JBL Cinema SB 400 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #121 of 134 Old 08-04-2014, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
gp-se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
James, how long have you had yours? I ask because I've had mine for a week now, and it sounds awesome, but I'm worried it might start "popping"
gp-se is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 134 Old 08-08-2014, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
gp-se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
after owning the JBL SB400 for almost two weeks, the soundbar started poping this morning. I exchanged it for a Harman Kardon SB26. Hopefully the Harman Kardon doesn't have any issues like the JBL.
gp-se is offline  
post #123 of 134 Old 08-10-2014, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm really confused by a similar problem.

I'm using optical out of my Bravia to the SB400. On initial hookup, I was getting loud pops and occasional feedback hum from the SB400, and was worried that something was going to die. So I turned it off and re-enabled the Bravia speakers to check them. They were fine, so I turned on the SB400 with the TV speakers still enabled - it STILL worked fine. Just to double-check, I turned the TV back to external speakers only, and the popping came back. Turned internal back on, and it's completely stopped.

Odd thing is that I tried the same test with both my old receiver and a Sony soundbar, and neither exhibited this issue...
Stan Smith is offline  
post #124 of 134 Old 08-22-2014, 02:40 AM
Newbie
 
Bieffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm connecting my blueray player to SB400 by HDMI and from the SB400 to my TV also via HDMI.

My question is does SB400 support audio bypass? I would like to know if SB400 allows hdmi control as well.

My current Marantz AVR hook up the same way. With all devices on standby. Using the blueray control the TV will power up and switch to blueray input. Press play and sound comes out of the TV speakers.
When I power up the AVR, sound is disabled on the TV and sound comes out from the AVR. Volume can be controlled using both the TV or the AVR control. I think is anyNET?
Will sb400 behave like my AVR?
Thanks.
Bieffe is offline  
post #125 of 134 Old 09-02-2014, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ndrj69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sb 400

Have been using mine for better than 2 months now. I downsized from a decent 5.1 system in my family room. Wife approved. Is it as good as the 5.1? With action movies - no, musically and sonic preference, overall my ears like it better. I stream music through various apps via BT. The highs are high, the lows are low, the mids are decent as well. Dialog can get lost a bit in a fast paced action movie...that said I find hard discs like BR or standard are less likely to loose the dialogue portion. Saw Battleship last night off my DVR via FX network - the dialogue got lost in the shuffle a bit...but is that why you would watch a movie like that. 3 HDMI in and 1 out, optical and BT. For the price you cannot beat it. Oh yeah, did I mention the sub? Deep, rumbly and yet still smooth. I do miss the surround of a 5.1 but not the set up and excess baggage. Give a shout if you have questions.

Nick
ndrj69 is offline  
post #126 of 134 Old 12-01-2014, 05:37 PM
Member
 
squidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had mine for about a month now and the sound dropouts and popping have started. I wish I had seen this thread before - I would have probably gotten something else. I specifically picked it for wireless sub and 3 HDMI connections. Most of my viewing is streaming and it doesn't support dolby digital plus so I'm only getting stereo anyway, should I just run the HDMI to the TV and do optical out? This should solve the popping and sound dropouts correct?
squidget is offline  
post #127 of 134 Old 12-02-2014, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
gp-se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidget View Post
I've had mine for about a month now and the sound dropouts and popping have started. I wish I had seen this thread before - I would have probably gotten something else. I specifically picked it for wireless sub and 3 HDMI connections. Most of my viewing is streaming and it doesn't support dolby digital plus so I'm only getting stereo anyway, should I just run the HDMI to the TV and do optical out? This should solve the popping and sound dropouts correct?
yup try optical from the TV to the soundbar instead. I had the SB400, it has excellent audio quality, but the popping and dropouts for PCM audio made me return it. I got the Harman Kardon SB 26 to replace it, the Harman Kardon has been perfect.
gp-se is offline  
post #128 of 134 Old 12-04-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
squidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gp-se View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidget View Post
I've had mine for about a month now and the sound dropouts and popping have started. I wish I had seen this thread before - I would have probably gotten something else. I specifically picked it for wireless sub and 3 HDMI connections. Most of my viewing is streaming and it doesn't support dolby digital plus so I'm only getting stereo anyway, should I just run the HDMI to the TV and do optical out? This should solve the popping and sound dropouts correct?
yup try optical from the TV to the soundbar instead. I had the SB400, it has excellent audio quality, but the popping and dropouts for PCM audio made me return it. I got the Harman Kardon SB 26 to replace it, the Harman Kardon has been perfect.
Does the SB 26 support DD+?
squidget is offline  
post #129 of 134 Old 12-04-2014, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
gp-se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidget View Post
Does the SB 26 support DD+?
it does Dolby Digital, and can do 7.1 PCM

I use my PS4 for blu-ray, so any Dolby Digital HD, or DTS-MA gets processed by the PS4, which will send the 7.1ch PCM audio to the soundbar. The SB 26 plays it back no issue. As for Dolby Digital+ it should be backward compatible with Dolby Digital, if so then the SB26 will play it.
gp-se is offline  
post #130 of 134 Old 12-04-2014, 05:56 PM
Member
 
squidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a ps3 for blu ray and games but all streaming is on the firetv. For sound over hdmi my only choices are DD+ and stereo. The firetv does not downgrade so the soundbar would have to do it. The SB400 does not so I get no sound when DD+ is selected. Trying to avoid that situation again if I replace.
squidget is offline  
post #131 of 134 Old 12-13-2014, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Difficulty with TV apps through soundbar

Hello,
I just set up my new SB400 with Dish running into an HDMI port and the HDMI Arc connectded to the Arc port of my Panasonic VT. I also have the optical ports connected.

I can get the soundbar to work with my satellite and sometimes when i GoogleCast. But when i open the YouTube app on my smart TV, the soundbar can't find it. Usually the screen goes dark and none of the inputs on the soundbar can find the signal so each screen is black with a no signal message.
THere are some times where i switch from Satellite to GoogleCast where i have to shut the soundbar off and turn it on so it resets - as switching the input doesn't work.

Does anyone know how to get audio from one of my TV apps through the Soundbar?
buckyweinstein is offline  
post #132 of 134 Old 12-14-2014, 12:23 AM
Member
 
DrewSRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckyweinstein View Post
Hello,
I just set up my new SB400 with Dish running into an HDMI port and the HDMI Arc connectded to the Arc port of my Panasonic VT. I also have the optical ports connected.

I can get the soundbar to work with my satellite and sometimes when i GoogleCast. But when i open the YouTube app on my smart TV, the soundbar can't find it. Usually the screen goes dark and none of the inputs on the soundbar can find the signal so each screen is black with a no signal message.
THere are some times where i switch from Satellite to GoogleCast where i have to shut the soundbar off and turn it on so it resets - as switching the input doesn't work.

Does anyone know how to get audio from one of my TV apps through the Soundbar?
That is strange. Is your Soundbar connected to your TV through an optical port? It should work then.
DrewSRX is online now  
post #133 of 134 Old 12-14-2014, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes it is - i added that in last night. It still is acting strange.
buckyweinstein is offline  
post #134 of 134 Unread Today, 01:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
guys

i am torn between jbl sb400 and hk sb26.

i have heard the sound of sb400 and its amazing and the bass is superb.

hows hk sb26?

cheers
dying4004 is online now  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Jbl Cinema Sb 400 Plug N Play 2 X 60 Watt Soundbar System , Harman Kardon Sb 30 5 1 Soundbar And Wireless Subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off