Vizio's New True 5.1 Soundbar S4251W - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 853 Old 01-11-2014, 02:04 AM
Member
 
skellogg02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Needing some help. Just picked one of these up.

Have a direct tv system that wast put in last year with the genie and mini genie receivers. I have put the soundbar in my bedroom. I first hooked it up to my Panasonic TC-P50ST30 plasma via optical. I have HDMI cables running from the mini genie and blu ray player to the TV. It sounded great but then I read the TV does not pass through 5.1 via optical so I wanted to hook the soundbar directly to the sources.

When hooking the soundbar to the genie mini receiver via by the digital coax cable, the soundbar makes a very loud pop and chirp sound when I change the channel from a non HD to a HD channel. It only does this with Dolby Digital turned to ON, on the genie mini. It makes the sound and Dolby Digital does light up on the soundbar, but then I lose sound from the sub and rear speakers. I have updated the soundbar to the latest firmware also. I tried it on 2 different mini genies we have. If i turn dolby digital to OFF on the genie mini, it still sounds good and the sub and rears work, but I feel like its not working as intended.

I purchased at Sam's and we already let the trash take the box because I thought it was fine, after just having the optical connected to the TV. Only had it a week.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. I've tried 2 different digital coax cables too.
skellogg02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 853 Old 01-11-2014, 07:48 AM
Newbie
 
SirLance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Yeah, it just stays up for a few seconds. I actually recorded an example of how that works: http://youtu.be/DZHmgSNliEw

 

I am surprised there is no mention of this in the Manual. But if you don't see the DTS/Digital signal flash up then all you're getting is the simulated surround. It still sounds decent but it's not quite as nice :)

JDMxB likes this.
SirLance is offline  
post #363 of 853 Old 01-12-2014, 01:40 AM
Member
 
JDMxB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLance View Post

Yeah, it just stays up for a few seconds. I actually recorded an example of how that works: http://youtu.be/DZHmgSNliEw

I am surprised there is no mention of this in the Manual. But if you don't see the DTS/Digital signal flash up then all you're getting is the simulated surround. It still sounds decent but it's not quite as nice smile.gif


SirLance -- would like to thank you and your extensive youtube video for convincing me that this was the soundbar I should get. Couldn't be happier with my purchase!
JDMxB is offline  
post #364 of 853 Old 01-12-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are most of you leaving Truvolume on or off?
mercennarius is offline  
post #365 of 853 Old 01-12-2014, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
photogpab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

anyone want to give suggestions on what the best settings are? like what should we set bass, treble, surround, etc to? 

 

i'm sure there are ideal settings.

 

also, strangest thing... so ever since i connected the Vizio sound bar directly into the blu-ray player with the "digital" cable, I DO see the "digital" logo flash for a few seconds when watching a blu-ray and i def can tell a difference... it sounds awesome! but... i was watching "the color purple" the other day which says its dts but the digital logo would not show up whenever i powered on the sound bar.

 

then i tried another blu-ray and it worked! but not for color purple. odd huh?

photogpab is offline  
post #366 of 853 Old 01-14-2014, 11:06 AM
Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have some questions guys... So on my vizio 5.1 system my rear left speaker sometimes distorts and it's the only speaker to do so and it's happens like once or twice per movie not a lot but should I exchange it??? It seems it's only with high treb and what settings are most of you using
JD4L is offline  
post #367 of 853 Old 01-15-2014, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Iocol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody use their 4251 with brackets for their TV? I'm thinking of attaching the soundbar above the TV (in order to avoid blocking the IR) - I know a lot of people recommend Sewell brackets.
Iocol is offline  
post #368 of 853 Old 01-15-2014, 05:43 PM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15

has anyone tried to mount the rears somehow?

