Vizio sound bar, need help! - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Soundbars > Vizio sound bar, need help!

Soundbars

ewhittin's Avatar ewhittin
10:53 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 6
09-25-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
I just purchased a Sony blu ray player BDP-S3100 and I need information on how to connect it to my vizio sound bar. I am not very tech savvy so please be patient with me lol. The blu ray only has a coaxial output. Can anyone help?
Possumgirl's Avatar Possumgirl
12:08 PM Liked: 58
post #2 of 6
09-25-2013 | Posts: 1,901
Joined: Dec 2008
What model Vizio soundbar do you have? They make several and they don't all have the same inputs. What inputs does yours have?
ewhittin's Avatar ewhittin
01:41 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 6
09-25-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
I can't remember what model it is but it has the RCA red and white cables.
Possumgirl's Avatar Possumgirl
02:42 PM Liked: 58
post #4 of 6
09-25-2013 | Posts: 1,901
Joined: Dec 2008
Really need the model number or what other inputs it has besides RCA in order to provide advice.
ewhittin's Avatar ewhittin
05:28 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 6
09-25-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
Model # VSB210WS it has the RCA cables and a SP/DIF input that's it. My Sony blu ray only has a digital audio coaxial input
Possumgirl's Avatar Possumgirl
05:55 PM Liked: 58
post #6 of 6
09-25-2013 | Posts: 1,901
Joined: Dec 2008
Your BD player has HDMI out. You can connect it directly to your TV. Assuming your TV has optical audio out, you can then connect it to the optical input on the soundbar. Hopefully the TV automatically outputs PCM or there is a setting on the TV where you tell it to output PCM. The soundbar can only accept PCM on its optical connection. Try that and let us know if it works. If not there is another method, but let's try the easy one first. wink.gif
Tags: Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Vizio Vsb210ws Universal Hd Sound Bar With Wireless Subwoofer
Gear in this thread
Reply Soundbars

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3