Soundbars and a Harmony One - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-08-2012, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LordHowitHurtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A while ago I purchased a Vizio soundbar and I liked it but I didn't like how it worked with my Harmony One.
Every time I raised or lowered the volume I would have to navigate the touchscreen on the Harmony One to the soundbar, press a button, then the remote would work the volume. It's especially annoying when watching tv and a commercial comes on and the volume is considerable higher.
Is there a soundbar that works with the Harmony One where I can press the volume up/down button and it will raise/lower the sound no matter what piece of equipment the remote is set on? Thanks.
LordHowitHurtz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-08-2012, 10:40 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sounds like a set issue. I've had 3 different sound bars since I've had my harmony one and all have worked how you want it to.

Got into the logitech software and look and see in the activities if the sound bar/amplifier is used to control volume and not the TV.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-08-2012, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LordHowitHurtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D'OH..first post here and already I have egg on my face. I forgot to mention in my original post I returned the vizio about a week after using it. So I don't have a soundbar. I was looking for some soundbar recommendations from people who have a harmony one and have it working the way I want it to.
LordHowitHurtz is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-08-2012, 11:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Pretty much what magicman said, just setup the One to control the sound bar volume for whatever activity. Having said that, I have no issues with my Yamaha 401 (probably superseded by now) and a harmony one.
ausdavep is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-09-2012, 07:15 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I started watching Batman Begins using the Yamaha Yas-101 that I've had for awile now and went out and picked up the Bose Cinemate Series II and finished Batman with it. The sound is substantially richer and more detailed than the 101 (also twice the price), I did notice with the Bose though when Gordon was blowing up the train bridge that the explosion sounded like it was "missing" sound. So I'm undecided whether I'm keeping it or not.

Other sound bars I'm interested in are the Polk IHT5000 and the Yamaha YSP-2200 (was on sale until yesterday, DOH).

The salesman at Futureshop was saying they are having their VIP sale (can't remember, but either the 22nd or the 27th, gonna have to go in and ask), if the Bose drops significantly on the sale I'll probably keep it. If not I don't think it's worth the regular selling price.

What's your price range for a soundbar?
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-13-2012, 01:40 PM
Member
 
MooN77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty positive you had your setup wrong on the Harmony One. That remote will control anything and everything.

I have the Harmony One and the YSP-2200 and it controls it fine.
MooN77 is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off