Samsung HW-E450: no sound using HDMI (arc) connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-21-2013, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
blincokf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help !!
I just bought a Samsung TV UN55ES7100 and soundbar HW-E450.
I tested successfully with optical audio cable. However I have trouble with HDMI.
Here is my setting:
- Cable box connected to TV's HDMI 1
- soundbar HDMI out to TV's HDMI 2 (ARC)
- HDMI-CEC (anynet+) are enabled on both TV and soundbar
soundbar's source selected is 'HDMI' (not 'D.IN')

With above setting, I can see volume bar when I use TV remote volume control, but I cannot get get any sound from soundbar.

I chated with Samsung support online, they insisted I need a optical audio cable in additonal to the hdmi(arc). However from this forum, many postings suggested this is not necessary. Am I wrong?

Any help greated is appreciatd.

Ken
blincokf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-21-2013, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My TV doesn't support ARC but I was recently told that you need to set the source to D.IN when using ARC. There is also a long thread in this forum that is for this soundbar. Take a look if you're still having trouble.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-21-2013, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
blincokf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Doctego,
I finally made it work. What I did was that I temporarily connected the cable box to the soundbar HDMI in, and soundbar HDMI out to TV HDMI 3. This way I was able to have both picture and sound, just could not adjust sound volume using TV's remote. Afterwords I put everything back to the original setting as described in my previous message. Somehow it mystically worked.

Ken
blincokf is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-21-2013, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Glad to hear. If you only have 1 source, I would recommend connecting the cable box to the sound bar via HDMI and then the sound bar to the TV via HDMI. There is no need to connect sources to the TV first unless you have too many sources for the sound bar.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Samsung Hw E450 Wireless Airtrack Soundbar
Gear in this thread - E450 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off