way to get them to the soundbar is VIA HDMI straight from the BDP Not thru the TV. There is one way around this, that is too send everything to the soundbar first and then from the soundbar to the ARC on the TV. The soundbar will have to be to be on all the time and on proper input to get sound.
i am finding that this ARC is not up to the high marks it receives. where I live which is cox cable they can't get the HDMI Interface from their Cable box to work half the time so if I want to pass 5.1 from cable I have to do it optically. Hooking it up the way I was suggesting gives him options if all pieces decide not to do their thing today, and it great for troubleshooting.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Ysp 4300 Digital Sound Projector With Wireless Subwoofer , Ysp 3300 Digital Sound Projector With Wireless Subwoofer

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off