Vizio's New True 5.1 Soundbar S4251W - Page 35 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 1040 Old 07-03-2015, 04:38 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious if anyone else has this problem. Since I updated the firmware to 1017 when I use 30 second skip or fast forward thru commercials using my Tivo Premiere (w/Dolby Digital setting with Tivo) at some point during the recorded show I hear "Popping or Crackling" sound and then I lose the Dolby Digital Light on the Sound bar and I can tell something has gone wrong. Talked to a Vizio engineer and he believes that the vizio firmware just doesn't like the Tivo software. Please reply back with any suggestions or others that are experiencing this problem. Thanks
mountlaurel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1040 Old 07-03-2015, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Just curious if anyone else has this problem. Since I updated the firmware to 1017 when I use 30 second skip or fast forward thru commercials using my Tivo Premiere (w/Dolby Digital setting with Tivo) at some point during the recorded show I hear "Popping or Crackling" sound and then I lose the Dolby Digital Light on the Sound bar and I can tell something has gone wrong. Talked to a Vizio engineer and he believes that the vizio firmware just doesn't like the Tivo software. Please reply back with any suggestions or others that are experiencing this problem. Thanks
Try to duplicate the problem in the middle of a Dolby program, not a commercial. It is possible it is the audio in the non Dolby commercial. How are you connected to the SB & your TV? Are you using TruVolume? With my 54 incher I occasionally (once or twice a day) get a pop during skips on my Dish DVR. I use an optical from my source to the Bar and HDMI to the TV.

Last edited by naustin; 07-03-2015 at 08:45 PM.
naustin is offline  
post #1023 of 1040 Old 07-03-2015, 03:16 PM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes using TruVolume. Lose the Dolby Digital light when skipping thru commercials or anywhere during the recorded program.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1024 of 1040 Old 07-03-2015, 07:01 PM
Member
 
nxmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Just curious if anyone else has this problem. Since I updated the firmware to 1017 when I use 30 second skip or fast forward thru commercials using my Tivo Premiere (w/Dolby Digital setting with Tivo) at some point during the recorded show I hear "Popping or Crackling" sound and then I lose the Dolby Digital Light on the Sound bar and I can tell something has gone wrong. Talked to a Vizio engineer and he believes that the vizio firmware just doesn't like the Tivo software. Please reply back with any suggestions or others that are experiencing this problem. Thanks
Can I ask, how did you manage to talk to a Vizio engineer? Did you somehow get your call elevated when calling customer service?

I would love to ask one of them about the subwoofer volume issues that plague these units.
nxmehta is offline  
post #1025 of 1040 Old 07-03-2015, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountlaurel View Post
Yes using TruVolume. Lose the Dolby Digital light when skipping thru commercials or anywhere during the recorded program.
Ok you lose the light everywhere, but do you get the popping when test skipping in regular programming? You might want to try turning TruVolume off and see if things improve.
naustin is offline  
post #1026 of 1040 Old 07-04-2015, 05:28 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometimes a get poping before i lose Dolby digtal light. That's when I know when it's going to happen again. I think I tried turning off the TruVolume and it still did not resolve the issue.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1027 of 1040 Old 07-06-2015, 05:38 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the original Firmware (number) was for 4251w-b4? Currently using 1017 which has bugs.
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1028 of 1040 Old 07-23-2015, 10:40 PM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will go back and read the entire thread, but thus far I've only read the last page, sorry. Has anyone tried using different speakers than those supplied by Vizio as satellites? I was thinking about buying a pair of KEF eggs and replacing the stock rears with them. Does the amp in the subwoofer have enough oomph to drive other, more quality, speakers?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is offline  
post #1029 of 1040 Old 07-24-2015, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
I will go back and read the entire thread, but thus far I've only read the last page, sorry. Has anyone tried using different speakers than those supplied by Vizio as satellites? I was thinking about buying a pair of KEF eggs and replacing the stock rears with them. Does the amp in the subwoofer have enough oomph to drive other, more quality, speakers?
Maybe. I'm using the 54 incher, which probably has a few more watts with small Inifinty minuettes (2 way w/15-80w rms power handling). To further minimise power issues stick with an 8 ohm speaker.

I wouldn't recommend buying new rear speakers, since these systems are supposed balanced. I already had the Minuettes from my former 5.1 AVR setup and they were similar in driver size. Doing a bit of switching between the Vizio & Minuettes didn't produce much sonic difference, but I prefer a separate tweeter.

Last edited by naustin; 07-24-2015 at 10:57 AM. Reason: more info
naustin is offline  
post #1030 of 1040 Old 07-25-2015, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How does the 5.1 compare to the S4221W-C4?
sndr15 is offline  
post #1031 of 1040 Old 07-27-2015, 01:00 PM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Maybe. I'm using the 54 incher, which probably has a few more watts with small Inifinty minuettes (2 way w/15-80w rms power handling). To further minimise power issues stick with an 8 ohm speaker.

I wouldn't recommend buying new rear speakers, since these systems are supposed balanced. I already had the Minuettes from my former 5.1 AVR setup and they were similar in driver size. Doing a bit of switching between the Vizio & Minuettes didn't produce much sonic difference, but I prefer a separate tweeter.
Thanks, good to know. You're probably right, as any quality output is driven by the electronics and general fidelity of the bluetooth-ish connection and whatever crossover-ish system they are using. Given that the Infinity's were free to you, would you say the upgrade was worth it. Out of ten, rate the stock Vizio vs. your upgrade if you could please.

