Vizio S5430w-C2 - 54" soundbar with 3 channel - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 72 Old 04-04-2014, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Raven Crimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hey guys, when you add a powered sub, does it turn off the internal one? I ask because the internal ones are absolute garbage.
Raven Crimson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 72 Old 04-07-2014, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven Crimson View Post

Hey guys, when you add a powered sub, does it turn off the internal one? I ask because the internal ones are absolute garbage.

That's a real good question.

One would hope that the crossover gets set in such a way that you never reach the lower frequency or output limit of the soundbar and send all that energy (perhaps below 120hz?) to the sub.

____________________

Build Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nathan_h is offline  
post #63 of 72 Old 04-08-2014, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Raven Crimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Well, the soundbar has a bass setting which can basically eliminate almost all audible bass at it's lowest settings. I did this with my Yamaha sub and works well.m All bass is now coming from the sub. Too bad the sub is very finicky with placement, as in regardless oif where I put it in my room, I lose the vast majority of the bass in my seating position, and it's super powerful in other areas of the room. Gonna have to return it and hope my next one doesn't have such bad hotspots.
Raven Crimson is offline  
post #64 of 72 Old 04-08-2014, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven Crimson View Post

Well, the soundbar has a bass setting which can basically eliminate almost all audible bass at it's lowest settings. I did this with my Yamaha sub and works well.m All bass is now coming from the sub. Too bad the sub is very finicky with placement, as in regardless oif where I put it in my room, I lose the vast majority of the bass in my seating position, and it's super powerful in other areas of the room. Gonna have to return it and hope my next one doesn't have such bad hotspots.

It's not a problem with the sub, it's a problem with the relative placement of sub and seat and how they interact in the room. No sub on earth can alter the laws of physics.

You'll have to either move the sub, or seat, or both.

Do a search for the "subwoofer crawl" or "sub crawl" and you will find lots of good info about what is happening, and how to fix it.

____________________

Build Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nathan_h is offline  
post #65 of 72 Old 04-08-2014, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Raven Crimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yeah, I noticed... no matter what I do it's the same thing... can't do anything about it. frown.gif
Raven Crimson is offline  
post #66 of 72 Old 05-20-2014, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
Rogue4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have the same problem did you ever find a solution?
Thanks
Chuck
Rogue4x4 is offline  
post #67 of 72 Old 05-20-2014, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
Rogue4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see another HDMI a ARC sound bar victim! Any luck with a fix?
Thanks Chuck
Rogue4x4 is offline  
post #68 of 72 Old 05-31-2014, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Nemmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw a fair amount of you guys were still having problems with ARC so I figured I'd give it a shot on mine today. When I originally installed my sound bar I used the optical cable and everything worked fine, see this post for details.

I swapped out the optical cable and went for HDMI (ARC) today and here are the steps of what it took on my setup to get it working.

For Reference I have...
  • Vizio E701i-A3 television.
  • Vizio s5430w-C2 soundbar.
  • Logitech Harmony Smart Control remote.
  • Scientic Atlantic Cable Box with HDMI-out to HDMI 4 input on tv.
  • ROKU 3 with HDMI-out to HDMI 3 input on tv.
  • All components are hidden in an adjacent closet which is now media closet. All wires fished through wall behind tv.
  • 2 HDMI cables from media closet to back of tv.

Steps
  1. Connect an HDMI cable from HDMI 1 (ARC) on back of the TV to HDMI OUT (ARC) on back of the soundbar.

  2. Turn on the TV and go to Menu, then Settings, then CEC Settings.
  3. Enable the CEC function.
  4. Turn ON the System Audio Control.
  5. Click on Device Discovery and ensure Audio System is found.
  6. Ensure the soundbar is set to HDMI 6 (ARC) by using the soundbar remote.
  7. You should now have audio sound coming through the soundbar and the TV speakers have been disabled by default. When you turn up the volume on with the TV remote the soundbar volume should increase.



Let me know if you guys have any questions, hope this helps.


Credit to snoukka for his post & the heads up on CEC needing to be enabled.
Nemmeh is offline  
post #69 of 72 Old 06-08-2014, 05:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My mother just got this Vizio TV:

http://www.samsclub.com/sams/65in-razor-led-3d-m-series-smart/prod9930017.ip?navAction=push

She lives in a loft apartment with a large living room/dining area/kitchen and high ceilings. She hates the sound from the TV and wants a soundbar. I originally thought that the S4251W-B4 would be good for her but there are 2 potential problems. First, it might look too small under the TV. If it was centered, I don't see this as being a big issue. Second (and most important), the cables for the satellite speakers are too short. I was hoping to be able to hide the speakers in her open ceiling and angle them down. That would require long cables.

That brings me to the S5430w-C2 soundbar. I don't feel that she needs the rear satellite speakers so this soundbar, combined with a sub, might be the way to go for her. Would this be a decent subwoofer to pair with this soundbar:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=109&cp_id=10906&cs_id=1090602&p_id=8248&seq=1&format=2#description

If so, I know that I will also need a Y-adapter. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #70 of 72 Old 06-08-2014, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Shockwave199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can extend the rca cables with typical rca cable and adapters. It's just rca wires. So if rear speakers would be appreciated, which I think very much are, no problem.
Shockwave199 is online now  
post #71 of 72 Old 06-08-2014, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockwave199 View Post

You can extend the rca cables with typical rca cable and adapters. It's just rca wires. So if rear speakers would be appreciated, which I think very much are, no problem.

Thanks. It still might not be ideal because her ceilings are high and open and there might not be a way to hide the wires.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #72 of 72 Old 06-08-2014, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Shockwave199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Home Depot and the like sells all kinds of wire hiding solutions. But I understand. If you decide to try it, buy it locally, not amazon. This way if anything isn't right or it just doesn't fit the bill, you can return it. But the 5.1 sound bar is nothing short of awesome. If you do try it, it'll be hard to give it up and you'll be figuring out how to make it work, lol.

Shockwave199 is online now  
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Vizio E601i A3 60 Inch Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - E601i by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off