Vizio's New True 5.1 Soundbar S4251W - Page 35 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 1034 Old 07-03-2015, 04:38 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious if anyone else has this problem. Since I updated the firmware to 1017 when I use 30 second skip or fast forward thru commercials using my Tivo Premiere (w/Dolby Digital setting with Tivo) at some point during the recorded show I hear "Popping or Crackling" sound and then I lose the Dolby Digital Light on the Sound bar and I can tell something has gone wrong. Talked to a Vizio engineer and he believes that the vizio firmware just doesn't like the Tivo software. Please reply back with any suggestions or others that are experiencing this problem. Thanks
mountlaurel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1034 Old 07-03-2015, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Just curious if anyone else has this problem. Since I updated the firmware to 1017 when I use 30 second skip or fast forward thru commercials using my Tivo Premiere (w/Dolby Digital setting with Tivo) at some point during the recorded show I hear "Popping or Crackling" sound and then I lose the Dolby Digital Light on the Sound bar and I can tell something has gone wrong. Talked to a Vizio engineer and he believes that the vizio firmware just doesn't like the Tivo software. Please reply back with any suggestions or others that are experiencing this problem. Thanks
Try to duplicate the problem in the middle of a Dolby program, not a commercial. It is possible it is the audio in the non Dolby commercial. How are you connected to the SB & your TV? Are you using TruVolume? With my 54 incher I occasionally (once or twice a day) get a pop during skips on my Dish DVR. I use an optical from my source to the Bar and HDMI to the TV.

Last edited by naustin; 07-03-2015 at 08:45 PM.
naustin is online now  
post #1023 of 1034 Old 07-03-2015, 03:16 PM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes using TruVolume. Lose the Dolby Digital light when skipping thru commercials or anywhere during the recorded program.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1024 of 1034 Old 07-03-2015, 07:01 PM
Member
 
nxmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Just curious if anyone else has this problem. Since I updated the firmware to 1017 when I use 30 second skip or fast forward thru commercials using my Tivo Premiere (w/Dolby Digital setting with Tivo) at some point during the recorded show I hear "Popping or Crackling" sound and then I lose the Dolby Digital Light on the Sound bar and I can tell something has gone wrong. Talked to a Vizio engineer and he believes that the vizio firmware just doesn't like the Tivo software. Please reply back with any suggestions or others that are experiencing this problem. Thanks
Can I ask, how did you manage to talk to a Vizio engineer? Did you somehow get your call elevated when calling customer service?

I would love to ask one of them about the subwoofer volume issues that plague these units.
nxmehta is offline  
post #1025 of 1034 Old 07-03-2015, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Yes using TruVolume. Lose the Dolby Digital light when skipping thru commercials or anywhere during the recorded program.
Ok you lose the light everywhere, but do you get the popping when test skipping in regular programming? You might want to try turning TruVolume off and see if things improve.
naustin is online now  
post #1026 of 1034 Old 07-04-2015, 05:28 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometimes a get poping before i lose Dolby digtal light. That's when I know when it's going to happen again. I think I tried turning off the TruVolume and it still did not resolve the issue.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1027 of 1034 Old 07-06-2015, 05:38 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the original Firmware (number) was for 4251w-b4? Currently using 1017 which has bugs.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1028 of 1034 Old 07-23-2015, 10:40 PM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will go back and read the entire thread, but thus far I've only read the last page, sorry. Has anyone tried using different speakers than those supplied by Vizio as satellites? I was thinking about buying a pair of KEF eggs and replacing the stock rears with them. Does the amp in the subwoofer have enough oomph to drive other, more quality, speakers?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is online now  
post #1029 of 1034 Old 07-24-2015, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
I will go back and read the entire thread, but thus far I've only read the last page, sorry. Has anyone tried using different speakers than those supplied by Vizio as satellites? I was thinking about buying a pair of KEF eggs and replacing the stock rears with them. Does the amp in the subwoofer have enough oomph to drive other, more quality, speakers?
Maybe. I'm using the 54 incher, which probably has a few more watts with small Inifinty minuettes (2 way w/15-80w rms power handling). To further minimise power issues stick with an 8 ohm speaker.

I wouldn't recommend buying new rear speakers, since these systems are supposed balanced. I already had the Minuettes from my former 5.1 AVR setup and they were similar in driver size. Doing a bit of switching between the Vizio & Minuettes didn't produce much sonic difference, but I prefer a separate tweeter.

Last edited by naustin; 07-24-2015 at 10:57 AM. Reason: more info
naustin is online now  
post #1030 of 1034 Old 07-25-2015, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How does the 5.1 compare to the S4221W-C4?
sndr15 is offline  
post #1031 of 1034 Old Yesterday, 01:00 PM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Maybe. I'm using the 54 incher, which probably has a few more watts with small Inifinty minuettes (2 way w/15-80w rms power handling). To further minimise power issues stick with an 8 ohm speaker.

I wouldn't recommend buying new rear speakers, since these systems are supposed balanced. I already had the Minuettes from my former 5.1 AVR setup and they were similar in driver size. Doing a bit of switching between the Vizio & Minuettes didn't produce much sonic difference, but I prefer a separate tweeter.
Thanks, good to know. You're probably right, as any quality output is driven by the electronics and general fidelity of the bluetooth-ish connection and whatever crossover-ish system they are using. Given that the Infinity's were free to you, would you say the upgrade was worth it. Out of ten, rate the stock Vizio vs. your upgrade if you could please.

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is online now  
post #1032 of 1034 Old Yesterday, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
Thanks, good to know. You're probably right, as any quality output is driven by the electronics and general fidelity of the bluetooth-ish connection and whatever crossover-ish system they are using. Given that the Infinity's were free to you, would you say the upgrade was worth it. Out of ten, rate the stock Vizio vs. your upgrade if you could please.
I'd say a 7 for the Vizio rears and maybe an 8 for the Infinitys. Very minimal with this soundbar, whereas with my AVR I'd have given the Infinitys a 10.
naustin is online now  
post #1033 of 1034 Old Today, 12:42 AM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I'd say a 7 for the Vizio rears and maybe an 8 for the Infinitys. Very minimal with this soundbar, whereas with my AVR I'd have given the Infinitys a 10.
Sorry, too many acronyms, what is AVR?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is online now  
post #1034 of 1034 Old Today, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
Sorry, too many acronyms, what is AVR?
Audio Video Receiver 5.1 system where I used the Infinitys for the rear speakers/
naustin is online now  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Vizio S4251w B4 5 1 Soundbar
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off