Home Audio Setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 03:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Steven Weeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I just purchased a Panasonic P55ST50 Plasma TV and Klipsch SB 3 Sound bar. After spending a good chunk of change for these two items I would like to setup all my devices correctly. The TV has 3hdmi inputs and an Optical. The sound bar only has RCA cable outputs and an Optical (NO HDMI). I also have a HDMI cable box and HDMI PS3 to connect. Would someone please be able to tell me if connecting the PS3 and Cable box to the TV via HDMI and then the Sound bar to the TV via Optical is the best way to connect this? or how should I setup to get optimum sound? I'm confused because the cable box and PS3 also have optical as well.

Thank you so much
Steven Weeks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 03:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 858
If the soundbar has only 1 optical port then you dont have any choice, do you?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 04:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Steven Weeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard of something called an optical splitter. Would that help? Would current setup sound bad?

Thanks
Steven Weeks is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Weeks View Post

I heard of something called an optical splitter. Would that help? Would current setup sound bad?

Thanks

You can get something like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=2946&seq=1&format=2

Ideally, I would want to get a soundbar with HDMI input(s). If that wasn't possible, I would get the switch above. You can first hear how it sounds outputting the TV only via optical. If that's good enough, just go with that.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Steven Weeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok thanks. If I did get a sound bar with hdmi wouldn't it need to be turned to that hdmi channel in order to hear from it? Sorry just confused with different ports and functions.

Thanks
Steven Weeks is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 858
How much did you pay for the soundbar?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 10:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Bond 007 is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Steven Weeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this helps the klipsch sb 3 has a built in Dolby digital decoder. What is that?
Steven Weeks is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Steven Weeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$800
Steven Weeks is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Steven Weeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0092QGSHM/ref=mp_s_a_1?qid=1361990322&sr=8-1&pi=SL75
Steven Weeks is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 858
That doesnt help. It means that it will decode Dolby Digital. Means nothing really in terms of a soundbar. You are not going to get 5.1 surround sound. And you will also not get lossless sound (Dolby True HD and Dolby DTS Master Audio). You will get all of that with the setup that I suggested. What are your thoughts on that?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 858
I found that same speaker deal for $250 instead of $399.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10906&cs_id=1090601&p_id=9774&seq=1&format=3#specification

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Weeks View Post

Ok thanks. If I did get a sound bar with hdmi wouldn't it need to be turned to that hdmi channel in order to hear from it? Sorry just confused with different ports and functions.

Thanks

I'm not following. If you got a soundbar with HDMI inputs, you could connect the sources to the soundbar via HDMI and then output the soundbar to the TV via HDMI. That is my preferred method of connection.

I would recommend trying some different connections out. Try connecting the TV to the soundbar via optical. Then, try out your different sources and see how they sound. Next, try connecting your various sources to the soundbar via optical individually (while keeping the HDMI connections to the TV for video). See how that sounds relative to the optical connected from the TV to the soundbar. This is assuming that your sources have an optical connection. If this method sounds better, you can buy the switch that I posted above.

Of course, you can always get another soundbar with HDMI inputs and scrap what I just wrote.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off