Mounting soundbar inside armoire - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-16-2013, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cdublxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am planning on mounting my 40" soundbar just above my 39" LCD inside my armoire. The armoire is all solid wood (not pressed stuff) and I'm wanting to hang it from the ceiling of it making brackets to let me use the wall mount hangers that come with the soundbar. The soundbar is a rolled edge bottom or I would just make the bracket connect to the bar itself.

The question I have is should I drill a hole through the ceiling and run a nut and bolt with a backing plate to support the weight or will a heavy duty lag screw be enough?

The bar will only sit about 6-7" above the screen and goes edge to edge on the armoire. I want to install it this way so I close the doors with company over and it will conceal the whole setup.
cdublxi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cdublxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Brackets are made now. Any input? Going to store tonight to get bolts/screws
cdublxi is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 12:40 PM
 
BobL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
How heavy is the sound bar? How big of lag? I would think lag bolts would work for most unless the sound bar is pretty heavy or the lags are tiny.
BobL is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cdublxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobL View Post

How heavy is the sound bar? How big of lag? I would think lag bolts would work for most unless the sound bar is pretty heavy or the lags are tiny.

Looks like the soundbar is 9.3 lbs. I made the brackets out of 3/16" steel so we'll add a pound there to make it just over 10 lbs.

I laser cut the holes at 6mm but can drill them out to bigger at home if need be. I was going to find whatever size would fit in there. I came up with the 6mm because the stock wall mount bracket that came with it appeared to have a 5.5-6mm hole slot to hang it on.
cdublxi is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
If you can use a bolt on top and it won't show, I would do that. Better to be safe than sorry. Without a bolt, any vibrations or movements could loosen the screws slightly.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cdublxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good point. Think I'll do that then. I have 2 kids that like to run through the house.

Thanks for your input
cdublxi is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off