Vizio sound bar, need help! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ewhittin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a Sony blu ray player BDP-S3100 and I need information on how to connect it to my vizio sound bar. I am not very tech savvy so please be patient with me lol. The blu ray only has a coaxial output. Can anyone help?
ewhittin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
What model Vizio soundbar do you have? They make several and they don't all have the same inputs. What inputs does yours have?
Possumgirl is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ewhittin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't remember what model it is but it has the RCA red and white cables.
ewhittin is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Really need the model number or what other inputs it has besides RCA in order to provide advice.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ewhittin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Model # VSB210WS it has the RCA cables and a SP/DIF input that's it. My Sony blu ray only has a digital audio coaxial input
ewhittin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-25-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Your BD player has HDMI out. You can connect it directly to your TV. Assuming your TV has optical audio out, you can then connect it to the optical input on the soundbar. Hopefully the TV automatically outputs PCM or there is a setting on the TV where you tell it to output PCM. The soundbar can only accept PCM on its optical connection. Try that and let us know if it works. If not there is another method, but let's try the easy one first. wink.gif
Possumgirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Vizio Vsb210ws Universal Hd Sound Bar With Wireless Subwoofer
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off