Soundbar setup questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 02-12-2013, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, I am new to the forum and I need some questions answered regarding a soundbar I am looking at and the setup/installation of soundbar. I am looking at getting a Polk sound bar, and not sure if it would even work considering my TV doesn't have a optical audio input on it. My Apple TV and Direct TV receiver have the right inputs but xbox360 doesn't as well. So my question is if I were to get an optical audio splitter could I connect my Apple TV, and Direct TV receiver to soundbar? Or does the soundbar need to be connected directly into TV?? I am a total noob at this sort of stuff so if I sound dumb that is why. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Links below to the TV I have and Soundbar I am looking at getting.

Samsung 32 inch LED TV
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN32EH4003FXZA-specs

Polk Soundbar 5000
http://www.amazon.com/Polk-Audio-Surroundbar-5000-IHT/dp/B009LH9SMO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1360699589&sr=8-3&keywords=polk+sound+bar
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-12-2013, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Welcome.

I always recommend connecting sources directly to the soundbar, whenever possible. Given your current setup, I would recommend getting an optical switch. Something like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=2946&seq=1&format=2#description