need help hooking up a vizio to an emerson - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-27-2012, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
akaysills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for some advice hooking up our 32in Emerson (LC320EM3F) LCD TV to our Vizio VSB207 soundbar. The sound bar comes with an RCA cable but nothing else. As far as I can tell, there is no port for optical or coaxial cables on the soundbar.
We have literally went around and around with this set up; trying different tv settings and input settings on the sound bar. Best buy told us to get an optical cable but there isn't a spot for one, so do we need a converter of some sort?
This isn't the first soundbar we've tried. We bought a cheap ilive on black friday and couldn't get it to work either. We bought an RCA converter for that and had no luck. Are we missing something obvious? Or is there even a possibility that the t.v just isn't compatible (a cheap black friday purchase as well).
Any help is valued!!!
akaysills is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-28-2012, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I am having a hard time finding information on that specific TV model. That said, it appears that you have 2 analog connection options on the soundbar. You should have gotten a 3.5mm to RCA cable included in the box. Does your TV have RCA or 3.5mm audio output? I have a hard time believing that it doesn't have at least 1. Take a look here for a visual on connections:

http://store.vizio.com/documents/downloads/accessories/VSB207/QSG_VSB207.pdf

Look at page 5 specifically.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-28-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Here's a link to the spec sheet for the TV. The specs list digital audio out (coax). I didn't check specs for the soundbar, but if it indeed only has analog audio in, then you need to get a converter like this one.
Possumgirl is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off