Vizio's New True 5.1 Soundbar S4251W - Page 31 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Soundbars > Vizio's New True 5.1 Soundbar S4251W

Soundbars

123go
01:16 AM Liked: 0
post #901 of 916
12-19-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
I just got this soundbar today, my first impressions are its just Okay!

1) 2 two rear speakers are very very quiet compared to the central bar and i barely notice them

2) when i link it to the ps4 with optical and try to get a dolby or dts sound it flashes and recognizes but the speakers stop functionning for some reasons i ignore.

3) i had a samsung F450 winch i returned and i prefered the quality of the basa on that even if the mids and highs were not so clear the precision and depth of drums, guitars were better sounding and there was a wow factor each time , even if the vizio sounds more natural its a little more boring too.

maybe ill change my mind in time once i figure out how to set everything properly but for now the only think i like his hearing the bullets in the subwoofer in COD...
Charles Tintera's Avatar Charles Tintera
03:09 AM Liked: 12
post #902 of 916
12-19-2014 | Posts: 88
Joined: Oct 2007
I went overboard and bought a Refurbd Sony 550, a Monoprice switcher and a couple new speaker stands.
I mean to set up the Sony and the switcher so I can compare the audio from Vizio TV > Vizio Soundboard combi to that of the Vizio TV > Sony > 5.1 Surround Speakers.
I realize that the tonal quality is one issue and true Surround sound is another. But hey, life's an adventure.
Well that's my story and I'm sticking to it๐Ÿ˜€
Karyk's Avatar Karyk
09:09 AM Liked: 33
post #903 of 916
12-19-2014 | Posts: 6,474
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by 123go View Post
I just got this soundbar today, my first impressions are its just Okay!

1) 2 two rear speakers are very very quiet compared to the central bar and i barely notice them
That is adjustable with the remote, but IMHO you should just barely notice them, unless there's something specific in the sound track that is intended to be noticeable--e.g. tires screeching as a car speeds away.

I don't want to be constantly reminded that there are rear speakers.
bigachx's Avatar bigachx
01:08 PM Liked: 10
post #904 of 916
12-19-2014 | Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post
That is adjustable with the remote, but IMHO you should just barely notice them, unless there's something specific in the sound track that is intended to be noticeable--e.g. tires screeching as a car speeds away.

I don't want to be constantly reminded that there are rear speakers.
Funny, I'm exactly the opposite, I have my rear speakers waaaay higher than the center, I don't want to ever forget that there are rear speakers :-)
123go
07:30 PM Liked: 0
post #905 of 916
12-20-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
Yes i just figures out what works best is to have the rear speakers at higher volume to get more a surround feel, and i turned out surround and there still working well..problem fixed. New problem now cant get aux to work from tv or cable box for some reason,
gcretro's Avatar gcretro
09:55 PM Liked: 10
post #906 of 916
12-20-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2014
123go,
How exactly do I make the rear speakers volume higher? I just setup my Vizio's S4251w-B4 yesterday.

I am kinda disappointed since my new Samsung smartTV's optical out doesn't pass through 5.1 from HDMI sources. For now, I have connected my blu-ray layer to sound bar's digital input.
123go
11:30 PM Liked: 0
post #907 of 916
12-20-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
in order to make the rear speakers higher u have to play with the setting i don't remember by heart but its with:
center and mostly surround balance wich has to be at max or almost

i also turned off truevolume and surround mode , i don't know if that changes anything but the rear speakers are very loud and perfect like this u actually feel ure in a hockey game and the fans are chanting next to u ...try to play with these settings u should be able to reach a good sound , not sure however if u have to turn down truevolume and surround, i like the sound like that so i just keep them off for now.
Karyk's Avatar Karyk
09:11 AM Liked: 33
post #908 of 916
12-21-2014 | Posts: 6,474
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcretro View Post
123go,
How exactly do I make the rear speakers volume higher? I just setup my Vizio's S4251w-B4 yesterday.
From the remote. From memory it's the middle button at the top, and then you toggle through the choices until you get to rear surround level.
SnoPro700's Avatar SnoPro700
07:45 AM Liked: 17
post #909 of 916
12-23-2014 | Posts: 97
Joined: Jan 2014
my question has probably been covered but is it possible to connect a different subwoofer to this soundbar?
Karyk's Avatar Karyk
08:21 AM Liked: 33
post #910 of 916
12-23-2014 | Posts: 6,474
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoPro700 View Post
my question has probably been covered but is it possible to connect a different subwoofer to this soundbar?
No, there are only inputs on the soundbar.
gcretro's Avatar gcretro
10:02 PM Liked: 10
post #911 of 916
12-23-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2014
No there isn't any menu item for rear speakers explicitly.
123go
11:19 PM Liked: 0
post #912 of 916
12-23-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
my settings for

center change it form -3 to +3 from middle
trebble -3 to -5 (tremble sounds not so good on the vizio i find)
bass +1 to +4
surround +2 to +4 sometimes bring it back to middle
surround balance leave it a middle
subwoofer +2

truevolume off when on ps4 cause volume goes up and down for no reason...on the rest of the time

im getting the firmware cause there is a lot of issues with the remote...not sure it will help ....
kpiskin's Avatar kpiskin
07:15 AM Liked: 12
post #913 of 916
Yesterday | Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2008
Luckily for me the default settings work and since I also have a Vizio TV, I can use my tv remote to control audio volume. For the money and convenience this is a great surround system.
gcretro's Avatar gcretro
05:34 PM Liked: 10
post #914 of 916
Yesterday | Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by 123go View Post
my settings for
surround +2 to +4 sometimes bring it back to middle

im getting the firmware cause there is a lot of issues with the remote...not sure it will help ....
Is there a way to check the version of the firmware currently in the sound bar?

I noticed that there is a firmware update on vizio's support site, but it says only IF needed and cites some specific audio drop issues which I don't have.

Has anyone upgraded their firmware to this (version 1017)?
http://support.vizio.com/product/s4251w-b4
123go
09:14 PM Liked: 0
post #915 of 916
Yesterday | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2014
im trying to upgrade it but its not working its not reading the usb and the usb dosent seem to fit perfectly unless i use force (and i dont want to break the thing)
Charles Tintera's Avatar Charles Tintera
04:02 AM Liked: 12
post #916 of 916
Today | Posts: 88
Joined: Oct 2007
I just tried a PNY 128GB and it fit without any problem.
Tags: Vizio S4251w B4 5 1 Soundbar

Gear in this thread - S4251w by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Soundbars

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3