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is offline  
post #1032 of 1040 Old 07-27-2015, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
Thanks, good to know. You're probably right, as any quality output is driven by the electronics and general fidelity of the bluetooth-ish connection and whatever crossover-ish system they are using. Given that the Infinity's were free to you, would you say the upgrade was worth it. Out of ten, rate the stock Vizio vs. your upgrade if you could please.
I'd say a 7 for the Vizio rears and maybe an 8 for the Infinitys. Very minimal with this soundbar, whereas with my AVR I'd have given the Infinitys a 10.
naustin is offline  
post #1033 of 1040 Old 07-28-2015, 12:42 AM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I'd say a 7 for the Vizio rears and maybe an 8 for the Infinitys. Very minimal with this soundbar, whereas with my AVR I'd have given the Infinitys a 10.
Sorry, too many acronyms, what is AVR?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is offline  
post #1034 of 1040 Old 07-28-2015, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
Sorry, too many acronyms, what is AVR?
Audio Video Receiver 5.1 system where I used the Infinitys for the rear speakers/
naustin is offline  
post #1035 of 1040 Old 07-28-2015, 06:19 AM
Member
 
mountlaurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using 4251w-b4 Sound Bar sometimes I see Strange Behavior when using channel Up & Down. I see the first "4" LED lights flash before the Dolby Digital Light come on. Is this normal?
mountlaurel is offline  
post #1036 of 1040 Old 07-28-2015, 11:46 AM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Audio Video Receiver 5.1 system where I used the Infinitys for the rear speakers/
So you're not using the amplification of the Vizio? You're using whatever (no signature so we don't know) amp or preamp to drive your rears rather than the Vizio's amp in the subwoofer? I think you implied you were hooking the Infinity's up to the Vizio rear channel (contained in the subwoofer) in your comparison?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is offline  
post #1037 of 1040 Old 07-28-2015, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wekya View Post
So you're not using the amplification of the Vizio? You're using whatever (no signature so we don't know) amp or preamp to drive your rears rather than the Vizio's amp in the subwoofer? I think you implied you were hooking the Infinity's up to the Vizio rear channel (contained in the subwoofer) in your comparison?
Sorry let us start over. I used to have an AVR so I used the Inifinitys from that setup on my Vizio 54 incher, as two ways they sounded slightly better that the stock Vizio rears, but not enough to justify buying replacement rears. The Infinity speakers didn't have as much clarity when connected to the Vizio as previously when I ran an AVR 5.1 system, I'm guessing the Vizio is pushing less power. I now just use the Vizio 5.1 system with rear Infinitys which provide a very slight improvement.
naustin is offline  
post #1038 of 1040 Old 07-29-2015, 01:09 AM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Sorry let us start over. I used to have an AVR so I used the Inifinitys from that setup on my Vizio 54 incher, as two ways they sounded slightly better that the stock Vizio rears, but not enough to justify buying replacement rears. The Infinity speakers didn't have as much clarity when connected to the Vizio as previously when I ran an AVR 5.1 system, I'm guessing the Vizio is pushing less power. I now just use the Vizio 5.1 system with rear Infinitys which provide a very slight improvement.
OK, thanks. Yes the fidelity, and the power of the Vizio amps is not going to be what you had before. I think the 54 incher has better, and perhaps more, power than my 41 incher too. Various reviews have said it is better. It's a tough call to spend another $100, 33% of the original purchase, to get not much more. The Vizio's do sound terribly plastic, and I was just trying to get more hifi sounding sound in my rears. I definitely thank you for your clarity and input.

When I use my Oppo vs the HTPC sound card there is a pretty significant difference in sound quality. I just was hunting for that next level. If I do it I'll report back.

Does anyone have suggestions for small, relatively efficient, and cheap-ish speakers that would fill the bill?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion) OR Oppo 105D>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and Linn silver RCA), OR Optical out from Oppo>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U router
wekya is offline  
post #1039 of 1040 Old 07-29-2015, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by sndr15 View Post
How does the 5.1 compare to the S4221W-C4?
The 5.1 would have a much stronger surround sound element to it, as compared to the S4221W-C4, which is only a 2.1. There would be more clarity and depth since there are more speakers that play different frequency ranges.
naustin likes this.
Bransylow is offline  
post #1040 of 1040 Unread Today, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
newguy416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some help as I can't figure this out.


I just got the S5451w-C2 and I am having a problem getting DD or DTS light to appear.
To make it simple I will list just three connected devices. I have:
Toshiba 46c630
Roku 3
PS3


Initially I connected the Roku and PS3 via HDMI to the TV and then the optical out of the TV to the Vizio. We use the Roku daily and no matter what setting I changed the Roku's audio to, I can't get the DD light to appear. I have tried Amazon Instant, Netflix, Vudu, and Hulu. I then connected the Roku to the Vizio via HDMI and the HDMI out of the Vizio to the TV. Same results. Audio is there but no DD or DTS.


Now, the PS3 is connected via HDMI to the TV and the sound it leaving the TV via Optical to the Vizio. If I watch a blu ray I can get the DD light to appear. But if I try a streaming service, I can't get it to appear.


I must be missing something.... Any tips/advice would be appreciated.
newguy416 is online now  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Vizio S4251w B4 5 1 Soundbar
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off