I find the visible wires in the livingroom to be unacceptable... any suggestions?

shnxx is offline  
post #369 of 853 Old 01-15-2014, 05:56 PM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15

The wires that connect the sub to the rears are way too short for my livingroom. Does anyone have any suggestions on what type of wires I need to buy?

shnxx is offline  
post #370 of 853 Old 01-15-2014, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bigpoppa206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Darn, trying to find a deal on these.
bigpoppa206 is offline  
post #371 of 853 Old 01-15-2014, 10:52 PM
Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D you ever notice any distortion in the rear speakers on high treb??
JD4L is offline  
post #372 of 853 Old 01-16-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Michaeldef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You can either buy rca couplings and add an extension to yours or just simply cut em and splice in more wire in between
Michaeldef is offline  
post #373 of 853 Old 01-16-2014, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Peaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post

has anyone tried to mount the rears somehow?
I find the visible wires in the livingroom to be unacceptable... any suggestions?

I have speaker stands for mine and the stands are hollow. Normally this would allow you to snake the wire inside so you don't see it. With this setup, the RCA style ends are too big and won't fit through the opening in the stand. I could cut and solder the wires I suppose and may at some point. For now I've coiled the wire around the stand and it's sort of hidden.

I think if you want to hide the wires with minimal fuss, stands are the way to go. I'd rather not punch holes in the wall and bother with a fish tape to hide the wires. It's a lot easier to run wire in the speaker stand if you must hide it.
Peaty is offline  
post #374 of 853 Old 01-16-2014, 10:55 AM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peaty View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by shnxx View Post

has anyone tried to mount the rears somehow?
I find the visible wires in the livingroom to be unacceptable... any suggestions?

I have speaker stands for mine and the stands are hollow. Normally this would allow you to snake the wire inside so you don't see it. With this setup, the RCA style ends are too big and won't fit through the opening in the stand. I could cut and solder the wires I suppose and may at some point. For now I've coiled the wire around the stand and it's sort of hidden.

I think if you want to hide the wires with minimal fuss, stands are the way to go. I'd rather not punch holes in the wall and bother with a fish tape to hide the wires. It's a lot easier to run wire in the speaker stand if you must hide it.

Has anyone found speaker stands that can fit the wires?
rebirth24 likes this.
shnxx is offline  
post #375 of 853 Old 01-16-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
rebirth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicRedStapler View Post

That picture doesn't look "real" to me...so I'm not sure those are actual stands. I picked these up from the local Bestbuy and they work great: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sanus+-+Adjustable-Height+Speaker+Stands+(pair)/5590489.p?id=1055388028260&skuId=5590489&st=sanus%20speaker%20stands&cp=1&lp=1#tab=overview

The drawback to the RCA cables for the surround sound speakers is that you cannot route wires through the stands, but the black straps that came with the sound bar took care of that and you can't even notice since it is black wires on a black stand.

Are there any stands out there that work with routing the RCA cables through the stands themselves??
rebirth24 is offline  
post #376 of 853 Old 01-16-2014, 11:27 PM
Newbie
 
crayzieap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebirth24 View Post

Are there any stands out there that work with routing the RCA cables through the stands themselves??

Look at my post on page 11. Perfect stands imo

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1451371/vizios-new-true-5-1-soundbar-s4251w/300#post_24122628
crayzieap is offline  
post #377 of 853 Old 01-16-2014, 11:30 PM
Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post

Look at my post on page 11. Perfect stands imo


Do your rear speakers have any distortion when there's high treb
JD4L is offline  
post #378 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 12:17 AM
Member
 
rebirth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post

Look at my post on page 11. Perfect stands imo

How are these on carpet?
rebirth24 is offline  
post #379 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
ofhs93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These stands have been reviewed by multiple folks that are using the S4251W and are confirmed to have large enough access to fit the RCA cables through.

http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PHSTD1-Adjustable-Theater-Speaker/dp/B0040ITOAA/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
ofhs93 is offline  
post #380 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 08:06 AM
Member
 
rebirth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofhs93 View Post

These stands have been reviewed by multiple folks that are using the S4251W and are confirmed to have large enough access to fit the RCA cables through.

http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PHSTD1-Adjustable-Theater-Speaker/dp/B0040ITOAA/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Good to know.

