Sound bar advice - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-09-2013, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
asutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have SONY 55" TV with 20 Watts speaker output. Upon connection to the cable converter the volume need to bring it up at least 60 on a scale of 1-100 for a descent hear of the conversation. If I buy a sound bar with built in sub-woofer, should I look for something more than 20 Watts or what kind of technical capability I need to hear clearly ?
asutlian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-09-2013, 07:52 PM
Member
 
mr51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Your problem may be with the audio settings of the cable box. I know my Time Warner boxes have a couple of settings in the audio menu that can make a pretty big difference in the volume of the television.
mr51 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-09-2013, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr51 View Post

Your problem may be with the audio settings of the cable box. I know my Time Warner boxes have a couple of settings in the audio menu that can make a pretty big difference in the volume of the television.

In addition, I need to manually turn the volume all the way up on my cable box. Not with the remote. Actually hitting the VOL+ button on my cable box until it's maxed out. If I don't, the volume is low or I hear an annoying noise. Once I turn the volume up on my cable box once, I can control the volume on my TV.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-10-2013, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
asutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, for the comment; Yes I do have Time Warner Cable.
asutlian is offline  
Reply Soundbars

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off