Anyone use these before? Comments?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/omnimount-el0b-speaker-stand/4163599.p?id=1218456912982&skuId=4163599#tab=overview
rebirth24 is offline  
post #381 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
bowlopho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
bowlopho is offline  
post #382 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
crayzieap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post

Look at my post on page 11. Perfect stands imo


No issues on carpet. The stands are heavy and have a good weight on it. Very stable.
crayzieap is offline  
post #383 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
crayzieap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post

Do your rear speakers have any distortion when there's high treb

Haven't noticed a distortion issue with the treble. But on my personal settings I have set my treble 1-2 ticks lower than the default settings. Maybe this has to do with it.

The only issue I've noticed on my rear speakers is a low hissing static when the volume is set to 1 LED bar and the incoming signal is weak.
JD4L likes this.
crayzieap is offline  
post #384 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
bowlopho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post

Do your rear speakers have any distortion when there's high treb

my rear speakers do not have any distortion (or hissing), that I can notice. treble is set to +3-+4 over 0
bowlopho is offline  
post #385 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
shnxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post


Recommend these. No bending or drilling. Only parts needed is two M4 nuts. If you used the M4 screws supplied by Vizio to mount the center soundbar then you'll need the M4 flat phillips screws as well.

Basically mount the supplied satellite brackets to the speakers from Vizio. Construct the stand and use one of the washers supplied from the stands in conjunction with the M4 screw and nut and secure. No bending. No nothing. Just remember to use to long L brackets supplied from the stands during construction. Both the bracket from Vizio and the stands lineup up great.

Got mine in black. Good luck!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000289DCG/ref=mp_s_a_1_11?qid=1388128056&sr=1-11

Images of stand with Vizio speakers:

http://imgur.com/a/aTS4r

 

 

ahhhhh thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

shnxx is offline  
post #386 of 853 Old 01-17-2014, 10:24 PM
Member
 
rebirth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post

No issues on carpet. The stands are heavy and have a good weight on it. Very stable.

Ok last question, I promise :-) Those are M4 screw/nut/washer on the rear right?
rebirth24 is offline  
post #387 of 853 Old 01-18-2014, 12:25 AM
Newbie
 
crayzieap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebirth24 View Post

Ok last question, I promise :-) Those are M4 screw/nut/washer on the rear right?

Correct. The big washer comes with the stand. The M4 screw nuts are required and need. I purchased them from home depot.

But if you didn't use the mounting m4 scew with the built in washer from the Vizio package, you can use those instead of buying them also at the hardware store. Just remember to us the big washer from the stands.

Good luck. Also remember to have the banana plugs end of the cables attach to the subwoofers and the other end of the cord with the straight plug to the rear speakers. I read an Amazon review where the person had mounting problems when connecting the banana plus to the rear with these stands.
rebirth24 likes this.
crayzieap is offline  
post #388 of 853 Old 01-18-2014, 01:18 AM
Member
 
rebirth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crayzieap View Post

Correct. The big washer comes with the stand. The M4 screw nuts are required and need. I purchased them from home depot.

But if you didn't use the mounting m4 scew with the built in washer from the Vizio package, you can use those instead of buying them also at the hardware store. Just remember to us the big washer from the stands.

Good luck. Also remember to have the banana plugs end of the cables attach to the subwoofers and the other end of the cord with the straight plug to the rear speakers. I read an Amazon review where the person had mounting problems when connecting the banana plus to the rear with these stands.

Thanks a bunch! Will head to HD tomorrow and grab that m4 combo. Looks good so far!
rebirth24 is offline  
post #389 of 853 Old 01-18-2014, 10:51 PM
Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks I figured out my problem I had surround all the way up so some scene se I guess it was sending to much power I put it on 2 dots up and there's no prob now
JD4L is offline  
post #390 of 853 Old 01-18-2014, 10:53 PM
Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowlopho View Post

my rear speakers do not have any distortion (or hissing), that I can notice. treble is set to +3-+4 over 0

Thank you I solved my problem I had the surround feature all the way turned up and sometimes it was giving to much power is my guess and now I just have it at 2 dots passed the middle and now static or hissing anymore
JD4L is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Vizio S4251w B4 5 1 Soundbar
Gear in this thread - S4251w by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off